or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Kimchi Hanok Guesthouse

228, Pirun-dong, Jongno-gu, Jongno / Insadong, Gyeongbokgung Palace, Seoul, South Korea (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Kimchi Guesthouse Hanok

Kimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Front Garden Kimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Resting Area Kimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Washbasin Kimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Shared Bathroom Kimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Entrance Kimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Entrance Kimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Guest Room Interior Kimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Guest Room Interior Kimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Panoramic View Kimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Interior Kimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Interior Kimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Mailbox Kimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Microwave & Rice cooker Kimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Shared Kitchen Kimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Shared Laundry Machine Kimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Toiletries
Kimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Door Lock Kimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Logo Kimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Shared PC Kimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Garden
Area: Gyeongbokgung Palace Number of Rooms: 5
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.9

based on
28 reviews

Value for Money
8.1
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
7.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.4
Room Comfort/Standard
8.1
Food/Dining
6.9
All reviews (28)
Sort by:
Cesare S. Groups Italy, July 13, 2014
Very nice hanok guesthouse.

Location, hotel building, cozy atmosphere
8.3
Kimchi Guesthouse js a cery nice Hanok hotel. You amhave to sbare share the toilet and sleep on the floor, but everything is cozy and clean.
Lorraine L. Couples Singapore, December 30, 2013
Small room with friendly owner

Friendly owner, close to palace and good food
7
It is very close to Gyeongbok-gung metro station. Remember to take exit 2 and walk towards paris baguette shop and turn left. It's all the way into the alley on the left. The owner will come show you the way if you can't find it. Very traditional room and experience the way Koreans sleep on the floor.
Chi-Chen L. Couples Australia, December 26, 2013
It was centrally located for a traditional stay.

Location, Friendly staff and Cleanness.
9
It was a value for money and the rooms were cozy and warm for winter. The host is extremely nice and the place is very clean. The location of Kimchi Hanok Guesthouse is close to subway and other forms of transportation, very easy to get around Seoul.
Adeline C. Families with older children Malaysia, December 17, 2013
Comfortable traditional house with modern amenties

Genuinely a Hanok house with wifi provided, host was friendly and is able to speak english, basic breakfast is provided
8.3
This guesthouse is truly one of a kind. Although the location is among shops, train stations and some attractions, it is a relatively peaceful area. The host was able to communicate in English and she was very hospitable. Sleeping on heated floor was also a great experience. Though it is a traditional house, many modern appliances was available included a washing machine and a reasonably equipped kitchen. I highly recommend this guesthouse!
George V. Solo travelers United States of America, December 2, 2013
Excellent value and exceptional location

tradition, value, location
9.3
If you are considering a trip to Jongno, the historical center of Seoul, you will find this guesthouse to be exceptionally well-situated (a 3 minute walk to the subway and a 10 minute ride to the center of Seoul). The guesthouse was built in the early 20th century so it has a traditional floorplan, and it is kept clean and comfortable. I traveled with a friend and our room during our late autumn trip was small but cozy and warm: as it is a traditional house, you sleep on a roll-away mattress on the heated floor (ondol). There are three bathrooms on the premises which were upgrades or additions to the original floorplan, so they are small and have a Western toilet, sink, and handheld showers. I had no problems with noise as the guesthouse is half a block removed from the lively food/restaurant alley it is close to. Wi-Fi, TV, coffee/toast as well as a kitchen are also available. The hostess was also wonderfully kind and responsive! I thought that I got a very authentic taste of Seoul, thanks in large part to this guesthouse. I would definitely go back, and I also recommend this to my friends.
Katherine W. Solo travelers Australia, July 1, 2013
The lady owner was very helpful.

Close to the subway station. Close to local food areas. The location is very quiet at night
10
I have had a wonderful stay at the guesthouse, the lady owner was very helpful and would pick us up from the subway station if you let her know that you are having trouble finding the place. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, making my stay very warm. The guesthouse is very close to the major attraction, the Royal Palace, it was just a ten-minute walk! I would recommend it to travellers who would like to experience the traditional Korean houses lifestyles. It would have been better if breakfast was provided. Overall the stay was great!
Lisa B. Couples United States of America, May 3, 2013
Basic accomdation in a fantastic location

Quaint, traditional house, convenient location, wifi in room
6.7
We chose Kimchi Hanok beacause of the location & price - which were both terrific! - and the traditional style house was attractive and quaint. We knew it would be basic, Korean-style sleeping arrangements. The floor was heated, which kept the room cozy, but it was very hard, and the sleeping mat was no thicker than a blanket. I gathered all the spare "mats" I could and folded them under me and it was still hard on my middle-aged American body. Still the location can't be beat. Breakfast was cook-your-own, which worked well for us, since our room adjoined the kitchen. The shared bathroom & shower are in a separate building, but under a common roof that covers a small courtyard area.
Yuuki H. Solo travelers Japan, December 13, 2012
quiet but tough location to find out

free-internet, helpful lady owner, 5-min walk to subway station, 5-min walk to 24hour-Sauna
6.3
very quiet and free-style accomodatioin. you can use internet, drink, in share-living room. You get out to the big street and across it, there is 24hour-sauna, 8000won to use it, located basemend2 of the big apartment. you can ask owner about it.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: it is very hard to find out the guesthouse. you have to ask many people to find it out. however, the owner is friendly and helpful to stay and walk around the city. There is 24hour-sauna near the guesthouse.
Derek W. Solo travelers Hong Kong, October 29, 2012
Helpful manager, Room is small

Nice manager & helpful
7
The location is near the palace,however it is hard to find it even taxi driver. The staff is very helpful. They help to ask the hotel information for me which I need to go to Naejangsan National Park. (Ask the taxi driver call the hotel directly; the location is near exit 2 of Gyeongbokgung(景福宮) palace station.)
Amanda F. Couples United States of America, October 29, 2012
Great guesthouse, sweet location

Great host, central location, lots of amenities
9
We loved this traditional style guesthouse. The hostess was incredibly helpful, and we loved that we were the only westerners at this place- it was mostly Korean tourists visiting Seoul. Fantastic location- near wonderful Korean spa, local restaurants, museums, and within walking distance to Insadong. Would highly recommend this place!

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Kimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Hotel ExteriorKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Front GardenKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Resting AreaKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - WashbasinKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Shared BathroomKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - EntranceKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - EntranceKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Guest Room InteriorKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Guest Room InteriorKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Panoramic ViewKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - InteriorKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - InteriorKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - MailboxKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Microwave & Rice cookerKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Shared KitchenKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Shared Laundry MachineKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - ToiletriesKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Door LockKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - LogoKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Shared PCKimchi Hanok Guesthouse Seoul - Garden


AS-AGWEB-3B03