Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Kensington College Backpackers

280 Augusta Avenue, Toronto (ON), Canada (Show on map)

Book now!

Area: Other Number of Rooms: 45

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type


Above average


from 21 reviews

Value for Money
Staff Performance
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
Room Comfort/Standard
All reviews (21)
Sort by:
Noelle E. Solo travelers Philippines, July 15, 2015
You get what you paid for

Price and location
Fair. When I came for my first check in, the front desk personnel was teaching a trainee. It lasted for almost 15 minutes because the trainee was having a difficult time picking up the instructions. Showers and toilets are separated. You get what you pay for.
Report this review
Sandra W. Business travelers Colombia, October 5, 2014
A little taste of hell

The staff.
Report this review
Patrick M. Solo travelers United States of America, September 24, 2014
Price is right

price, location, free breakfast
Was there a week and had no problems. One guest needed the air con turned on and staff handled it promptly. As others have pointed out, be advised this is a hostel situation so if that is not your thing look elsewhere. Lowest priced hotel rooms in dumps in Toronto will run you about $80 a night so if price is your main concern the hostels are a better deal. Take normal precautions with belongings and you'll be fine here.
Report this review
Tracy R. Couples United States of America, July 26, 2014
First hostel stay

Location cleanliness convenience
Report this review
Norman L. Solo travelers Canada, July 2, 2014
very poor front desk management.

1. clean washroom 2. internet wi-fi 3. central location
1. the front desk keeper did not tell me the wifi password after asking him, resulting in almost a day's loss of network access since their office closes in the evening. 2. the front desk keeper's wife is very rude and will make you run up to return the linens when they did not tell you to return in it from the beginning when submitting a cash deposit for the key.
Report this review
Margaret K. Solo travelers Canada, October 20, 2013
Simple, but Pleasant

quick checkin and out; comfortable bed; great location
It was fine. My only issues was that the doors tended to stick.
Report this review
Gabriel S. Solo travelers Nigeria, March 21, 2013
Not too impressive.

Central location, cheaper, access to shopping
My stay was not too impressive owing to the factors outlined above. There ought to improvement in the services that the hotel renders to the public.
Report this review
Wong Y. Business travelers Singapore, October 22, 2012
Great location but poor accommodation standards

Great location, short walk away from Spadina & Dundas.
Shocking facade greets the guest at first sight with its rundown backpacker inn image, and there was no visible sign of the hotel's name. Room was small with few amenities, corriders narrow and communal bathroom was badly maintained. 1 of room's binds was missing, no temperature maintenance settings found. Sound proofing was non existent, with doors closing and people talking & walking resonating through the narrow walkways. Good for people looking at no frills cheap stay with close proximity to Toronto life.
Report this review
Ong S. Groups Singapore, August 12, 2012
Small room, shared toilet

Value, cheap, location
Report this review
Penny C. Solo travelers Canada, June 24, 2012
Great location but small rooms

location, complimentary breakfast, clean
room was hot with no fan, and too noisy if I opened the window
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!