Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Kayla'a Beach Resort

Balbalan, Dimiao, Bohol, Dimiao, Dimiao, Philippines 6305

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.2

based on
167 reviews

135 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.2
Location
6.8
Staff Performance
8.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.7
Food/Dining
8.6
All reviews (167)
Sort by:
Willy B. Couples Norway, February 20, 2013
Ok hotell out in nowhere.

Ok for relaxing.
6.3
Staf was very friendly and did a good job. Snorkling was no good in this aera because of the low water in the sea full of sand and very little fish and other things to see. The rooms were a little small and the toilet stinks fra the outlet, no good smell. Othervise there was a ok place to relax in the days that it did`nt raining. Internet was very bad, dropping out and was very , very slow. We had a nice day to Chocolate Hills with butterfly-garden, Tarsiers and Zipline but was very disseponted by the food and drinks at the floating resturant on the river. Othervise the river trip was fine. Tip: Do not brake a glass or anything else, you have to pay high price for it!
Report this review
Marcel S. Couples South Africa, February 18, 2013
Great location, lovely beach

Nice swimming pool,
6.7
Very busy road at the back of the rooms, a basic breakfast
Report this review
Bill S. Couples United States of America, February 16, 2013
We absolutly loved this place!!

Very private, very clean surroundings and well kept-up, friendly owner and staff.
7.7
On our 6 week stay in the Ph. we stayed at 8 other resourts besides this one, this one was definatly out favorite. We are planning to retire in 5 years and move to the Ph. and our plan is to build a resort, thats why we stayed at so many different ones on this trip. (stayed 8 days) John, the owner was very nice and answered many questions I posed to him about his resort. He did a great job, utilizing native materials and local building talents. We did wish that the place was closer to town, since we were not too fond of the dishes served their, that was our only complaint really. I would reccomend Kayla'a to anyone though, at least till we open ours in a few years. From the moment we arrived though we loved it. The free breakfast is only a coupon for 250p, so many things will cost a little extra, the food was reasonably priced, we just didnt care for most dishes we tried, and never got to try the Thai food cause apparantly that cook was not working during out stay, and our free massage was not honered because we waited too many days to get it even though we asked earlier and the girl was not working who gave them, so ended-up paying for it.
Report this review
Mani R. Couples United Kingdom, February 15, 2013
Excellent service, great food and total relaxation

Attentiveness and friendliness of staff, great food and reasonably priced
7.7
Overall really impressed with my stay at Kayla'a...John the owner was very attentive and ensured he met and greeted every new guest. Staff were extremely friendly and we always in hand to help out. Food was excellent and very relaxing resort...
Restaurant Tip: Excellent Thai food and must try the peppered prawns and coco rice!
Report this review
Clementine F. Couples Belgium, February 13, 2013
A little gem in a quiet place

Small resort with beautiful rooms, excellent food
8.7
The small resort, set up by a Californian, is certainly to recommend. Although it is not situated in a zone with blue clear water, there is direct access to the beach and a small swimming pool. The resort, located 40min from Tagbilaran, is a quiet place. The best was definitely the food, with a burger speciality.
Report this review
Maria C. Groups Philippines, February 10, 2013
Friendly staff, far location, low customer service

Quiet beach front, clean pool, good food (lots of variety) at the restaurant, friendly staff, clean room & bathroom
6
price & location: we chose this because it was a beach-front resort that seemed more affordable but the lower room rate was erased by transportation costs due to the remote/far location from the rest of the tourist spots. rented vans charged us higher (at least +40%) and public transportation although doable for locals who live there, was a nightmare for our european companion. our 6 yr. old never stepped foot on the beach because he found it too "dirty" (not from trash but from the natural debris that the tide washes in or from trees in the area) ocean view room: decent size can squeeze in an extra single cot but not much else space to move once luggage is opened on the floor (the only place to unpack). by 6-6:30am sunrise was directly hitting the window (curtains were too thin) shining straight on your face while in bed. unpleasant, especially if you are planning on sleeping in. lighting from the single low-watt bulb is too dim (even after turning on the 1 bedside lamp available) - the bathroom was brighter. bathroom: clean with available hot water, but the flow was weak so it will take time to shower. no hooks to hang clothes. staff: friendly (remembering guest names immediately) but helpless when it came to problem-solving. breakfast: if paid/included with the room was equivalent to php150 in food credit (enough for the basic breakfast) and you pay for any excess. some of us left at 5am for an activity and didn't have b'fast there so our companion asked to use/combine our php150 credits to upgrade to a bigger/better breakfast. he was refused. next day we asked to combine the unused credits from the day before to order a better meal, again refused. don't bother pointing out logic because no amount of it will move them to cater to you. bottomline: will i stay there again? no. will i recommend it? no. location is too remote, beach isn't that nice to use, and the aggravation of having to argue (and lose 0 for 3) for reasonable requests left a bad taste in the m
Hotel Feature Tip: Look for hotels in Panglao - this area is closer to where most of the tourist attractions are and it won't be difficult to travel by rented van/car or public transportation.
Report this review
Katerina M. Couples Estonia, February 7, 2013
Boring place to be, untidy beach, no attractions

