Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Kathmandu Guest House

Thamel Street, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal 21218

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.5

based on
139 reviews

235 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.0
Location
9.2
Staff Performance
7.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.3
Food/Dining
6.8
Solo travelers (139)
Sort by:
Xudong W. Solo travelers China, January 1, 2016
Boutique hotel with elegant design

Excellent staff, great antique design, cleanness
10
It was a great pleasure to stay in the hotel
Report this review
Llywelyn R. Solo travelers Australia, December 23, 2015
Great hotel if you're trekking

Helped find us a quality tour guide, good hot breakfast, great location in the heart of the tourist area
9.3
Report this review
Nafees R. Solo travelers Bangladesh, December 6, 2015
Great location and quite clean and comfortable

Location, cleanliness and the garden
9
It was amazing! I recommend it highly to tourists.
Report this review
Roger S. Solo travelers United States of America, November 27, 2015
Great weekend.

Location, staff and ambience.
9.7
Lovely
Report this review
Wai P. Solo travelers Malaysia, October 11, 2015
1st Trip to Kathmandu 7th to 11th October 2015

1. Location 2. Courtyard-relaxing/excellent hang out (though a great deal of renovation works still in progress) 3. Rooms-clean (though dusty from reno works)
6
Because rooms were purchased thru Agoda, probably at lower rates than my other friends, KGH initially housed me on the 5th floor where renovation works were in progress, room was dusty with saggy beds and window facing broken walls! They later changed me to a more pleasant room on the 3rd floor.Though extremely basic (amenities was only a bar of soap and two bottles of h20), bed linens and toilet were clean and pleasant. House keeping and restaurant staff are friendly and helpful. Whilst Front Desk people are more realistic, asking for more money to upgrade the room. Renovation works are noise from morning till late evening - with hammering, breaking down and putting up of walls, etc on each level of the low rise surrounding the courtyard. Hopefully, after all the renovation works are completed and fuel crises over (hotel is only serving basic breakfast and some light food for dinner - at this period), KGH may be a notch higher.
Report this review
Prem C. Solo travelers United Kingdom, October 1, 2015
Poor room and poor customer service

Location, courtyard, lobby
4.3
I reserved and paid for a room with breakfast for two people and requested a big bed, but upon check-in when the staff realised I was alone, I was given a room with 2 narrow beds (less than 3 feet wide). I noticed when a senior staff instructed the check-in staff to change my room type and this was after I told him I reserved a room with a double bed. He couldn't care less about what I wanted. The ceiling fan made so much noise, I had to turn it off to get any sleep; but then it was too hot. Included buffet breakfast was ordinary, and although there were lots of staff about, it was difficult to get any service from them. If you managed to engage them, they were pleasant enough, but they did their best to avoid you. Tables were never laid properly - always had to get up and get stuff. This hotel is clearly riding on its reputation. Other hotels in Katmandu and elsewhere in Nepal for less money are better and provide better service.
Report this review
Susan R. Solo travelers New Zealand, September 26, 2015
Laid back life at the Katmandu Guest House

location, garden, atmosphere
8
The KGH is an institution in Katmandu and a place I've stayed during each of my five trips to Nepal. The garden is an oasis of calm in what can be a busy city but I was unsure what to expect following the 25th April earthquake earlier this year. Part of the old wing, which was extensively damaged, is being reconstructed and is due for completion in the next 6-8 weeks. However guests come first and work doesn't start until most guests are eating breakfast! Using the garden as part of the dining area was a great choice and adds to the atmosphere, for me. As usual I stayed in the old wing which boasts both twin and double rooms (my changing plans meant I tried both!) although the bathroom arrangements were interesting. One shower drained under the hand basin meaning that once one shower had been taken the floor was wet. One room had the shower drainage organised but placed the hand basin by the entrance door. These idiosyncies apart the rooms are spacious and offer Trekkers plenty of space to dry clothing. Each of the rooms I stayed in had a great view of the garden, but could be noisy with early/late arrivals walking passed in the small hours. Overall rating : I'll definitely be returning!
Report this review
Juha-Matti S. Solo travelers Finland, July 13, 2015
Location good, first room was bad

location, location, location
9.3
First they put me in some bad quality room, lots of problems. Fan did not work, televisoon not work. After telling these problems they finally change me to room that was ok. Dont know why they put customers who stay longer time, to bad quality rooms. And if you stay one night you get good room right away. Like i did last time.
Report this review
Juha-Matti S. Solo travelers Finland, June 22, 2015
Location and reliable good old Kathmandu Guest Hou

Location, staff performance, reliable hotel
10
Been this Hotel many times over The years. Now first time back after Quake. Still same reliable good Hotel! Will return here :)
Report this review
亦依 郑. Solo travelers China, April 11, 2015
best hotel during my stay in nepal

attentive staff, lovely room, center location
10
The staff offered really good and helpful servivce. One of my luggage wheels was broken and the staff contacted their repairman to make it work. The hotel located in the center of the thamel and it's very convenient to get any shops or restaurants. The counter on 1st floor would arrange your tour according to your personal requirements with a price a little bit higher than the market but acceptable.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 318 reviews Next page
Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Siddhi AnnexKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Guest RoomKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Standard Non Air ConditionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - BathroomKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Standard Non Air ConditionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Standard Non Air ConditionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Guest RoomKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Guest RoomKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - BathroomKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Garden Facing Non Air conditionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Garden Facing Non Air conditionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Garden Facing Non Air conditionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - LobbyKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - LobbyKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - LobbyKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - LobbyKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel InteriorKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Mini Library at Buddha GardenKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Balcony/TerraceKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Cafe PomeloKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Cafe PomeloKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Buddha Garden at KGHKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Traditional Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - A Perfect GardenKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Corridor with Garden ViewKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Grand Entrance to Siddhi AnnexKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel Exterior in the eveningKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Buddha Garden  Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel ExteriorKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel ExteriorKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel ExteriorKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel Exterior


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C08