Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 472 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.6
  • Location 7.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.5
  • Service 6.5
  • Value for Money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 6.2

juergen S. from Germany
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
noisy
during my stay there was a buddhist festival just opposite of the street/canal with mega speakers starting at 7 am. not the fault of the hotel but a big nuisance. otherwise good value for money.
Reviewed June 10, 2016

Wen L. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in May 2016
Convenient Guesthouse which is Value-for-money
Lai-Thai is conveniently located at the fringe of the Old City of Chiang Mai, within walking distance to most of the attractions. However, cleanliness and facilities of the guesthouse is only satisfactory and there are many hotels which are able to provide the same or even better.
Reviewed June 04, 2016

David L. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 14 nights in May 2016
I like it here
A/C is a bit tired and noisy. Lai Thai has a quaint feel about it, the whole place is getting on and could do with sprucing up but then it wouldn't be the place I've become used to...
Reviewed May 31, 2016

richard K. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 7 nights in May 2016
Good value for money ,nice pool and friendly staff
I staid here for 7 nights ,its close to most things,rooms a bit dated but clean.Swimming pool very nice which was good as temps hit 41c. Staff friendly and helpful
Reviewed May 14, 2016

MICHAEL H. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016
4th time staying here
Good location. Nice pool. Friendly staff.
Reviewed April 21, 2016

Wong S. from Hong Kong
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016
Lai Thai Guest House is terrible
There were cockroaches under the pillow, lizards on the wall and so many mosquitoes around the entire premises. The air conditioning system was not functioning properly. All facilities were in somewhat dilapidated condition. Even worse, the electricity supply was suddenly cut off after half an hour of operation. This is the worst hotel I have ever seen in my life.
Reviewed April 16, 2016

Gary Q. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in March 2016
No frills but handy location and a nice little pool
I enjoyed my stay here ... Just needed a base for a few days as I was attending a friend's wedding and this fitted the bill perfectly. Comfy bed, clean sheets, hot water, helpful staff, and a nice little pool area to relax and cool down when needed. I will definitely stay again when next in Chiang Mai.
Reviewed March 22, 2016

Marc M. from Germany
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
Very nice place
I really liked this gueshouse. I am not usually stay in hostels or guesthouses but have choosen this place because it is not right in the middle of the buzz but within easy walking distance. Loi Kroh Road (partyzone) is about 5, Taphea Gate (walking street) about 10 minutes away. 7eleven and a pharmacy are also only 3-5 minutes away. I had a deluxe room on the third floor, teak-ish interior, TV, fridge etc. Aircon is a little dated but keep in mind that this isn't the Hilton. The guesthouse offers a all-day retaurant with local as well as international dishes. unfortunately they don't have the local signature dish Khai Soi (curried soup with crispy noodles) on their menu but there are plenty of small restaurants nearby. Only problem can be drunken hotel guests that come home early in the morning - but thats not the guesthouses fault. Will come back to Chiang Maii soon and will stay there again.
Reviewed March 10, 2016

Brian M. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in March 2016
Good visit
If you want to sun yourself at the pool all day, this would be a perfect choice. Most people would rather take tours or walk the old city. My room light burned out on the first day and was quickly repaired. One thing I didn't like was that when you leave your room, you switch off the power. So you can only charge your cameras and cell phones when you are on the room. My biggest complaint was the guesthouse restaurant. It took forever to get service. I actually had to get up twice to ask for a second cup of coffee. I finally just stopped eating there. A positive is they had a safety deposit box at the front desk where you could really secure your valuables with a second key. Overall, a positive experience.
Reviewed March 09, 2016

Luke H. from United States
Couples
Stayed 6 nights in February 2016
Great staff and location
We were really pleased with our stay and the help the staff gave us with arranging tours (elephants, tiger kingdom, zip lining). We had previously thought the tours would cost more money, but because of their recommendations we chose different ones and saved a bit of money and still had an awesome time. The hotel itself is good. The pool was too cold and it's not the best spot to lounge, but people seemed to enjoy it enough. The location near the old town is great and we usually walked everywhere nearby and didn't need taxis to get around the town. We weren't able to control the power or temperature of the air conditioner and it was actually too cold, but not a huge deal. The room was a bit noisy from the traffic on the street and sometimes other guests, but it didn't bother us so much. Again, really nice staff and we enjoyed our stay. We'd stay here again!
Reviewed March 03, 2016