Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 20 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 10.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.8
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 8.6

jeanne B. from South Africa
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Absolutely stunning, staff were excellent
The attitude of the staff, nothing was to small or to big to do for us. We had my son's 21st birthday function there for 70 people and Lanzarac contribute to the hugh success of the function
Can highly recommend this hotel. Was such a pleasure staying there with my family. The staff were extremely helpfull and their mannerism was very professional. Thank you for making my son's 21st function such a special occasion.
Reviewed August 08, 2012

Dr H. from South Africa
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in May 2012
peaceful, lovely and excellent service, nice room
food, service and great location
we enjoyed every minute of our stay would def visit again
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Suzanne D. from Ireland
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2012
Excellent Hotel & Location
Spacious luxury rooms
really enjoyed hotel, location excellent, minutes from stellenbosch. bedrooms spacious and well equipped. fantastic spa with great therapists, i had the best sweedish massage ever!
Reviewed February 01, 2012

Elizabeth S. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in December 2011
Amazing hotel, very much an old colonial feel
A hotel that is close enough to town for sightseeing but secluded enough to chill out.
the restaurant food is amazing and very reasonably priced. hotel staff attentive, rooms are great, but plumbing noisy.
Reviewed January 03, 2012

Andries B. from South Africa
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2011
Wonderful Get Away
Location outside town in a quiet genteel neighbourhood.
We arrived early and were served coffee in the lounge whilst we waited for our room to be prepared. The room was ready within half an hour. The reception staff could speak Afrikaans and were very friendly and helpful. So were the waitress serving our coffee and later our lunch at the Taphuis. All of the staff were very friendly. Our room was large and opened out to a patio. In front of the patio was a lawn but no garden. There was also a large and well-equipped bathroom, with a large bath and spacious shower cubicle. The bed was firm and comfortable. The only drawback was the poor lighting in the room. We requested additional table lamps which were provided but did not improve matters much. The breakfast was extensive and excellent. For dinner one of us had pork belly, which was delicious, but the portion was small and the side dish of vegetables was meagre. A glass of Lanzerac's own Merlot cost R65 (the bottle was sold for R90 at the wine-tasting cellar). R65 for a glass of wine is excessive by South African standards. The hotel's grounds are beautiful and large. But needed greater attention to the design of the individual beds. There is no sign of an awareness of an awareness of indigenous gardening. We enjoyed early morning and late afternoon walks on the wine farm in which the hotel was located. The mountain scenery was good for the soul.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Laurence D. from France
Groups
Stayed one night in April 2014
le bonheur tranquille d'un endroit magnifique
paysages et lumière féeriques, vin excellent, vieux batiments pleins de charme et de beauté
Séjour bref mais très agréable Nous reviendrons avec plaisir
Reviewed April 06, 2014

Jeannette H. from Germany
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015
Entspannte Atmosphäre mit Flair
Winery, Bar, Service
Das weitläufige gepflegte Gelände lädt zum Relaxen ein. Der vSrrvci9e i9st super, der Roomservice in Verbindung mit den Speisen ebenfalls Top. Lediglich das Frühstück war ok, aber nicht 5 Sterne mit Dosenobst etc. Die Einrichtungen im Bad könnte überholt werden. Insgesamt empfehlenswert.
Reviewed October 14, 2015

friederike J. from Germany
Couples
Stayed one night in November 2011
Historisches Hotel mit Renovierungsbedarf!
Schöner Ausblick auf die Berge
wir hatten lanzerac hotel & spa gewählt, um uns an einem regnerischen tag im hotel spa zu vergnügen und die annehmlichkeiten des hotels zu genießen. bei ankunft wurde uns mitgeteilt, dass der hotel-spa-bereich nur bis 13.00 uhr (man merke an: das hotel heißt "lanzerac hotel & spa"!) geöffnet hat. die zimmer waren alt und der teppich sah sehr abgenutzt aus. auch die weinführung war nach 15.00 uhr nicht mehr möglich. uns blieb daher nur ein spaziergang über das grundstück. wenigstens war das zimmer groß, hatte kabelfernsehen und das frühstück war ausgezeichnet.
Reviewed December 05, 2011

maria F. from Netherlands
Couples
Stayed one night in February 2012
Mooie locatie, middelmatige service
schitterende plek vol rust en ruimte
mooi zwembad, goede kamers. middelmatige service overal: domme receptie, restaurant heeft bordje dat open van 11 tot 11 maar elke keer was er wel wat: zondagsbrunch dus pas om 12 uur starten (?brunch?), alleen maar service in de lounge maar niet op terras etc. keuken ook middelmatig, op de kaart lijken de gerechten leuk maar het smaakt allemaal nergens naar. personeel herkent je ook na paar dagen nog steeds niet als gast. leuke spa maar ook daar plots dicht terwijl open zou moeten zijn en geen open plekken gereserveerd voor hotelgasten dus vol als je in weekend a la minute iets wilt. wel qua ligging perfect: 45 minuten wandelen naar het dorp, waar wel goede restaurants zijn.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Ebba N. from Sweden
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
Fantasriskt fr början till slut!!!
Maten, miljön, läget
Njutning för alla sinnen! Trevlig personal. Fin vinkällare. God vin och choklad provning. Vacker miljö. Gourmet mat. Fint spa. Fina miljöer. Gott vin. Allt var toppen! Prisvärt!! Både jag och min pojkvän älskade det!
Reviewed December 31, 2013