Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Kawase Hotel

2-19-14 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, Asakusa, Tokyo, Japan 111-0034 (Show on map)

Book now!

Kawase Hotel Tokyo - Bathroom Kawase Hotel Tokyo - Bathroom Kawase Hotel Tokyo - Capsule Kawase Hotel Tokyo - Exterior Kawase Hotel Tokyo - Interior Kawase Hotel Tokyo - Double Room Kawase Hotel Tokyo - Single Room Kawase Hotel Tokyo - Twin Room Kawase Hotel Tokyo - Bathroom Kawase Hotel Tokyo - Restaurant Kawase Hotel Tokyo - Restaurant Kawase Hotel Tokyo - Exterior
Area: Asakusa Number of Rooms: 19

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type




based on
41 reviews

Value for Money
Staff Performance
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
Room Comfort/Standard
All reviews (41)
Sort by:
Xudan P. Solo travelers China, October 25, 2015
The WORST Experience I Had in Tokyo
This is the worst experience I had in Tokyo, I had an amazing 6 days trip in Tokyo, but living in this hotel is like a nightmare. If possible, I would like a refund! First, this hotel DOESN'T KEEP YOUR LUGGAGES FOR YOU! It's a common sense that every hotel will keep their guests' luggages for half day or just several hours. But in this hotel, they don’t do that, We dragged our luggages all the way until we found another hotel to check in! Secondly, THIS HOTEL IS HAUNTED, if you are interested in taking an advanture, book this hotel, and require to stay in room 508. I went to sleep early that night in Kawase hotel, around 12 a.m. and heard some strange small nioses from the wall on the left side, I thought the niose was from the room next to us, so I went out to check...BUT!THERE IS NO ROOM ON THE LEFT!I was soooo scared and I went down to the front desk, they sent someone up to check with me, they cannot tell what's the matter and insisted all hotel rooms were full that night so that they couldn't change another room for us. Third, this hotel CHARGE 100 JPY EVERY 15 MINS WHEN YOU DIDN'T CHECK OUT BEFORE 10 A.M.! Normally if you are late for no more than an hour, the hotel won't give you an extra charge for your delay. I checked out at 10:15, the man from the front desk ORDERED ME TO PAY AN EXTRA 100 JYP FOR 15 MINS DELAY! People working in the hotel are very RUDE, THE MAN FROM THE FRONT DESK SHOUTED AT ME! HE CLOSED THE DOOR AND SAID, I CAN ONLY LEAVE THE HOTEL AFTER I PAID for 100 JPY!IT'S FALSE IMPRISONEMNT!When I took up my phone and intended to call the police, another woman from the hotel came and told me to leave. And finally, I got our of all these, by the way, the hotel rooms are really dirty, facilities there were all dusty and sticky, like someone pasted an layer of oil and dust on it.
Report this review
Shiomi M. Business travelers Japan, August 22, 2015
Good location, good price

Location, Price, Internet
If you think the plice is important, this hotel is very good. Near the station, sight-seeing area and many restaurant.
Report this review
Kwok C. Couples Hong Kong, August 9, 2015
No baggage storage!

Convenience location, room size acceptable, but no baggage storage!
Not a good experience. Toilet with bad smell all the time!
Report this review
Jean-Luc A. Solo travelers France, July 27, 2015
Good location, Strict rules but polite staff

The hotel is right next to Asakusa subway, so it's very convenient. My room was OK (not too small), but rather old. The staff have some very strict rules (have to give the key each time we go out, checkout @ 9:59:59 latest, they can keep the bad until 21:00 after checking, but after that, it will be discarded...). There was also a fireworks festival the day I checked-in, but we were not allowed to access the rooftop to enjoy the show. Apart from that the staff is quite polite, as long as you follow the rules.
Report this review
Shuk W. Couples Hong Kong, May 3, 2015
So hard to go with bagguage

Near station
If you were backpacker , you would like this hotel. Because the way from subway to hotel has many stair It is not convince for bringing big bagguage. And the room's facility seemed to be old .
Report this review
Lam C. Couples Hong Kong, January 1, 2014
so far so good of this hotel

nice service near a temple and easy to finding the foods
Report this review
Jooyeol H. Solo travelers South Korea, May 18, 2013

fast internet..and then smoking?....and then.....???
Report this review
Elena S. Groups Russia, February 18, 2013
Terrible service

The rooms were very basic and not clean, and the hotel itself looked more like a cheap hostel, but I could deal with that because of convenient location, although the hotel is deffinitely overpriced. But what would make me never stay in this hotel again is the service. 1) I decided to go out to the next-door shop and didn't take the room key with me because my friend was in the room and I didn't need it. And the receptionist didn't let me out of the hotel because I didn't give her the key before going out! She shouted at me and demanded that I must go back to the room (6 floor) take the key and give her - and only then I could go to the shop! That's demeaning! They have silly rules, they treat guests as scum and they'll try to arrest you for not complying with their nonsence. 2) Our flight was late at night and we wanted to keep our luggage at reception after check-out. But the receptionist said that they can keep it only until 9pm and then if we're even 5 minutes late - they'll... through the bags away! like rubbish. So I don't recommend this hotel at all.
Report this review
Chiang C. Couples China, January 1, 2013
good HOTEL

Report this review
Cornelia S. Couples Netherlands, October 13, 2012
Small rooms, perfect for discovering or short stay

good service, friendly and helpful
We stayed at the Kawase on our last night in Tokyo before leaving Japan. It's less than 100m from exit8 of the asakusa subway station. We had been in the taito/sumida district at the start of our trip so we knew our way around. But even if you don't, the Kawase is easy to find. personnel is very friendly and makes you feel welcome. That said, it's small and cramped. But if you need a place to crash after a long day of sightseeing or shopping, it's almost perfect and very affordable. good value for money.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The hotel is a few meters from the asakusa station. start of the Ginza line that brings you to akihabara, shibuya and shinjuku. It's also a few hundred meters from senso-ji and a mere 15 minute walk from the Tokyo Skytree.
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Kawase Hotel TokyoKawase Hotel Tokyo - BathroomKawase Hotel Tokyo - BathroomKawase Hotel Tokyo - CapsuleKawase Hotel Tokyo - ExteriorKawase Hotel Tokyo - InteriorKawase Hotel Tokyo - Double RoomKawase Hotel Tokyo - Single RoomKawase Hotel Tokyo - Twin RoomKawase Hotel Tokyo - BathroomKawase Hotel Tokyo - RestaurantKawase Hotel Tokyo - RestaurantKawase Hotel Tokyo - Exterior

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.