or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Kathmandu Guest House

Thamel Street, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal 21218 (Show on map)

Book now!

Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Guest Room Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Standard Non Air Condition Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Bathroom Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Standard Non Air Condition Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Standard Non Air Condition Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Guest Room Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Guest Room Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Bathroom Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Garden Facing Non Air condition Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Garden Facing Non Air condition Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Garden Facing Non Air condition Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New Wing Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New Wing Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New Wing Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New Wing Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New Wing
Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New Wing Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Lobby Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Lobby Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Lobby Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Lobby Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel Interior Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Reception Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Mini Library at Buddha Garden Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Balcony/Terrace Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Cafe Pomelo Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Cafe Pomelo Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Indian Clay Oven Kitchen
Area: Thamel Number of Rooms: 145
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.2

based on
262 reviews

Value for Money
6.6
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
6.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.0
Room Comfort/Standard
7.1
Food/Dining
6.5
All reviews (262)
Sort by:
Stephen A. Business travelers United States of America, April 15, 2014
Relaxed comfortable place in the center of Thamel

Convenient to interesting parts of the city, but still quiet and comfortable.
9.3
I really enjoyed this place, was surprised how good it was given that it was affordable. The Garden, Lounge and Cafe were all places I felt that I wanted to relax in.
Gregory T. Solo travelers United States of America, April 4, 2014
acceptable

the grounds are beautiful, nice variety of stores...
6.3
For all the travel I have done in the last four months, this was my least favorite hotel and the most expensive of all. I took this because of the available Wifi and because I was ready for a pleasant reprieve from all my travels. It was clear that I was put in the "discount" wing which had NO WiFi whatsoever and was lacking in any niceities that were found in the rest of the hotel. The staff was very friendly but it was clear that money was the only motivator! I feel I was treated differently having booked thru agoda and not in a good way and this establishment was money oriented and not service oriented.
Samina Y. Groups Bangladesh, March 27, 2014
Great location

location, service and garden
6.3
George B. Solo travelers United States of America, March 24, 2014
Buzz Buzz Too Much Buzz

the garden, the location, the room that I didn't stay in
7
This is a famous place, and I have stayed here before, some 10 years ago, in a very different type of room. This time, there was just too much frenetic activity, with adventure-seekers racing around, planning their treks and climbing ventures, meeting in groups, meeting guides, bragging in the lobby about their "latest conquest" of Everest to fawning admirers. People seem to come here to be seen and heard, making Kathmandu the "in" place to be for travellers, both the well-heeled and those of average means (the moderately-well-off probably do not sound their horns so much). I was glad to retreat to the quiet of my room, where the internet did not work. It seemed to embarrass the management staff when I used the internet in the lobby. A discrepancy in the cost of the room was a source of embarrassment to both myself and reception staff, and I was given a prompt refund by Agoda for the over-payment. But for the excellent location, I might have second thoughts about staying here again. If I did, it would be in a better category of room, overlooking the excellent garden instead of a disused and unsightly portion of the hotel's interior courtyard.
Charles H. Couples United States of America, March 14, 2014
xx

xx
8.3
Good.
Katherine R. Solo travelers United Kingdom, February 28, 2014
Good location but over-priced

Location, location, location
6.7
Fantastically located in the heart of Thamel, but for a budget room the KTM Guesthouse is over-priced. Next time I would book next door at the Ambassador Garden Home - slightly more money but a much nicer room, better breakfast and friendlier staff.
Bipin G. Business travelers Nepal, February 24, 2014
Centrally located, hot water and free wifi

Large room and centrally located
6.3
At the time of check in, the receptionist (the gentleman) shifted me to the deluxe room though I had made a reservation for standard (non a/c) room for double occupancy. I was quite impressed initially but only to be shocked later. My room had three single separate beds and one was broken (room 926). I was wondering if the upgraded deluxe room was like this then how worst the standard room could be for which I had made reservation. The a/c remote, TV remote and everything else were so dusty and dirty. For the half an hour I wiped everything with white wet towel such as remote, light switches on the wall, table, etc. The cleanliness wasn't up to the mark. Having said that, the garden and the breakfast were indeed good. They provide free WiFi and 24 hour Hot shower. But I have decided I will never go back there again.
Parmila G. Families with older children Denmark, February 2, 2014
Amazing staff !

The New Wing is beautiful.
7.7
Loved the stay like always , the hotel staff , the best in Thamel.
Travel Z. Couples Bangladesh, January 27, 2014
Good

Good staff, clean, good location
10
Kevin T. Solo travelers United States of America, January 10, 2014
Great stay in Thamel for 2 nights

Comfort, Location and Convenience
8.3
Its conveniently located in the middle of Thamel, a busy tourist area. Its walking distance around Thamel and only 20-25 min walk to Kathmandu's Durbar Square. Clean large rooms for a afforable price and was a comfortable stay in Thamel.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Siddhi AnnexKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Guest RoomKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Standard Non Air ConditionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - BathroomKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Standard Non Air ConditionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Standard Non Air ConditionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Guest RoomKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Guest RoomKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - BathroomKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Garden Facing Non Air conditionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Garden Facing Non Air conditionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Garden Facing Non Air conditionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - LobbyKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - LobbyKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - LobbyKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - LobbyKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel InteriorKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - ReceptionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Mini Library at Buddha GardenKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Balcony/TerraceKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Cafe PomeloKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Cafe PomeloKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Indian Clay Oven KitchenKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Cafe BahalKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Business CenterKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Business Centre (Wi-Fi)Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Cafe BahalKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Inner Sanctum Restaurant & CourtyardKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Inner Sanctum Restaurant & CourtyardKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Buddha Garden at KGHKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Traditional Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - A Perfect GardenKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Corridor with Garden ViewKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel EntranceKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Grand Entrance to Siddhi AnnexKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel Exterior in the eveningKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Buddha Garden  Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel ExteriorKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel ExteriorKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel ExteriorKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel ExteriorKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - View of Heritage WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Shops at KGHKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - KGH ShopsKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Shops at KGHKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Travel DeskKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Dawn till Dusk at KGHKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Balcony/TerraceKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - The Garden of DreamsKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Swayambhunath


AS-AGWEB-3C01