or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Lai-Thai Guesthouse

111/4-5 Kotchasarn Rd., Old City, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Lai-Thai Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Swimming Pool Lai-Thai Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Guest Room Lai-Thai Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Guest Room Lai-Thai Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Guest Room Lai-Thai Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Swimming Pool Lai-Thai Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Restaurant Lai-Thai Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Reception
Area: Old City Number of Rooms: 110
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.8

based on
324 reviews

Value for Money
7.1
Location
8.0
Staff Performance
6.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.6
Room Comfort/Standard
6.7
Food/Dining
6.2
All reviews (324)
Sort by:
Pierre L. Solo travelers Philippines, December 20, 2014
Good simple hotel near old city

Location, location, location
7
Great location just steps outside old city and bars and nit market
Henry K. Solo travelers Australia, December 17, 2014
Meh, Ive stayed at better

Location, relaxed atmosphere, setting
6
The guesthouse has a good feel about it when you walk in. The front desk, tables and restaurant next to the pool feels good and is a nice comfortable setting. The room is functional but mine had a few issues, like the shower nozzle falling off, the lights not working, the squeaking floors are quite loud. It needed a bit of maintenance.
Marina H. Couples Canada, December 9, 2014
excellent for the money!!

close to inner city, clean and safe, helpful staff
8.7
Excellent. Beds were a bit hard but for the price we enjoyed being within walking distance of the old city and night bazaar. Staff were super helpful and the in hotel restaurant was delicious. Not sure if I misread the hotel listing, but airport transfers were not included in our room rate. I would recommend for any budget traveller, but caution people not to expect the Hilton or any 5 star hotel.
Melle V. Couples Netherlands, December 8, 2014
Good base camp to explore Chiang Mai.

Good location, very clean and nice pool.
7.7
The place was clean, close to the old centre and the pool was a welcome addition since it was pretty hot. The room was cleaned every day and you can book trips in the hotel if you want. The rooms are quite noisy though and the staff wasn't very accomodating. There is a waiter who is a bit sketchy, giving you extra coffee and then makes you pay for it afterwards. But overall we enjoyed our stay here and we can really recommend this place.
Heather H. Solo travelers United States of America, November 26, 2014
Wouldn't stay here again

Location- very close to Old City, pretty decor
6
Pretty decor, but the bed was hard as a rock. They also charge way too much for laundry, and food on the restaurant is also more expensive than just walking outside to a street vendor.
Rohit B. Solo travelers India, November 22, 2014
its a bit expensive compared to others in the sam

service.
6.7
Good. But expensive
Peter F. Solo travelers Switzerland, November 13, 2014
Going downhill fast

location x 3
5
Was not my first time staying there. This time I took Agoda's offer of an upgrade from "standard" to "deluxe". The upgrade was purely in the price only; the room, standard and comfort was worse than last time. I requested a pick-up from the airport which did not happen (sorry, we forgot). The hot water tap could not be adjusted in the shower - changing the room was not an option. A hill tribe (I speak fluently Thai and that fellow did not) tried to explain that the adjustment had to be done prior to lifting the lever to let the water flow. Showering became a challenging sport during these two days. Outside the (non-smoking) room there was a porch for smokers (on the first floor facing the swimming pool). The clay bowl must have had 100+ cigarette buds in the sand when I checked in and nobody dares to clear/clean it during the two days. Shall stay elsewhere next time; despite being cheap and ideally located its not worth the money.
Thomas H. Solo travelers United States of America, November 11, 2014
Best Tourist Hotel in the city.....for your money

Great staff, price and location
10
.....The Lai Thai is in the heart of the city, walking-shopping-chatting to staff in a clean hotel with pool.... makes for a wonderful holiday....I'm staying there again, telling all my friends too!!
Kwok C. Couples United Kingdom, November 8, 2014
Check all your belongings before checking out

location near central but quiet.
4
We did not check all our belongings (inside locked suitcase) before checking out early in the morning on 8-11-2014. While we were waiting for the tour van to pick up in the lobby, the staff checked out our room and should have found the 2 most valuable purses purchased 2 days before. But they did NOT tell us. It was only on the next day when we opened the suitcase and found the loss. We reported immediately to the Chiang Rai tourist police and informed them the only place where the 2 leather purses could have been lost must be in Lai-Thai GH. The lady interpreter of Chiang Rai Tourist Police rang Lai-Thai, but they replied they have had to check for 15 minutes. When returned call 15 minutes later, Lai-Thai claimed they have found the 2 new purses (intact in the paper package), and they alleged that the 2 purses might have been left by us on the day of departure. I wondered if we did NOT go to police, what would have Lai-Thai dealt with the 2 brand new purses? I have to pay for 80 Baht delivery cost for the 2 purses returned to us. Grateful for the Chiang Rai police, but we will skip or just to transit Chiang Mai next time visiting northern Thailand, where a lot more better places to tour about.
Jung H. Solo travelers South Korea, November 2, 2014
Lai-Thai Guesthouse

location
2.7
Very dirty..bugs and no cleaning.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Lai-Thai Guesthouse Chiang MaiLai-Thai Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolLai-Thai Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Guest RoomLai-Thai Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Guest RoomLai-Thai Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Guest RoomLai-Thai Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolLai-Thai Guesthouse Chiang Mai - RestaurantLai-Thai Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Reception


AS-AGWEB-3A05