Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa

Sanjo-Agaru, Kawaramachi, Nakagyo-ku, Central Kyoto, Kyoto, Japan

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Excellent

8.3

based on 2314 reviews

1229 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.2
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
8.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Food/Dining
7.2
All reviews (2314)
Sort by:
Robert H. Couples United States of America, January 12, 2013
Good Hotel, good location, clean

I enjoyed this hotel, nice lobby, good beds, comfortable.
9.3
This hotel is good, staff is ok. Overall, the location and the atmosphere is the selling point. For the price you can't go wrong.
Paul M. Business travelers Canada, January 12, 2013
Great location but small rooms

Location, friendly service from most staff, good bar near lobby
8.3
I've stayed here many times, and go back mostly because of the location -- near the shopping and entertainment areas, and public transport "at your door." Internet for free in lobby. All of the staff were friendly except one -- he was rigid and unfriendly. May have a problem with foreigners who are fluent in Japanese (as I am). But even he relaxed a little as the days passed. Too bad their economy package doesn't include breakfast in the restaurant. However, there are coffee houses and bakeries right nearby to make up for that. Only real complaint: No adequate bedside lamp. The tiny "focussed lamp" was far too small and weak. I mentioned this at checkout, and was told they could supply normal bedside lamps upon request. Maybe they should mention this in their room information for everyone. Next time I stay there (which will be within this year), I'll ask for such a lamp.
Daniel D. Couples Netherlands, January 12, 2013
Everything right for the price

Right in city centre, good service.
9.7
We stayed for 3 nights and it was very worth it considering the price we payed. The staff was very kind, room was cleaned very well each day and the shower was good too! Please note that the Spa is closed until April.
Restaurant Tip: There is a Sushi Kaitan on the opposide of the Hotel that serve good sushi 2 for 136Yen!
Robert H. Couples United States of America, January 11, 2013
Nice Place and Great Location

Nice room, clean, good lobby, location is great.
9.3
I really liked this hotel, but the room was changed when we checked in. We were given a room at the check-in that faced the main street, but then it was changed to an view of another building. Was sad with that. But overall, the hotel was great and I would recommend it.
Stephanie W. Couples Singapore, January 10, 2013
Great Location and great service

good size, great staff, good location
8.3
We had a 4 nights stay and thoroughly enjoyed it. The friendly staff helped book a restaurant reservation for us and were friendly throughout. The room is of good size (japanese standard) and well located.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: There is a tourist information counter nearby!
Erika W. Couples Canada, January 9, 2013
recommended hotel, great value, service, location

big rooms, good internet in lobby, central Kyoto
10
Amazing. One of the best, if not the best hotel we stayed in during our cross-country trip. At the price offered for higher-end hostels, my friend and I stayed here for 3 nights. Internet/WiFi was only available in the lobby, but it was very fast and reliable. There was a internet cable in rooms. The lobby also had computers to use for people who didn't have smart phones etc. Service was impeccable, though check in was at 3pm, upon arriving early at 6am- they checked us in early. Great location, next to the subway, and was a short 5 minutes to central Kyoto shopping and eating district, and a 10 to 15 minute walk to Gion. They also had bikes for rent. Rooms were largest we experienced in Japan. This place comes highly recommended!
Erika W. Couples Canada, January 8, 2013
recommended hotel, great value, service, location

big rooms, good internet in lobby, central Kyoto
10
Fabulous service, a business and tourist hotel with big rooms, beds, amenities, internet cable in rooms with strong WiFi and computers in lobby. A stylish hotel with spa, yoga and support fir tourists (ie. Like bike rentals).highly recommended... booked an extra night because both Kyoto and the hotel was fab.
Cameron L. Couples Australia, January 8, 2013
professional staff. close to restaurant district

professional staff. close to restaurant district
9.3
Enjoyed our stay in the upgrade to "admirable" suite. A huge room by even western standards. The bed was a little firm. I like a firm bed but after 3 nights I was wishing for something a little softer. Only LAN internet in the rooms. Wireless is in the lobby which was a little annoying. When we extended our stay they automatically put us in the same room. Usually they ask you to move rooms when you when you extend with agoda.
Hotel Feature Tip: Great service and cocktails in the attached bar. Be there for happy hour.
Natalie B. Groups Australia, January 7, 2013
Great location. Friendly staff.

Great bathroom products. Good size room
8
A bit warm and stink when we got there. But with air on it improved with aircon
Restaurant Tip: Dongama around the corner. Ask the staff. Awesome food.
Alexi M. Groups United States of America, January 7, 2013
Decent location; okay hotel

Walking distance from some major tourist areas.
6.3
This is an okay hotel. It's about a twenty minute walk from Gion or Nishiki market and the major shoppings areas, so if that's what you're all about, it's good. It's also close to a subway station as well. Note, however, that it is not (in my opinion), as good as being based near Kyoto station, particularly not if you say, want to take the bus to all the outlying sights in Kyoto, or want to take a lot of day trips from there (We went to both Nara and Osaka). The hotel itself is merely okay. The staff is friendly, the cleaning staff do their job well (though I've yet to go to a Japanese hotel where they didn't). If you don't speak Japanese, you may also be interested in the reasonably good English skills of the front desk. The hotel itself is showing some signs of wear. I was also disappointed to note that the bathtubs are western style, rather than the Japanese ones that you can get a good soak in. The room amenities include a LAN cable for internet, but wireless only in the lobby. For the money, I'll probably try a different hotel next time I am in Kyoto.
Previous page 501 - 510 of 1229 reviews Next page
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa KyotoKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior twinKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - QueenKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior doubleKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior doubleKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior semi-doubleKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior doubleKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior doubleKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Admirable suiteKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Admirable suiteKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Family RoomKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - LobbyKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - EntranceKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - ReceptionKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - LobbyKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - LobbyKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Breakfast Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Breakfast Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Breakfast Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - BreakfastKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - BreakfastKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - LunchKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - LunchKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - DinnerKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - DinnerKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - DrinkKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - RestaurantKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - RestaurantKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - TerraceKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Bar Haven - InteriorKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Beverage at Bar Haven Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Bar Haven - InteriorKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Bar Haven - InteriorKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Beverage at Bar Haven Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SpaKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SpaKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SpaKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SpaKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - BathKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SakuraKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SakuraKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SakuraKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SakuraKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SakuraKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SakuraKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - KawaramachiKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Yasaka ShrineKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - NishikiichibaKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - NishikiichibaKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Kyoto stationKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Nearby AttractionKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - HigashiyamaKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - KiyamachiKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - KamogawaKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Guest RoomKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - LobbyKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Guest RoomKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Guest RoomKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - LobbyKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Guest RoomKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Food and BeveragesKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Guest RoomKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - EntranceKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Guest RoomKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Food and BeveragesKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - InteriorKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - ExteriorKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Guest RoomKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - RestaurantKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Food and BeveragesKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Food and BeveragesKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Guest RoomKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Guest RoomKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - InteriorKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - InteriorKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Guest RoomKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Food and BeveragesKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Food and BeveragesKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - RestaurantKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Food and BeveragesKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SpaKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - ReceptionKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Guest RoomKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Guest RoomKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Guest RoomKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Guest RoomKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Guest RoomKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Guest RoomKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Guest Room


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A06