Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Lodge In The City

152 Taranaki Street, Te Aro, Wellington Central, Wellington, New Zealand 6011 (Show on map)

Book now!

Lodge In The City Wellington - Exterior Lodge In The City Wellington - Surroundings Lodge In The City Wellington - Lobby Lodge In The City Wellington - Kitchen Lodge In The City Wellington - Kitchen Lodge In The City Wellington - Exterior Lodge In The City Wellington - Lobby Lodge In The City Wellington - Bathroom Lodge In The City Wellington - Map Lodge In The City Wellington - Lobby
Area: Wellington Central Number of Rooms: 92

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type


Above average


from 50 reviews

Value for Money
Staff Performance
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
Room Comfort/Standard
All reviews (50)
Sort by:
Milly H. Groups New Zealand, October 5, 2015

Proximity to events, cost, staff helpfulness
Any requests we had were calmly and efficiently dealt with. You no the saying don't judge a book by its cover that's Lodge in the City. Worn and weathered cosy comfortable accommodating quirky welcoming when you entered it. will definitely come back.
Report this review
Naoko C. Families with young children Japan, July 17, 2015
do not choose if you expect cleanliness

dirty small convenient
it was not clean especially the kitchen and dining area it was disgusting.
Report this review
Nelson E. Solo travelers Brazil, June 26, 2015
Not very good

The price, but for 5 bucks more you get way better hostel
Not good, the bed is terrible and the ground floor room is very noisy.
Report this review
Jesantha K. Couples Malaysia, June 10, 2015
value for money!

friendly staff
up to satisfaction
Report this review
Franziska K. Couples Germany, June 8, 2015

the position of the hostel. And It's possible to store luggage.
It was so Dirty- especially the kitchen and the bathrooms. Many showers were out of order and there were old Hair lying on the Floor. Dirtiest Hostel in new zealand i stayed in.😞
Report this review
Sam P. Couples United Kingdom, April 2, 2015
Worst stay so far
Really poor, we arrived late and were only able to get in as there were some guys hanging around outside. The entrance really doesn't look very inviting. Receptionist was not at the reception when we arrived, we had to go searching for him in the kitchen/living room. When we eventually checked in they had us booked in for a twin bunk room not the double we paid for, did not offer any discount. Twin room was cheaper than the double. When we got to the room the beds had been slept in and the room had not been cleaned. We asked for the room to be changed which they did, the sheets were clean but the mattress was essentially springs with a thin cover. One of the main light fittings had been removed leaving a hole through to the main corridor. The curtains didn't shut properly as one half had been ripped off the rail. The bathrooms on our floor didn't have working showers so I had to go up two floors to the nearest shower which was at least hot. My GF used the female only showers which were not clean and of the two showers only one had a lockable door. Overall not a great experience, we checked out as soon as we could the next morning.
Report this review
Faisal E. Solo travelers Pakistan, March 12, 2015
nice hotel best location value of money

location value of money
its good location value of money clean hotel staff is nice
Report this review
Chris B. Solo travelers New Zealand, February 22, 2015

cost location
Right on top of traffic and people till all hours on the path - very noisy all night.
Report this review
Yee V. Couples Malaysia, January 15, 2015
Lack of maintenance

Location, that's all
We were so disappointed with the said parking space which it's required advance booking but we were not informed at all. The parking lot is not free but still cheap compare to other parking nearby but this should be listed on the hotel description to set the correct expectation. Moreover, the bathroom light was spoilt but nothing to be done on my two days stay over there. Not a terrible place but if you are looking for tidy quality this shouldn't be your option.
Report this review
Boonyarit S. Groups Thailand, January 6, 2015
Bad choice

Good location and easy to find.
The room is bad odour and the bunk beds for 4 people are too small space to climb ipon the top. The bartroom is not enough for people, poor sanitary, dirty.
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Lodge In The City WellingtonLodge In The City Wellington - ExteriorLodge In The City Wellington - SurroundingsLodge In The City Wellington - LobbyLodge In The City Wellington - KitchenLodge In The City Wellington - KitchenLodge In The City Wellington - ExteriorLodge In The City Wellington - LobbyLodge In The City Wellington - BathroomLodge In The City Wellington - MapLodge In The City Wellington - Lobby