or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa

Sanjo-Agaru, Kawaramachi, Nakagyo-ku, Central Kyoto, Kyoto, Japan (Show on map)

Book now!

Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior twin Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior twin Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior twin Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior twin Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Queen Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior double Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior double Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior semi-double Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior double Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior double Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Admirable suite Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Admirable suite Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Family Room Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Family Room Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Lobby Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Entrance
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Front Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Lobby Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Lobby Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Breakfast Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Breakfast Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Breakfast Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Breakfast Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Breakfast Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Lunch Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Lunch Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Dinner Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Dinner
Area: Central Kyoto Number of Rooms: 443
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.3

based on
2098 reviews

Value for Money
8.2
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
8.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Food/Dining
7.2
All reviews (2098)
Sort by:
Dithaphong S. Couples Thailand, October 1, 2012
standard hotel in kyoto

location
7.7
Location: i will say 4 out of 5. It is close to the shopping street and market. i also close to the subway as well. Room: we got big room: with 2 connecting room. very impressed on that. However, there is no view at all from our side. We only can see the other building. So not recommend if you want to see some kyoto scenery. Different from room size, bed is a bit small for 2 people. I think it is queen size bed. It is not that bad but to think of the room size, i personally think they should have bigger bed. Apart from that is okay. Room is clean as standard. Food: no comment Staff: they barely speak english. I asked them about they coming typhoon and train service. They cannot answer my question at all. But they are willing to help and try to speak which I am grateful for that. But it just not reach my expectation for the hotel staff.
Julien H. Couples France, September 29, 2012
Perfect location right in the center of Kyoto

Perfect location
7.7
Hotel nicely located in the center of kyoto close to conveniences, mall, cultural center, subways and restaurants / river. The rooms were nice and quiet spacious. Standing was acceptable. The corridors smelled awfull though.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Nicely located at the center of kyoto, at even subway distance from tourism points.
Brett M. Couples Australia, September 25, 2012
Lovely hotel

Luxury and location
10
the hotel is easily accessible (for travel via bus and subway) and right in the middle of the attractions in kyoto city. the hotel staff was courteous (greets and bow everytime we left and retuned to the hotel) and actually let us check in early (1130am) and honored our request for the highest non-smoking room available with a view. am extremely happy as i did stay on the highest floor and my room (our beds) actually faced a open view (not just a small window, the entire room once the curtains are drawn) of kyoto city.
Silven T. Groups Brunei Darussalam, September 24, 2012
Great location

Great location, several bus stops and train/subway nearby. Short walking distance to Gion and shopping areas of Sajo and Sijo.
7.7
Great location, comfortable, non-discript rooms, with all the facilities you need. Room size was a welcome relief after 'tiny' Tokyo hotel. Great front desk and consiage staff. Very helpful and knowledable, and great tourist guides. Fast wifi at lobby and good 'guest computers'. Would be nice if wifi is available in the rooms. I do feel sorry that the petite 'bell-girls' have to lift heavy bags.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Kyoto is chocked full of historical and cultural sites. They are however, NOT really within easy walking distances of each other. Daily bus passes are great, and can be purchased from the hotel front desk (they'd also help you plan your routes !!) An evening/late afternoon walk around Gion area and along Pontocho (food streets) should not be missed, even if you cant afford to eat at the restaurants. Good ramen and rice shops at Sijo end.
Paul M. Business travelers Canada, September 15, 2012
Reasonable hotel in a very convenient location

Location, location, location; small but clean rooms; nice bar; efficient Japanese service
9
My usual choice when in Kyoto. Convenient for shopping and dining. Good access to public transportation. Clean, efficient, courteous. Had better reserve through Agoda, because rates can vary greatly depending on the day and season otherwise.
Ryan T. Couples Australia, September 14, 2012
very nice hotel

location
8
This hotel was great value at 40 percent off. Its in a great location and you can walk to lots of the sights in kyoto. The room was very modern, clean and large for japan. Staff were helpful. Highly recommended especially if you can get it at the discounted rate, an amazing deal for japan. One thing they should have wifi in the room though.
Magali B. Solo travelers France, September 13, 2012
Lovely hotel and great services & location

