Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Kathmandu Guest House

Thamel Street, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal 21218

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.3

based on
318 reviews

235 reviews in English

Value for Money
6.8
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
7.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.1
Room Comfort/Standard
7.2
Food/Dining
6.7
All reviews (318)
Sort by:
Xudong W. Solo travelers China, January 1, 2016
Boutique hotel with elegant design

Excellent staff, great antique design, cleanness
10
It was a great pleasure to stay in the hotel
Report this review
Brian C. Couples India, December 30, 2015
Great Location, Great Staff, and Great Effort

Staff, Location, Accomodations
9.3
Despite all the challenges that Nepal has faced in 2015, the Kathmandu Guest House staff remains hopeful. Their hope was contagious. They had nearly completed all of their renovations and repairs following the earthquake in 2015. Everyone was very helpful and accommodating. They quickly helped us arrange day trips, taxis, etc. They told us about many great restaurants within walking distance of our room. We really hope to stay at Kathmandu Guest House again one day.
Report this review
Llywelyn R. Solo travelers Australia, December 23, 2015
Great hotel if you're trekking

Helped find us a quality tour guide, good hot breakfast, great location in the heart of the tourist area
9.3
Report this review
Ghemar S. Groups Philippines, December 15, 2015
An overated hotel

Location
3.7
I feel like im in a cage. Very small room, small bed, small toilet/bath, expensive. There are other hotels in the same location half the price of KGH but offer better service, faster internet, bigger new room and with uninteruptsble power supply despite nepals power shedding. Will not recommend, will never comeback.
Report this review
Nafees R. Solo travelers Bangladesh, December 6, 2015
Great location and quite clean and comfortable

Location, cleanliness and the garden
9
It was amazing! I recommend it highly to tourists.
Report this review
Gerard G. Couples United Kingdom, December 2, 2015
Kathmandu city break

Staff friendliness, location, ambience.
9.7
Absolutely fantastic, a sublime experience.
Report this review
Roger S. Solo travelers United States of America, November 27, 2015
Great weekend.

Location, staff and ambience.
9.7
Lovely
Report this review
Pramesh S. Couples Australia, November 15, 2015
Contrast between different types of rooms

Location
6
For the first night we booked the standard room which had -hair on the bed -ripped bed sheets -dirty sheets -pathetic towels. For the second night we upgraded to the deluxe room, which was a lot better. Clean sheets, towels, and linen. I would have thought,regardless of the room (standard or deluxe) the basics would be the same, which was not the case. If your going to pay for deluxe, there are better hotels in the area for the money.
Report this review
Sharon S. Groups Malaysia, October 11, 2015
Convenient location

clean, central, variety of rooms
8
I had stayed at KGH previously but only in the garden view (non-aircon) rooms. This was the first visit since 2009. Although they are still rebuilding after the earthquake, there was no construction noise from my room in the deluxe wing. The breakfast, though limited, was good, and while the price for the deluxe room is a bit high, it is worth it for the aircon (though on the cooler nights, we didn't need it). Also, on some days, there was no electricity (not unusual for Kathmandu) and the lift wasn't working so we had to climb 4 flights of stairs. If you have difficulty with stairs, it's best to get a lower floor room.
Report this review
Wai P. Solo travelers Malaysia, October 11, 2015
1st Trip to Kathmandu 7th to 11th October 2015

1. Location 2. Courtyard-relaxing/excellent hang out (though a great deal of renovation works still in progress) 3. Rooms-clean (though dusty from reno works)
6
Because rooms were purchased thru Agoda, probably at lower rates than my other friends, KGH initially housed me on the 5th floor where renovation works were in progress, room was dusty with saggy beds and window facing broken walls! They later changed me to a more pleasant room on the 3rd floor.Though extremely basic (amenities was only a bar of soap and two bottles of h20), bed linens and toilet were clean and pleasant. House keeping and restaurant staff are friendly and helpful. Whilst Front Desk people are more realistic, asking for more money to upgrade the room. Renovation works are noise from morning till late evening - with hammering, breaking down and putting up of walls, etc on each level of the low rise surrounding the courtyard. Hopefully, after all the renovation works are completed and fuel crises over (hotel is only serving basic breakfast and some light food for dinner - at this period), KGH may be a notch higher.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 235 reviews Next page
Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Siddhi AnnexKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Guest RoomKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Standard Non Air ConditionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - BathroomKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Standard Non Air ConditionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Standard Non Air ConditionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Guest RoomKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Guest RoomKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - BathroomKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Garden Facing Non Air conditionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Garden Facing Non Air conditionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Garden Facing Non Air conditionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - LobbyKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - LobbyKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - LobbyKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - LobbyKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel InteriorKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Mini Library at Buddha GardenKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Balcony/TerraceKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Cafe PomeloKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Cafe PomeloKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Buddha Garden at KGHKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Traditional Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - A Perfect GardenKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Corridor with Garden ViewKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Grand Entrance to Siddhi AnnexKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel Exterior in the eveningKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Buddha Garden  Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel ExteriorKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel ExteriorKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel ExteriorKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel Exterior


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A02