Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa

Sanjo-Agaru, Kawaramachi, Nakagyo-ku, Central Kyoto, Kyoto, Japan (Show on map)

Book now!

Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior twin Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior twin Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior twin Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior twin Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Queen Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior double Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior double Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior semi-double Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior double Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior double Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Admirable suite Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Admirable suite Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Family Room Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Family Room Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Lobby Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Entrance
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Front Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Lobby Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Lobby Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Breakfast Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Breakfast Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Breakfast Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Breakfast Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Breakfast Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Lunch Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Lunch Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Dinner Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Dinner
Area: Central Kyoto Number of Rooms: 443
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.3

based on
2138 reviews

Value for Money
8.2
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
8.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Food/Dining
7.2
All reviews (2138)
Sort by:
Michael S. Groups United States of America, October 29, 2012
excellent service, room on the small side

clean, modern room, good location
8.7
I only stayed here one night , but the room was in excellent condition and the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff was at the usual standards for Japan- which means outstanding
Kuang C. Couples Taiwan, October 29, 2012
great location/room; poor service

location
7.3
The hotel is located 5 minutes walks to subway and shopping areas. Hotel rooms are comfortable. The service has been poor. I asked for help to print out my E-ticket. The hotel person replied to me their printer is broken two months ago. There are no wi-fi in the rooms.
Restaurant Tip: There are a lot good restaurants around the hotels.
Maria D. Couples Australia, October 24, 2012
Good location, busy hotel with lots of facilities

location
8.3
good central kyoto location, very close to the town hall. easy for public transports with buses running on the main road constantly for sightseeing locations. plenty of eateries and convenience stores around. wifi in the lobby is handy as well as 2 pc's. rooms are a good size for japan standards and very clean although the bathrooms could probably do with a refurb. the spa looks lovely but it very expensive for western standards (around $for a foot/leg massage!). busy hotel with lots of traffic around the lobby and restaurant also.
Anna V. Couples Brazil, October 20, 2012
Great location

Location and bicycle rental
8
It was a pleasant stay, but we were unable to secure a late checkout
John Y. Couples Taiwan, October 20, 2012
Good location but small room

Good location
6.7
the rooms are too small, it is an old hotel and yet they have renovated, the room still doesn't feel comfortable due to the space is too packed. the only good part is the location and the breakfast was not bad either. staff were pleasant.
Jasemine J. Couples Switzerland, October 17, 2012
Very well located, clean and comfortable rooms

kindness of the staff
9
We spent a week in this hotel. The staff was super nice and helpful. A nice and a good buffet breakfast. We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends!
Morakot C. Couples Thailand, October 10, 2012
Big room

very good service
9
Lovely hotel with very nice staff who always try to help and give direction. Near train station just walking distance. Breakfast was good , enjoy Miso soup.
Sian M. Couples United Kingdom, October 5, 2012
Nice hotel,good location and good value

Location
7.7
The hotel location was good and the staff were all very friendly and willing to help whenever they could. The rooms are quite small but this seemed to be a consistent thing in Japan, and the bed was hard but overall it was worth the money. There is also wireless Internet in the lobby which is not advertised.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Ask at reception for the day bus pass, it is very simple to use and save you a lot of walking
Rebecca B. Families with young children Australia, October 4, 2012
Small room but value for money.

Great location! Close to subway and bus stations. Short walk to downtown central district.
7.3
Pro's: - It's close to the subway and there are bus stops right outside the hotel. - Downtown central district is just 5 min walk away. - The 7/11 outside has an ATM that accepts international cards. Con's: - The room was tiny, Very tiny. We were travelling with a boysterous toddler and there was nowhere for him to move once the luggage was in. - The bed was really hard. - We had a room close to the street and although we were on level 5, the noise was quite loud. Not great for light sleepers. - The staff are very friendly but speak little English.(this is not a huge Con as we didn't expect people to speak our language but they gave us incorrect information twice, including directions to the wrong airport because they couldn't understand what we were asking) Overall, it was value for money, we booked for 4 nights so we received a 40% discount which made it very reasonable for the price. -
Hotel Feature Tip: On the hotel website they recommend getting the subway from Kyoto station to the hotel. The subway station is close by but you need to take two trains to get there. It's much easier to take the bus which doesn't require a change and stops right outside the door. Go to bus stand A2 outside Kyoto station and catch a bus heading to Kawaramachi Sanjo.
Ronald B. Couples United States of America, October 4, 2012
Fine hotel with superior service

Good quality overall, some superior service
9.7
Our lengthy stay met all expectations. Since we didn't expect to stay in our room much, the size was adequate, bedding was superior, and the housekeeping service was perfect. Especially appreciated the service of the concierge who was superior on a number of matters, routine and not. Also one of the bell people, unasked, came rushing over to help us when we had trouble with using the public phone. One negative was the restaurant which had a good buffet at every meal but few other options and pricing obviously designed to push you into the full buffet. A coffee shop option would have been nice. A minor negative was that the BBC was the only English language TV channel available with its continuously recycled limited news coverage.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa KyotoKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior twinKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior twinKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior twinKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior twinKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - QueenKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior doubleKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior doubleKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior semi-doubleKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior doubleKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Superior doubleKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Admirable suiteKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Admirable suiteKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Family RoomKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Family RoomKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - LobbyKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - EntranceKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - FrontKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - LobbyKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - LobbyKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Breakfast Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Breakfast Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Breakfast Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - BreakfastKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - BreakfastKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - LunchKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - LunchKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - DinnerKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - DinnerKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - DrinkKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - FloorKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - FloorKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - TerraceKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Bar Haven - InteriorKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Beverage at Bar Haven Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Bar Haven - InteriorKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Bar Haven - InteriorKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Beverage at Bar Haven Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SpaKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SpaKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SpaKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SpaKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - AmenityKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Tea setsKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Glass SetsKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Humidification Air CleanerKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - FacilitiesKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - ClosetKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Hair ShampooKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - BathKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - RefrigeratorKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - AppearanceKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SakuraKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SakuraKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SakuraKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SakuraKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SakuraKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - SakuraKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - KawaramachiKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Yasaka ShrineKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - NishikiichibaKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - NishikiichibaKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Kyoto stationKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Pont-choKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - HigashiyamaKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - KiyamachiKyoto Royal Hotel & Spa Kyoto - Kamogawa

Customer Reviews - Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, Kyoto

AS-AGWEB-3A07