Location
9.7
I spent 4 nights in a double bed room on the 10th floor. So first of all the hotel provides excellent services. They are fast, professional and speak perfectly English. I found a very cool price via agoda and (just in case of) requested at the time of the booking a high floor and non-smoking. My room was very quiet, no noise. I had a view on the inside court, nothing special however it was nice to see the sky and the sun. People always say that rooms are small and well this is the case in Japan, it is like that. However to be honest I was expecting worse than that. The room was really okay and the bathroom not as small as where I am staying now in Tokyo! So now that I can compare it was a very good room, bathroom and hotel. Bed is very comfortable, bathroom is equipped with products, tooth brush etc. This is also the first time there is an English channel on tv and for free, BBC world news. The location is just perfect. Buses in front of your door! To reach the hotel from the train station, take the bus 4, 17 or 205 or the subway. Ticket is 220 yen. Better get a bus map at the station as this is the transportation used to visit around. Also a day pass cost 500 yen, very convenient! Plus just behind the hotel and going down to Gion, you have tons of great restaurants, shops etc. it is a nice walk about 15 minutes, take the small streets behind and so you can walk along the canal. Definitely a place to be to enjoy Kyoto and its surroundings. I did not try the breakfast, so no opinion and neither the spa, a bit too expensive for me
Aaron H. Couples Malaysia, September 13, 2012
Great Hotel

Location & Service
8.3
I spent 15days/ 14 nights in Japan and stayed in 3 different hotels (Kyoto-7nights, Shinjuku-5nights & Kawasaki-2nights) and by far this is the best hotel of the 3 which I stayed with the best value. The hotel is easily accessible (for travel via bus and subway) and right in the middle of the attractions in Kyoto city:- 1) Potoncho & Gion (5-10mins walking) and the shopping and dining areas are just outside the doorstep of the hotel. 2) The Hotel is in front (120metres) a subway station and about 500metres to a main bus terminal which connects you to all the temples/ attractions in Kyoto.) The hotel staff was courteous (greets and bows every time we left and returned to the hotel) and actually let us check in early (1130am) and honored our request for the highest non-smoking room available with a view. Am extremely happy as I did stay on the highest floor and my room (our beds) actually faced a open view (not just a small window, the entire room once the curtains are drawn) of Kyoto city. Thumbs up.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Stay longer in Kyoto (7 nights was not enough). There are just so many attractions (temples, castles, markets and shopping) etc. I could not wait to leave the moment I was in Tokyo. Kyoto's cleanliness, dining, shopping and people (more courteos) is way more superior than Tokyo.
Hiu W. Couples China, September 13, 2012
Excellent, comfortable and fantastic.

The room is big. The spa is great. The bathroom is comfortable.
8.7
Kiang S. Groups September 12, 2012
Location nice

only the Lobby and room is good
6.7
If i had more time to search, i would had shop for much better vulue hotel, and many are booked out, instead of this one, now i understand why. in Kyoto many hotel would include hot spring bath, but this hotel do not provide. There are well speaken english Japenese receptionist, but lack the friendless that the japenese famous for.
Shopping Tip: Close to Major tourist attraction and train connection hub.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa KyotoKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior twinKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior twinKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior twinKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior twinKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - QueenKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior doubleKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior doubleKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior semi-doubleKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior doubleKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior doubleKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Admirable suiteKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Admirable suiteKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Family RoomKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Family RoomKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - LobbyKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - EntranceKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - FrontKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - LobbyKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - LobbyKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Breakfast Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Breakfast Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Breakfast Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - BreakfastKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - BreakfastKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - LunchKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - LunchKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - DinnerKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - DinnerKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - DrinkKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - FloorKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - FloorKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - TerraceKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Bar Haven - InteriorKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Beverage at Bar Haven Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Bar Haven - InteriorKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Bar Haven - InteriorKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Beverage at Bar Haven Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SpaKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SpaKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SpaKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SpaKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - AmenityKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Tea setsKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Glass SetsKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Humidification Air CleanerKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - FacilitiesKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - ClosetKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Hair ShampooKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - BathKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - RefrigeratorKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - AppearanceKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SakuraKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SakuraKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SakuraKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SakuraKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SakuraKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SakuraKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - KawaramachiKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Yasaka ShrineKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - NishikiichibaKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - NishikiichibaKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Kyoto stationKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Pont-choKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - HigashiyamaKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - KiyamachiKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Kamogawa

Customer Reviews - Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, Kyoto

AS-AGWEB-3C02