Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Kimchi Hanok Guesthouse

228, Pirun-dong, Jongno-gu, Jongno / Insadong, Gwanghwamun, Seoul, South Korea

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.9

based on
45 reviews

25 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.0
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
6.7
All reviews (45)
Sort by:
Kevin G. Solo travelers United States of America, January 19, 2016
Good stopover

Simple, straight forward, warm
8.3
I had a short stopover and found KHG a warm (literally) and easy place to be while being near Kyungbok Palace and a nice food centre.
Report this review
Kylie K. Families with older children South Korea, November 22, 2015
Great location, hot Ondol room

You can experience real HanOk
9
Room was small but nice and cozy. Since we checked in with 2kids the owner(who was friendly) gave us extra room free of charge! There were all the bathroom products(like shampoo, body cleanser, make up cleanser, hair dryer, comb...) in the restroom. They weren't like hotel quality but consider the price, it was worth it. Rooms were very worm and sheets were clean. It might not easy to find if you can't read korean.
Report this review
Deborah C. Families with older children Malaysia, September 21, 2015
not easy to find as it is behind the alley

location
6
quite nice, different experience
Report this review
Genevieve F. Solo travelers Philippines, April 4, 2015
Home Stay

Feeling at home
8.3
I don't really expect it going inside KIA tunnel. However, it is really feeling like home finding this hanok makes me feel like I'm living in korea. Plus the necessities you all need you will find there. It's just too cold in the bathroom even though have heater inside. Makes me worry if I wet it with the shower.
Report this review
Yu Z. Couples China, February 20, 2015
It's ok ~!

good korea
8
Report this review
Siok K. Couples Singapore, February 17, 2015
Will go back again if i go Seoul.

Service, the space and the price is cheap
9.3
The service is very good. The owner got us a bigger room. Raining day, owner will provide umbrella. She even inform us the weather and introduce the good food nearby.
Report this review
Siok K. Couples Singapore, February 16, 2015
A taste of the olden day Korea

Location, spacial and worth the price
9
If you are looking for a traditional stay in Korea, a good location with good price and a good service, this is where you are looking for. Come and try especially during the winter season. The wooden heater flooring is the most warming place to lay on.
Report this review
Ida L. Couples Singapore, February 11, 2015
Comfortable stay

Comfortable stay, nice host, good location
7.7
Report this review
Ling L. Groups Malaysia, December 23, 2014
Great and helpful host, good location

Traditional Korean house, helpful host and walking distance to Gyeongbokgung Palace
7.3
Great experience to stay in the traditional Korean Hanok Guesthouse, warm heated room during cold winter night. Walking distance to Gyeongbokgung Palace and from there, we could walk to Gwanghwamun Square and a bit further we could reach Insadong or Bukchon Hanok Village. We arrived late due to flight delay and the host had been trying to reach us to make sure we found our way to the guesthouse. The host came out to the main road at 11pm in cold winter night to lead us back to the guesthouse. On the day of our departure, the host contacted our pick up driver to reconfirm pick up location and time to ensure our onward journey went smoothly. It was a great help since the host helped us communicate with the driver in Korean. Very helpful and kind host.
Report this review
Benjamin L. Couples France, September 28, 2014
Not worth your time or money

actually, nothing, everything went wrong
3.3
As we arrived the door was closed. It's one of the client who came open the door and informed us that "his group" had booked the entire guesthouse for the entire week so that something had to be wrong with our booking (which had already been paid online). There was not sign of the owner, no notes, nothing. Luckily, the "client" helped us to call the owner (as she would otherwise not come because her guesthouse was already fully booked). So what happened? She hadn't forgotten about us, but it looks like renting her entire guesthouse to a group for a week was too much of a good deal for her to respect her other bookings. So she came "pick us up" and took us to the guesthouse of one of "her friend?"... Seriously!?! I didn't spend 10min online picking the place I wanted to stay to be taken elsewhere without notice. And had the client not be around what would have happened with us, we had already paid for the room?!?! If she did it to us, she could as well do it to you, so spare you the trouble and go elsewhere.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 25 reviews Next page
Kimchi Hanok Guesthouse SeoulKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - ExteriorKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - ExteriorKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Guest RoomKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - BathroomKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - ExteriorKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - BathroomKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - InteriorKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Guest RoomKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - ExteriorKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - EntranceKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - InteriorKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - BathroomKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - FacilitiesKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - FacilitiesKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - KitchenKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - FacilitiesKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - InteriorKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - FacilitiesKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - ExteriorKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - ExteriorKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - ExteriorKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Family room with bathroomKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Family roomKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - BathroomKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - InteriorKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - MapKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - InteriorKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - ExteriorKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - ExteriorKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - InteriorKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Exterior


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A05