My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel

91 Enshojicho, Okazaki, Sakyo-ku, Higashiyama / Gion, Kyoto, Japan (Show on map)

Book now!

Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Guest Room Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Guest Room Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Guest Room Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Interior Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Interior Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Buffet Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Buffet Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Buffet Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Buffet Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Buffet Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Entrance Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Exterior Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Interior Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Coffee Shop/Cafe Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Restaurant Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Restaurant
Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Restaurant Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Restaurant Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Restaurant Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Restaurant Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Restaurant Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Restaurant Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Restaurant Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Restaurant Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Restaurant Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Restaurant Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Restaurant Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Exterior
Area: Higashiyama / Gion Number of Rooms: 78
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.4

based on
173 reviews

Value for Money
7.1
Location
8.0
Staff Performance
7.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.2
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
6.7
All reviews (173)
Sort by:
Lara G. Couples Australia, October 23, 2012
Rude staff!!

Location
6
Booked and paid for a twin room (2 people) but on arrival was the told I had to pay double which was extremely misleading. Staff were arrogant and rooms were okay. Wifi only in common area which gets busy as is a restaurant as well. Food average. Location is in the old town which is nice but for the price I would not recommend it.
Jeremy T. Couples United States of America, October 8, 2012
Convenient hotel, but a bit expensive

Great location, clean, staff is very helpful
8
Hotel is very convenient to the subway as well as some of Kyoto's best sights. The staff is very helpful. But, as frankly are many things in Kyoto, this hotel is expensive for what you get. Also, beware...the pillows are very small and hard by Western standards!
Marc M. Solo travelers United States of America, August 17, 2012
Nice place

helpful staff
9.3
This place has all the advantages of a hostel and hotel. You can eat breakfast downstairs (they sell both Western and Japanese breakfasts) and you can do your own laundry. On the other had they have individual rooms, maid service and all the other usual aspects of a hotel. It was quiet too. It even has public baths (one for males, one for females). The location is not bad either (about a ten minute walk from the subway, if you are arriving via Kyoto station). It is not luxury, but it is comfortable and nice. I would stay here again.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Be organized on which temples you want to see and in what order.
Michael S. Couples Canada, July 22, 2012
Great location but charges per person

Great location, the rooms are not huge but functional, friendly staff
7.3
The downside of this hotel for me is that it charges per person. I thought I had booked on Agoda for 2 people but then it turned out it was only for one person and I had to pay them extra when I left.
Christopher A. Couples New Zealand, July 16, 2012
great location.nice small place to stay

very welcoming people ,free internet downstairs, very central &easy to get around on bus , bikes ect. good place to do lots of walking.
8.3
we spent 6 nights in the hotel, great staff,everyone was helpful. very central and could walk to Gion and heaps of nice walking or biking tracks.Only one bad thing is there bath towels are so old & thin you could see through them. Apart from that i would recommend the hotel to any of my friends
Vern H. Couples April 30, 2012
Wonderful little hotel with a great location

Location, friendly, affordable
9.3
this is a small, old hotel with a very friendly staff and a great, central location. the front-desk staff spoke just enough english to be able to communicate important details. the room was small but not unreasonably so. they have both japanese rooms and western rooms. we had a western room which had a small, private bath/shower but there is also a public bath in the basement of the japanese side. there is no elevator but fortunately there are only 4 floors. i'll definitely look here on my next visit.
Nobel G. Groups Philippines, April 11, 2012
charming and homey hotel

experience japanese living
9.3
the hotel is not exactly near Gion where the sight really is but the hotel itself is very charming. We got a japanese room although you can have a choice of a western room. The japanese room basically is sleeping on the floor but they have provided mats that are very soft and comfortable so we had a nice goodnight sleep. Expect the typical japanese toilet. No lift so you will have to haul your luggage. downstairs is the charming coffe shop. Hotel is clean. staff is very friendly.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: You can walk to Gion but you can take a bus for JPY220 each way. The bus can give you change so do not worry about not having the exact amount of fare.
English P. Couples Canada, April 10, 2012
Nice staff & location

Location
5.3
Decent budget hotel in Kyoto - booked it because it was the only hotel available during 'Sakura'. Staff was great, food okay (barely). Room - not good - clean, but very dated. We rented bikes from the hotel and had a great time traveling around Kyoto to all the temples & shrines - it's by far the best way to visit & tour Kyoto!
Nathan B. Families with older children Australia, April 8, 2012
Older style hotel in a great location

Walking distance to Gion and 5 minutes busride into shopping precinct
7
we really enjoyed our stay at kyoto travelers inn hotel. it's an older style hotel, so don't expect it to be all shiny and fancy. however the staff are very helpful, it's central to all tourist sights and has a nice hot public bath to soak in after your day of sightseeing and shopping.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Buy a daily bus pass from your hotel reception. Adults are 500 Yen and kids are 1/2 price. Buses go to all major tourist destinations and right into the shopping precinct of Shijo.
Guo L. Couples China, April 6, 2012
Little cosy economic hotel with wonderful location

Location, staff's service
9
Our 6 nights here in Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel was wonderful. First of all, the hotel is comfortably located in the Higashiyama area, right besides Heian-Jingu Shrine and the Nanzen-ji Temple. The bus stop is 3 minutes away. There is even a 7-eleven store just around the corner. The staff have also been very friendly. They offered us help whenever they could and they were very thoughtful. The room was Japanese style (this was my first time staying in a Jap style room), a clean and cosy one. But I think they also have Western style as well. There was no elevator in the building, but we could deal with it given it was only a 4-story building. If I ever have a chance to return to Kyoto, I would definitely consider picking this hotel again.
Travel tip: Wi-Fi in public area available. If you want Wi-Fi in your room, borrow a cable from the staff and bring an Apple Airport Express with you. The front desk sells the Kyoto City Bus Pass & Kyoto Sightseeing Day Pass.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Kyoto Travelers Inn Hotel KyotoKyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Guest RoomKyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Guest RoomKyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Guest RoomKyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - InteriorKyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - InteriorKyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - BuffetKyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - BuffetKyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - BuffetKyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - BuffetKyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - BuffetKyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - EntranceKyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - ExteriorKyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - InteriorKyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Coffee Shop/CafeKyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - RestaurantKyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - RestaurantKyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - RestaurantKyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - RestaurantKyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - RestaurantKyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - RestaurantKyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - RestaurantKyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - RestaurantKyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - RestaurantKyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - RestaurantKyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - RestaurantKyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - RestaurantKyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - RestaurantKyoto Travelers Inn Hotel Kyoto - Exterior


AS-AGWEB-3A03