Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L'Occitane

Kedewatan P.O. Box 7, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia 80571

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.7

based on
447 reviews

235 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.1
Location
8.5
Staff Performance
9.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.8
Room Comfort/Standard
9.1
Food/Dining
8.4
All reviews (447)
Sort by:
Evelyn C. Groups Australia, February 4, 2016
Beautiful Surroundings

View, Staff Friendliness, spa
8
We stayed in the river view family room. The view was outstanding. The small pool we had was a little cold as it was shaded, but was welcome and refreshing after a sticky humid day. The staff were almost OTT friendly. :) Everyone said hello! The day spa at the hotel was the highlight, having a relaxing massage in the treetops listening to the river running nearby. A little expensive - but was so worth it. My one gripe would be having to get a buggy everywhere - all the time, as there was a big rain, the water washed out the main stairs that we could take up to the main lobby/la view restaurant - so having to wait for a buggy when we could have just walked was a little annoying - as sometimes we would have preferred to walk. But I would still stay here again & again.
Report this review
Janice O. Couples Australia, January 6, 2016
A romantic getaway

Location - we had a Pool Villa with river views; Accommodation was superb and serviced twice daily; Customer Care - the butlers go out of their was to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
9.7
5 days of pure pleasure, we were part of the river club which gave us some privalages like: Free laundry, complementary mini bar, a free cocktail each day, fruit platter, champagne, etc. this was all daily Guests are allocated a butler to assist with your stay, they go out of their way to assist you with any plans you make during your stay e.g. Booking / arranging excursions. If you are after a romantic getaway with a loved one, Kupu Kupu Barong will not disappoint you. I will be returning.
Report this review
Sandesh P. Couples India, January 5, 2016
kupu kupu barong, the best in ubud!

location, ambience, spas..
9.7
Report this review
River B. Families with older children Australia, January 3, 2016
our stay at kupu kupu

location and environment
9
We were happy with it. The staff are very friendly.
Report this review
Dinesh S. Families with young children United Kingdom, December 27, 2015
Good and Bad points

Location, Room and Breakfast
7
So first the good points - Breakfast was till late (almost 11pm) and a la carte with several complimentary foods (bread basket, fruit bowl etc) Afternoon tea with free flow tea/coffee and delightful tray of snacks View of the river and valley with mist flowing through it was fantastic Personal butler to deal with any issues also great Golf cart to take you to and from your room was necessary as the resort is on a hillside Quiet and peaceful Villa room was two floors and with kids in tow gave us a lot of space for them to run around and for extra beds Bathroom layout and design was very Balinese and nicely done Now the bad - On day one, we had a leaky roof, an aircon that was creating a nice pool of water in the room and a faulty safe - however the butler offered to change the room immediately (we didn't) and these issues were fixed by the morning. The golf cart takes time to get to your villa so you end up not using it as often as you think - which means a lot of stair climbing (not convenient with young kids) The resort is far from central Ubud and there is a shuttle bus but it only goes once an hour and you have to book your going and return trip which never works out when you are trying to get kids to stick to a schedule. Restaurants food was mediocre at best and quite expensive as you are in a resort. Spa was very expensive considering you could get the same packages in Ubud village for half the price. There is nothing really walking distance around the resort to see. And finally, would we stay here again - No, once was enough.
Report this review
Nanako M. Groups Japan, December 14, 2015
Hotel service doesn't match with price

Staff smile
2.7
Report this review
Carly B. Couples Australia, November 8, 2015
Excellent experience at kupu kupu barong

Villa, food, views
9.7
Fabulous. Relaxing, exactly what we were after
Report this review
Aly M. Couples Egypt, October 20, 2015
Super Choice

Clean, great food and location
10
The ultimate choice
Report this review
Huiwen Z. Groups Singapore, October 19, 2015
Worth a stay but a lil pricey

The villa setup, the natural landscape and the many services provided to us (i.e. helping us to book sunrise trekking at mt batur at the very last minute)
6.7
My stay at Kupu Kupu was memorable. Our first time staying in a natural landscape and it could be quite disturbing at night due to all those weird jungle noises/sound. The villa allocated to us have an obscured view of the jungle view and the statures can be quite intimidating to view at night. The pool + toilet is very spacious and nice tho (even tho i secretly hope for a bigger view with a jungle view). Hotel staff were helpful and quick to respond to our needs (i.e helping us book sunrise trekking at the last min for mt batur, gave us complimentary weaved bags, provided a late check out as promised etc). Thank you to all staff of Kupu Kupu for all the help and kindness rendered!
Report this review
Ngurah C. Couples Indonesia, September 27, 2015
Amazing stay to remember

Location, service and food
9
Stay in duplex with pool room during my honeymoon trip. Located at good location with amazing view of cliff and ayung river. The staff is very welcome and kind but we must wait a little bit longger to get our room after check in event we came on chek in hour. Our room a little bit out to date compare with other newest resort, but we can accept that remind this resort already establish about 15 years ago. The food during our dinig was good enough but the breakfast at la'view was amazing, good food with good view especially the fruit salad and yogurt. Will considering to stay at this place again on our other vocation.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 235 reviews Next page
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - Romantic DinnerKupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - Ayung River Front Villa with PoolKupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - Bird Nest on morningKupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - ViewKupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - FacilitiesKupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - RestaurantKupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - Ayung River Front Villa with PoolKupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - Swimming PoolKupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - La View BarKupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - La View RestaurantKupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - La View RestaurantKupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - Bird NestKupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - SpaKupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - SpaKupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - Spa by L’OCCITANEKupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - Romantic dinnerKupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - LobbyKupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - Swimming PoolKupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - Duplex Pool villa honeymoon setupKupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - RestaurantKupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - Duplex VillaKupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - Duplex VillaKupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - Ayung River Villa with Private PoolKupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - Ayung River Villa with Private PoolKupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - Ayung River Villa with Private PoolKupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - Room view Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - Spa by L’OCCITANEKupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - RestaurantKupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - LobbyKupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - BalconyKupu Kupu Barong Villas & Spa by L’Occitane Bali - Fitness Room


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C01