or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Kathmandu HI Thamel Hostel

Narshing Chowk 29, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Hostelling International

Kathmandu HI Thamel Hostel Kathmandu - Deluxe King & Single Room Kathmandu HI Thamel Hostel Kathmandu - Deluxe Double Room Kathmandu HI Thamel Hostel Kathmandu - Deluxe Family Room Kathmandu HI Thamel Hostel Kathmandu - Common Twin Room Kathmandu HI Thamel Hostel Kathmandu - Standard Six Bed Room Kathmandu HI Thamel Hostel Kathmandu - Dormitory Kathmandu HI Thamel Hostel Kathmandu - Lobby Kathmandu HI Thamel Hostel Kathmandu - Restaurant Kathmandu HI Thamel Hostel Kathmandu - Restaurant Top View Kathmandu HI Thamel Hostel Kathmandu - Restaurant Kathmandu HI Thamel Hostel Kathmandu - Bathroom Kathmandu HI Thamel Hostel Kathmandu - Balcony Kathmandu HI Thamel Hostel Kathmandu - Office room
Area: Thamel Number of Rooms: 14
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.5

based on
11 reviews

Value for Money
6.7
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
5.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
4.9
Room Comfort/Standard
7.5
Food/Dining
6.5
All reviews (11)
Sort by:
Justin B. Solo travelers Australia, September 6, 2012
Cheap and worth while guesthouse

Location
7.3
Not a bad hotel in the heart of Thamel with all the basics you need before your trek. The rooms are ok if a little on the dirty side. The Wifi is good if your near the router but if not then forget it.
Yilang P. Groups China, August 7, 2012
Great location but average service

Location, only location
6.7
Since I was not familiar with Kathmandu, I booked this hostel. However, Upon arrival, I found many hostel nearby that can provide much better service with less money charged. I stayed for only one night. No sense of Youth Hostel. Price can be negotiable.
Vishal A. Solo travelers India, May 13, 2012
Great location, cheap and clean

Centrally located, price for money
9
My room was spacious and clean with many windows. The Internet wifi was free. Bottled water was available for drinking all the time. The guys at the reception were helpful in giving information about how to reach various spots in Kathmandu. There's a good bar and restaurant inside the hotel. So, I was overall happy with my stay.
Jakub D. Couples Poland, April 27, 2012
Good value for money, loud people on the corridor

spacious and clean rooms, nice staff
7
we stayed at hi thamel hostel for one night. our room was quite pleasant - spacious and clean. however, as it was located near the reception, we couldn't sleep because of some people shouting all night on the corridor. you shouldn't expect warm water in the bathroom, too. overall, apart from the noises, the experience was quite nice.
Peter A. Groups United Kingdom, March 21, 2012
Not the greatest

Location
4.7
This hotel is in a good location but is not clean or comfortable even by Kathmandu standards. Saying this, staff are very friendly and attempt to respond to your needs.
Svenja L. Families with older children Germany, August 31, 2012
Schmuddeliges Hotel, Geld gieriger Besitzer

Nettes Restaurant
5
Wir hatten 2 Zimmer gebucht und sollten 5 Dollar mehr bezahlen um ein gemeinschaftszimmer zu erhalten. Unsere gebuchten Zimmer seien nicht verfügbar. Zum schluss haben wir 2 3-Bett-Zimmer erhalten. Die Zimmer waren sehr dreckig, aus den wassehähnen kam nur braunes Wasser. Etwas gutes gibt es aber doch zu berichten, das Restaurant ist klasse und die meisten Angestellten sehr freundlich. Wer einen Ausflug Buchen möchte ist in den Nachbar Reisebüros günstiger dran. Bei jeder Gelegenheit wird versucht das Maximum aus dem Touristen heraus zu pressen. Dieselgeruch immer und überall, in der Nacht recht laut (je nach Zimmer kann es besser oder schlechter sein). Hier wird ausgenutzt das man bei Agoda im Vorraus bezahlt, am Anfang werden einem immer die schlechtesten Zimmer präsentiert um möglichst noch einen vollen Zimmerpreis für ein "Upgrade" zusätzlich zu erhalten. Es gibt viele bessere Alternativen in diesem preissegment!
Svenja L. Families with older children Germany, August 23, 2012
Dreckiges Hotel mit schönem Restaurant

Restaurant im Innenhof, freundliche Angestellte
5.3
Zum wiederholten Male wird ausgenutzt das im Vorraus bezahlt worden ist. Uns wurden die schlechtesten feuchten Zimmer gezeigt, mit unangenehmen Gestank und uns wurde nahe gelegt ein Upgrade in Höhe eines weiteren Zimmers zu bezahlen. Wieder wurde jede Gelegenheit genutzt um Geld ab zu zocken. Obwohl wir 4 Personen sind und 2 Doppelzimmer gebucht hatten, sollten wir nur zwei Handtücher bekommen, da nur 1 Handtuch pro Zimmer eingeplant ist - ob das wohl im Schlafsaal genau so ist? Als positives ist die Lage in Thamel und der Innenhof zu erwähnen.
Tatsuji A. Solo travelers Japan, September 27, 2012
まあまあ

タメル地区の中心
4.3
 ゲストハウスが古いので居心地はあまり良くありませんが値段相応でしょう。従業員も可もなく不可もなし!ホテルのせいではありませんが停電は困りました。
Akiyoshi Y. Couples Japan, July 31, 2012
泊まる必要のないホステル

特になし
5.7
停電が頻繁にあり、しかもなかなか復旧しない。部屋は結構汚く、シーツも湿っぽかった。バスルームはトイレの匂いがきつく、トイレは流れないこともあった。洗面台の水はなぜか元栓が締められていた。 WI-Fiは部屋の中に入ってしまうと途切れる。しかも停電の間は使えず(周辺のほかの宿は使える)、これといって良いところのない宿。安さくらい。しかし周辺に同価格帯でたくさん良い宿があるので、ここは1泊でやめて直接交渉で違う宿を見つけた。
Shimoda S. Groups Japan, February 23, 2012
価格的にコストパフォーマンスが十分。

スタッフと安全性
9
タメル地区のちょっと静かなところ。レストランカフェも、うまくてリーズナブルな価格。スタッフも信頼できます。

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Kathmandu HI Thamel Hostel Kathmandu - Front ViewKathmandu HI Thamel Hostel Kathmandu - Deluxe King & Single RoomKathmandu HI Thamel Hostel Kathmandu - Deluxe Double RoomKathmandu HI Thamel Hostel Kathmandu - Deluxe Family RoomKathmandu HI Thamel Hostel Kathmandu - Common Twin RoomKathmandu HI Thamel Hostel Kathmandu - Standard Six Bed RoomKathmandu HI Thamel Hostel Kathmandu - DormitoryKathmandu HI Thamel Hostel Kathmandu - LobbyKathmandu HI Thamel Hostel Kathmandu - RestaurantKathmandu HI Thamel Hostel Kathmandu - Restaurant Top ViewKathmandu HI Thamel Hostel Kathmandu - RestaurantKathmandu HI Thamel Hostel Kathmandu - BathroomKathmandu HI Thamel Hostel Kathmandu - BalconyKathmandu HI Thamel Hostel Kathmandu - Office room


AS-AGWEB-3A07