arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Good 6.8
Based on 459 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 459 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.9
  • Location 7.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.5
  • Service 6.5
  • Value for Money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 6.2

MICHAEL H.
United States
April 21, 2016
4th time staying here
Good location. Nice pool. Friendly staff.

Wong S.
Hong Kong
April 16, 2016
Lai Thai Guest House is terrible
There were cockroaches under the pillow, lizards on the wall and so many mosquitoes around the entire premises. The air conditioning system was not functioning properly. All facilities were in somewhat dilapidated condition. Even worse, the electricity supply was suddenly cut off after half an hour of operation. This is the worst hotel I have ever seen in my life.

Gary Q.
United Kingdom
March 22, 2016
No frills but handy location and a nice little pool
I enjoyed my stay here ... Just needed a base for a few days as I was attending a friend's wedding and this fitted the bill perfectly. Comfy bed, clean sheets, hot water, helpful staff, and a nice little pool area to relax and cool down when needed. I will definitely stay again when next in Chiang Mai.

Marc M.
Germany
March 10, 2016
Very nice place
I really liked this gueshouse. I am not usually stay in hostels or guesthouses but have choosen this place because it is not right in the middle of the buzz but within easy walking distance. Loi Kroh Road (partyzone) is about 5, Taphea Gate (walking street) about 10 minutes away. 7eleven and a pharmacy are also only 3-5 minutes away. I had a deluxe room on the third floor, teak-ish interior, TV, fridge etc. Aircon is a little dated but keep in mind that this isn't the Hilton. The guesthouse offers a all-day retaurant with local as well as international dishes. unfortunately they don't have the local signature dish Khai Soi (curried soup with crispy noodles) on their menu but there are plenty of small restaurants nearby. Only problem can be drunken hotel guests that come home early in the morning - but thats not the guesthouses fault. Will come back to Chiang Maii soon and will stay there again.

Brian M.
United States
March 09, 2016
Good visit
If you want to sun yourself at the pool all day, this would be a perfect choice. Most people would rather take tours or walk the old city. My room light burned out on the first day and was quickly repaired. One thing I didn't like was that when you leave your room, you switch off the power. So you can only charge your cameras and cell phones when you are on the room. My biggest complaint was the guesthouse restaurant. It took forever to get service. I actually had to get up twice to ask for a second cup of coffee. I finally just stopped eating there. A positive is they had a safety deposit box at the front desk where you could really secure your valuables with a second key. Overall, a positive experience.

Luke H.
United States
March 03, 2016
Great staff and location
We were really pleased with our stay and the help the staff gave us with arranging tours (elephants, tiger kingdom, zip lining). We had previously thought the tours would cost more money, but because of their recommendations we chose different ones and saved a bit of money and still had an awesome time. The hotel itself is good. The pool was too cold and it's not the best spot to lounge, but people seemed to enjoy it enough. The location near the old town is great and we usually walked everywhere nearby and didn't need taxis to get around the town. We weren't able to control the power or temperature of the air conditioner and it was actually too cold, but not a huge deal. The room was a bit noisy from the traffic on the street and sometimes other guests, but it didn't bother us so much. Again, really nice staff and we enjoyed our stay. We'd stay here again!

Peter-james E.
Sweden
February 26, 2016
crap breakfast, gross room and terrible service
Shuttle bus to airport
Not so good luckily it's close ish to town so need to deal with tuktuk drivers, and don't need to walk far to escape, gross room, pictures lie (photoshop)

Nam C.
Vietnam
February 18, 2016
Good choice
Good location, reasonable price, good facilities
Room in Thai Lai is very small compared to other hotel with the same price, bed is too small as well

NEIL D.
United Kingdom
February 16, 2016
Impossible to Sleep!
Pool location
Room at front of hotel next to very busy road.Air conditioning so loud cannot use.Worst of room right above restaurant where everybody congregated until 3-4am every night.Drunk Europeans & Chinese so loud impossible to sleep.Stayed one night-never again!

Catarina T.
China
February 15, 2016
Very Good Guesthouse
Very well located, you can easily walk to night bazar, old city and bars road. Has a nice swimming pool with a nice restaurant/bar. and if you want to make tours you have a lot of choices and they prepare everything. In our case, we wanted to see the elephants but not ride them or go to a place where they are mistreated - make sure is realy a sanctuary or a natural park for the elephants or else you will get really sad.