Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Lodge In The City

152 Taranaki Street, Te Aro, Wellington Central, Wellington, New Zealand 6011 (Show on map)

Book now!

Lodge In The City Wellington - Exterior Lodge In The City Wellington - Surroundings Lodge In The City Wellington - Lobby Lodge In The City Wellington - Kitchen Lodge In The City Wellington - Kitchen Lodge In The City Wellington - Exterior Lodge In The City Wellington - Lobby Lodge In The City Wellington - Bathroom Lodge In The City Wellington - Map Lodge In The City Wellington - Lobby
Area: Wellington Central Number of Rooms: 92

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Above average

5.5

based on
53 reviews

42 reviews in English

Value for Money
6.0
Location
7.7
Staff Performance
5.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
4.0
Room Comfort/Standard
5.3
Food/Dining
4.7
All reviews (53)
Sort by:
Amy D. Solo travelers New Zealand, December 13, 2015
It's a shame the bathroom area was so gross

Cheap, location
6.3
It was ok but wouldn't race about it, you get what you pay for
Report this review
Shen G. Couples Singapore, November 24, 2015
Poorly maintained hostel

Price
3
We chose this hostel thinking we'd get free parking but it wasn't the case. Apparently it is paid and there are very limited slot. We'd to park on the street. In general the hostel was filthy (even at the reception!). Carpet looked very aged/dirty. One of the men's bathroom shower stall was used as a rubbish dump - it shows how much the management cared about cleanliness! The room we stayed in was quite spartan and no noise insulation from the street, good thing we packed ear plugs. This hostel has a LOT to learn from the other hostel chains.
Report this review
Peter D. Solo travelers Netherlands, November 21, 2015
Not as bad as reviews made me believe

Quiet, Comfortable, Cheap
6.3
After booking the hostel I started reading some reviews which made me fear the worst, but once arrived it wasn't all so bad, it is a decent hostel for a decent price. It was quiet and the bed was quite comfortable so for 19$ this was a good night.
Report this review
Milly H. Groups New Zealand, October 5, 2015
Tumeke

Proximity to events, cost, staff helpfulness
9.3
Any requests we had were calmly and efficiently dealt with. You no the saying don't judge a book by its cover that's Lodge in the City. Worn and weathered cosy comfortable accommodating quirky welcoming when you entered it. will definitely come back.
Report this review
Naoko C. Families with young children Japan, July 17, 2015
do not choose if you expect cleanliness

dirty small convenient
3.7
it was not clean especially the kitchen and dining area it was disgusting.
Report this review
Nelson E. Solo travelers Brazil, June 26, 2015
Not very good

The price, but for 5 bucks more you get way better hostel
4.7
Not good, the bed is terrible and the ground floor room is very noisy.
Report this review
Jesantha K. Couples Malaysia, June 10, 2015
value for money!

friendly staff
8
up to satisfaction
Report this review
Franziska K. Couples Germany, June 8, 2015
Dirty

the position of the hostel. And It's possible to store luggage.
4
It was so Dirty- especially the kitchen and the bathrooms. Many showers were out of order and there were old Hair lying on the Floor. Dirtiest Hostel in new zealand i stayed in.😞
Report this review
Sam P. Couples United Kingdom, April 2, 2015
Worst stay so far
3.7
Really poor, we arrived late and were only able to get in as there were some guys hanging around outside. The entrance really doesn't look very inviting. Receptionist was not at the reception when we arrived, we had to go searching for him in the kitchen/living room. When we eventually checked in they had us booked in for a twin bunk room not the double we paid for, did not offer any discount. Twin room was cheaper than the double. When we got to the room the beds had been slept in and the room had not been cleaned. We asked for the room to be changed which they did, the sheets were clean but the mattress was essentially springs with a thin cover. One of the main light fittings had been removed leaving a hole through to the main corridor. The curtains didn't shut properly as one half had been ripped off the rail. The bathrooms on our floor didn't have working showers so I had to go up two floors to the nearest shower which was at least hot. My GF used the female only showers which were not clean and of the two showers only one had a lockable door. Overall not a great experience, we checked out as soon as we could the next morning.
Report this review
Faisal E. Solo travelers Pakistan, March 12, 2015
nice hotel best location value of money

location value of money
7
its good location value of money clean hotel staff is nice
Report this review
1 - 10 of 42 reviews Next page
 

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Lodge In The City WellingtonLodge In The City Wellington - ExteriorLodge In The City Wellington - SurroundingsLodge In The City Wellington - LobbyLodge In The City Wellington - KitchenLodge In The City Wellington - KitchenLodge In The City Wellington - ExteriorLodge In The City Wellington - LobbyLodge In The City Wellington - BathroomLodge In The City Wellington - MapLodge In The City Wellington - Lobby


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C07