Massage, warm ocean, cheap rum
6.3
Loud ac, untidy beach, no attractions, we even thought of cleaning the beach ourselves, but couldn't find brooms, next to hotel were screaming cocks. Staff was helpful, massage was really good.
Report this review
Daniel B. Solo travelers Switzerland, February 1, 2013
Very nice hotel

quiet, friendly staff, beautifully situated at the sea
9.3
A hotel with very nice and clean rooms, very helpful and friendly staff, you really feel "at home"
Report this review
Jay C. Couples United States of America, January 25, 2013
Great Place

Food, Service, an Atmosphere
8.7
when we arrived at the airport the staff from the hotel was there waiting on our arrival. they took us to the hotel an the greeting was great. they provided a foot massage an was very friendly. the rooms were not that big but cozy. they have great food for all meals an the staff was very generous. if your looking for a quiet place to stay on the beach an not allot of crowds this would be the place.they provide travel packages for your stay and you have a choice of what you prefer to do.
Hotel Feature Tip: Make sure to include the Airport transportation, the locals charge more than the hotel for the service.
Report this review
Karen P. Groups Canada, January 17, 2013
Sweet staff, but isolated location

Nice pool, great staff
6.3
The Kayla'a is decent - the food is so-so and the rooms need an airing. The sink in my room had no water; neither did the guest bathrooms near the restaurant. But they're trying very hard to make it a fun, family place.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Be warned: it is far from the sites and the airport, so if you come here, be prepared to spend extra for transport, or opt for some downtime at the pool or beach.
Report this review
Previous page 41 - 50 of 135 reviews Next page
Kayla’a Beach Resort DimiaoKayla’a Beach Resort Dimiao - InteriorKayla’a Beach Resort Dimiao - GardenKayla’a Beach Resort Dimiao - GardenKayla’a Beach Resort Dimiao - RestaurantKayla’a Beach Resort Dimiao - Swimming PoolKayla’a Beach Resort Dimiao - Dolphin watching snorkelingKayla’a Beach Resort Dimiao - Self guide toursKayla’a Beach Resort Dimiao - RelaxKayla’a Beach Resort Dimiao - Guest RoomKayla’a Beach Resort Dimiao - Swimming PoolKayla’a Beach Resort Dimiao - Guest RoomKayla’a Beach Resort Dimiao - InteriorKayla’a Beach Resort Dimiao - Guest RoomKayla’a Beach Resort Dimiao - Guest RoomKayla’a Beach Resort Dimiao - ReceptionKayla’a Beach Resort Dimiao - InteriorKayla’a Beach Resort Dimiao - ExteriorKayla’a Beach Resort Dimiao - Guest RoomKayla’a Beach Resort Dimiao - InteriorKayla’a Beach Resort Dimiao - RestaurantKayla’a Beach Resort Dimiao - RestaurantKayla’a Beach Resort Dimiao - Swimming PoolKayla’a Beach Resort Dimiao - Guest RoomKayla’a Beach Resort Dimiao - Guest RoomKayla’a Beach Resort Dimiao - Guest RoomKayla’a Beach Resort Dimiao - ReceptionKayla’a Beach Resort Dimiao - Balcony/TerraceKayla’a Beach Resort Dimiao - ExteriorKayla’a Beach Resort Dimiao - SurroundingsKayla’a Beach Resort Dimiao - Beach


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A07