My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Kathmandu Guest House

Thamel Street, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal 21218 (Show on map)

Book now!

Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Guest Room Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Standard Non Air Condition Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Bathroom Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Standard Non Air Condition Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Standard Non Air Condition Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Guest Room Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Guest Room Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Bathroom Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Garden Facing Non Air condition Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Garden Facing Non Air condition Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Garden Facing Non Air condition Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New Wing Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New Wing Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New Wing Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New Wing Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New Wing
Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New Wing Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Lobby Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Lobby Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Lobby Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Lobby Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel Interior Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Reception Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Mini Library at Buddha Garden Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Balcony/Terrace Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Cafe Pomelo Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Cafe Pomelo Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Indian Clay Oven Kitchen
Area: Thamel Number of Rooms: 145
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.3

based on
108 reviews

Value for Money
6.8
Location
9.2
Staff Performance
6.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.1
Room Comfort/Standard
7.2
Food/Dining
6.4
Solo travelers (108)
Sort by:
Gregory T. Solo travelers United States of America, April 4, 2014
acceptable

the grounds are beautiful, nice variety of stores...
6.3
For all the travel I have done in the last four months, this was my least favorite hotel and the most expensive of all. I took this because of the available Wifi and because I was ready for a pleasant reprieve from all my travels. It was clear that I was put in the "discount" wing which had NO WiFi whatsoever and was lacking in any niceities that were found in the rest of the hotel. The staff was very friendly but it was clear that money was the only motivator! I feel I was treated differently having booked thru agoda and not in a good way and this establishment was money oriented and not service oriented.
George B. Solo travelers United States of America, March 24, 2014
Buzz Buzz Too Much Buzz

the garden, the location, the room that I didn't stay in
7
This is a famous place, and I have stayed here before, some 10 years ago, in a very different type of room. This time, there was just too much frenetic activity, with adventure-seekers racing around, planning their treks and climbing ventures, meeting in groups, meeting guides, bragging in the lobby about their "latest conquest" of Everest to fawning admirers. People seem to come here to be seen and heard, making Kathmandu the "in" place to be for travellers, both the well-heeled and those of average means (the moderately-well-off probably do not sound their horns so much). I was glad to retreat to the quiet of my room, where the internet did not work. It seemed to embarrass the management staff when I used the internet in the lobby. A discrepancy in the cost of the room was a source of embarrassment to both myself and reception staff, and I was given a prompt refund by Agoda for the over-payment. But for the excellent location, I might have second thoughts about staying here again. If I did, it would be in a better category of room, overlooking the excellent garden instead of a disused and unsightly portion of the hotel's interior courtyard.
Katherine R. Solo travelers United Kingdom, February 28, 2014
Good location but over-priced

Location, location, location
6.7
Fantastically located in the heart of Thamel, but for a budget room the KTM Guesthouse is over-priced. Next time I would book next door at the Ambassador Garden Home - slightly more money but a much nicer room, better breakfast and friendlier staff.
Kevin T. Solo travelers United States of America, January 10, 2014
Great stay in Thamel for 2 nights

Comfort, Location and Convenience
8.3
Its conveniently located in the middle of Thamel, a busy tourist area. Its walking distance around Thamel and only 20-25 min walk to Kathmandu's Durbar Square. Clean large rooms for a afforable price and was a comfortable stay in Thamel.
Lesley B. Solo travelers United Kingdom, January 5, 2014
horrible

location and garden
3.7
When I checked in the room seemed a it bleak. Only 1 light was working none of the sockets or t.v. and water was all over bathroom ceiling in what looked like condensation. The room was dirty and cold with signs of mould on the walls. I complained at reception and was told it was a power cut, if I went out to eat they would clean the room before I came back. I decided to eat in the hotel which was an area outside. It was cold but I sat by a type of bonfire. When I got back to the room it hadn't been cleaned but eventually the electric came back on and I had a shower. No ventilation in bathroom so whole place filled with steam so much I could barely see. My bedding was now very damp. Found a blow heater in a corner.Put that on, then power went off again. Didn't sleep at all.Very cold and damp, even in my coat. Complained in the morning. Staff very off hand, offered another room which was no better. There was a more modernized wing of the hotel which had its own generator which looked much better. Electricity is in short supply in Kathmandu so stay somewhere with a generator. I'd booked for 5 days but checked out and took a taxi to A banner hotel which was complete contrast. Lovely hotel, lovely staff and very pleasant stay.
Roopak S. Solo travelers Malaysia, December 31, 2013
Good location, friendly staff

Location, friendly staff, decent size room
5
Overall the stay was decent. the hotel had a comfortable homely environment. The rooms were clean and presentable. The hotels main advantage is its good location and accessability. Food and shopping are not too far away. Travelling to and from the hotel was fairly easy.
Sengguan L. Solo travelers Malaysia, December 30, 2013
great location, near transport, local dining.

location, transport, food.
8.3
the location makes up for everything. free breakfast, wifi access, in house open air restaurant, in house private taxi available, tour company, ATM.
Robert H. Solo travelers United States of America, December 29, 2013
Kathmandu Guest House

Location and TV was ok.
5
Timothy C. Solo travelers United States of America, December 27, 2013
comfortable functional

location helpful staff baggage storage
8
Zheyun S. Solo travelers Singapore, December 22, 2013
clean, nice room

good furnishing, nice garden & decoration, comfortable
8.7
Good, but a little over priced if book form agoda, the walk in price is 45usd

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Siddhi AnnexKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Guest RoomKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Standard Non Air ConditionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - BathroomKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Standard Non Air ConditionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Standard Non Air ConditionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Guest RoomKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Guest RoomKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - BathroomKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Garden Facing Non Air conditionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Garden Facing Non Air conditionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Garden Facing Non Air conditionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Deluxe New WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - LobbyKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - LobbyKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - LobbyKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - LobbyKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel InteriorKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - ReceptionKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Mini Library at Buddha GardenKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Balcony/TerraceKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Cafe PomeloKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Cafe PomeloKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Indian Clay Oven KitchenKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Cafe BahalKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Business CenterKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Business Centre (Wi-Fi)Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Cafe BahalKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Inner Sanctum Restaurant & CourtyardKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Inner Sanctum Restaurant & CourtyardKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Buddha Garden at KGHKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Traditional Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - A Perfect GardenKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Corridor with Garden ViewKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel EntranceKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Grand Entrance to Siddhi AnnexKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel Exterior in the eveningKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Buddha Garden  Kathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel ExteriorKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel ExteriorKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel ExteriorKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Hotel ExteriorKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - View of Heritage WingKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Shops at KGHKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - KGH ShopsKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Shops at KGHKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Travel DeskKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Dawn till Dusk at KGHKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Balcony/TerraceKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - The Garden of DreamsKathmandu Guest House Kathmandu - Swayambhunath


AS-AGWEB-3C06