Back to hotel info

2015
Very good 7.3
Based on 328 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 328 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.2
  • Service 7.1
  • Value for Money 6.8
  • Food/Dining 6.7
Sort by

XUDONG W. from China
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in December 2015
Boutique hotel with elegant design
Excellent staff, great antique design, cleanness
It was a great pleasure to stay in the hotel
Reviewed January 02, 2016

Robert W. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Beautiful relaxing hotel
Great location, very beautiful, relaxing
Very relaxing and comfortable hotel after a long and exhausting trek. Good food, good location, and a very nice place to sit in the garden and read all day, or lay in bed and watch tv. Just what I needed.
Reviewed January 01, 2016

Ghemar S. from Philippines
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
An overated hotel
Location
I feel like im in a cage. Very small room, small bed, small toilet/bath, expensive. There are other hotels in the same location half the price of KGH but offer better service, faster internet, bigger new room and with uninteruptsble power supply despite nepals power shedding. Will not recommend, will never comeback.
Reviewed December 16, 2015

Nafees R. from Bangladesh
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Great location and quite clean and comfortable
Location, cleanliness and the garden
It was amazing! I recommend it highly to tourists.
Reviewed December 10, 2015

Gerard G. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
Kathmandu city break
Staff friendliness, location, ambience.
Absolutely fantastic, a sublime experience.
Reviewed December 03, 2015

Roger S. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in November 2015
Great weekend.
Location, staff and ambience.
Lovely
Reviewed November 29, 2015

Pramesh S. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in November 2015
Contrast between different types of rooms
Location
For the first night we booked the standard room which had -hair on the bed -ripped bed sheets -dirty sheets -pathetic towels. For the second night we upgraded to the deluxe room, which was a lot better. Clean sheets, towels, and linen. I would have thought,regardless of the room (standard or deluxe) the basics would be the same, which was not the case. If your going to pay for deluxe, there are better hotels in the area for the money.
Reviewed November 24, 2015

Wai L. from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in October 2015
1st Trip to Kathmandu 7th to 11th October 2015
1. Location 2. Courtyard-relaxing/excellent hang out (though a great deal of renovation works still in progress) 3. Rooms-clean (though dusty from reno works)
Because rooms were purchased thru Agoda, probably at lower rates than my other friends, KGH initially housed me on the 5th floor where renovation works were in progress, room was dusty with saggy beds and window facing broken walls! They later changed me to a more pleasant room on the 3rd floor.Though extremely basic (amenities was only a bar of soap and two bottles of h20), bed linens and toilet were clean and pleasant. House keeping and restaurant staff are friendly and helpful. Whilst Front Desk people are more realistic, asking for more money to upgrade the room. Renovation works are noise from morning till late evening - with hammering, breaking down and putting up of walls, etc on each level of the low rise surrounding the courtyard. Hopefully, after all the renovation works are completed and fuel crises over (hotel is only serving basic breakfast and some light food for dinner - at this period), KGH may be a notch higher.
Reviewed October 15, 2015

Sharon S. from Malaysia
Groups
Stayed 4 nights in October 2015
Convenient location
clean, central, variety of rooms
I had stayed at KGH previously but only in the garden view (non-aircon) rooms. This was the first visit since 2009. Although they are still rebuilding after the earthquake, there was no construction noise from my room in the deluxe wing. The breakfast, though limited, was good, and while the price for the deluxe room is a bit high, it is worth it for the aircon (though on the cooler nights, we didn't need it). Also, on some days, there was no electricity (not unusual for Kathmandu) and the lift wasn't working so we had to climb 4 flights of stairs. If you have difficulty with stairs, it's best to get a lower floor room.
Reviewed October 12, 2015

Prem C. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Poor room and poor customer service
Location, courtyard, lobby
I reserved and paid for a room with breakfast for two people and requested a big bed, but upon check-in when the staff realised I was alone, I was given a room with 2 narrow beds (less than 3 feet wide). I noticed when a senior staff instructed the check-in staff to change my room type and this was after I told him I reserved a room with a double bed. He couldn't care less about what I wanted. The ceiling fan made so much noise, I had to turn it off to get any sleep; but then it was too hot. Included buffet breakfast was ordinary, and although there were lots of staff about, it was difficult to get any service from them. If you managed to engage them, they were pleasant enough, but they did their best to avoid you. Tables were never laid properly - always had to get up and get stuff. This hotel is clearly riding on its reputation. Other hotels in Katmandu and elsewhere in Nepal for less money are better and provide better service.
Reviewed October 08, 2015