Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Kathmandu Guest House

Thamel Street, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal 21218

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.3

based on 322 reviews

239 reviews in English

Value for Money
6.8
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
7.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.1
Room Comfort/Standard
7.2
Food/Dining
6.7
All reviews (322)
Sort by:
Daniel R. Solo travelers Australia, March 31, 2016
Iconic guest house
5.7
A great guest house right in the chaotic mess of Thamel, it really is a nice little sanctuary. Unfortunately I had problems with an airport pickup and a return reservation. The hotel was overbooked and I was sent to a hotel down the road where I was bitten by spiders all over my body as I slept!
Report this review
Stewart D. Business travelers Australia, February 25, 2016
Great spot in Thamel. Great garden
5.3
.
Report this review
Mindi G. Solo travelers United States of America, February 21, 2016
Book a better room!
5.3
Stayed in the annex for 2 nights at the start of my trip and was disappointed, however rooms in the main house are decent. Staff are friendly and helpful and the garden is a lovely break from the streets of Katmandhu.
Report this review
Zeshan A. Solo travelers Australia, January 31, 2016
Good
5.7
Very good
Report this review
Xudong W. Solo travelers China, January 1, 2016
Boutique hotel with elegant design

Excellent staff, great antique design, cleanness
10
It was a great pleasure to stay in the hotel
Report this review
Brian C. Couples India, December 30, 2015
Great Location, Great Staff, and Great Effort

Staff, Location, Accomodations
9.3
Despite all the challenges that Nepal has faced in 2015, the Kathmandu Guest House staff remains hopeful. Their hope was contagious. They had nearly completed all of their renovations and repairs following the earthquake in 2015. Everyone was very helpful and accommodating. They quickly helped us arrange day trips, taxis, etc. They told us about many great restaurants within walking distance of our room. We really hope to stay at Kathmandu Guest House again one day.
Report this review
Llywelyn R. Solo travelers Australia, December 23, 2015
Great hotel if you're trekking

Helped find us a quality tour guide, good hot breakfast, great location in the heart of the tourist area
9.3
Report this review
Ghemar S. Groups Philippines, December 15, 2015
An overated hotel

Location
3.7
I feel like im in a cage. Very small room, small bed, small toilet/bath, expensive. There are other hotels in the same location half the price of KGH but offer better service, faster internet, bigger new room and with uninteruptsble power supply despite nepals power shedding. Will not recommend, will never comeback.
Report this review
Nafees R. Solo travelers Bangladesh, December 6, 2015
Great location and quite clean and comfortable

Location, cleanliness and the garden
9
It was amazing! I recommend it highly to tourists.
Report this review
Gerard G. Couples United Kingdom, December 2, 2015
Kathmandu city break

Staff friendliness, location, ambience.
9.7
Absolutely fantastic, a sublime experience.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 239 reviews Next page
Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Siddhi AnnexKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Guest RoomKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Standard Non Air ConditionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - BathroomKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Standard Non Air ConditionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Standard Non Air ConditionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Guest RoomKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Guest RoomKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - BathroomKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Garden Facing Non Air conditionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Garden Facing Non Air conditionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Garden Facing Non Air conditionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - LobbyKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - LobbyKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - LobbyKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - LobbyKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel InteriorKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Mini Library at Buddha GardenKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Balcony/TerraceKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Cafe PomeloKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Cafe PomeloKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Buddha Garden at KGHKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Traditional Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - A Perfect GardenKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Corridor with Garden ViewKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Grand Entrance to Siddhi AnnexKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel Exterior in the eveningKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Buddha Garden  Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel ExteriorKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel ExteriorKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel ExteriorKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel Exterior


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A03