Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Lodge In The City

152 Taranaki Street, Te Aro, Wellington Central, Wellington, New Zealand 6011

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Above average

5.5

based on 60 reviews

47 reviews in English

Value for Money
5.9
Location
7.7
Staff Performance
5.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
3.9
Room Comfort/Standard
5.2
Food/Dining
4.6
All reviews (60)
Sort by:
Tim A. Couples New Zealand, May 28, 2016
Very basic and unclean, get what you pay for
3.3
The room was clean and comfortable, but the window latch was broken so could not completely close. The staff were friendly. The bathroom on the 1st floor was appauling. The smell was foul and it was extremely badly maintained. We went to the 3rd floor for a more usable and clean bathroom, however it was still badly maintained and mouldy. The hotel was generally poorly maintained and I'd spend just a little more to stay elsewhere.
Report this review
Thao L. Solo travelers Vietnam, April 26, 2016
Staff is nice and friendly.
4.7
Big hostel with several rooms. Staff nice and friendly. They will try to help you with their bests
Report this review
Ju L. Solo travelers Malaysia, April 22, 2016
Cheap and good
4.3
Well it's cheap and in a good location. A bit crowded in the kitchen especially during dinnertime.
Report this review
Hong P. Solo travelers Malaysia, March 16, 2016
Bad facility
4
Washing mechine just only had 1 and the dryer mechine dry after 2 hours+ but clothes still wet! Terrible.
Report this review
Rick H. Couples Netherlands, February 9, 2016
Room not clean when arrived

Location budget
3.3
Room was not clean when arrived and shared accomodation very dirty as well.
Report this review
Amy D. Solo travelers New Zealand, December 13, 2015
It's a shame the bathroom area was so gross

Cheap, location
6.3
It was ok but wouldn't race about it, you get what you pay for
Report this review
Shen G. Couples Singapore, November 24, 2015
Poorly maintained hostel

Price
3
We chose this hostel thinking we'd get free parking but it wasn't the case. Apparently it is paid and there are very limited slot. We'd to park on the street. In general the hostel was filthy (even at the reception!). Carpet looked very aged/dirty. One of the men's bathroom shower stall was used as a rubbish dump - it shows how much the management cared about cleanliness! The room we stayed in was quite spartan and no noise insulation from the street, good thing we packed ear plugs. This hostel has a LOT to learn from the other hostel chains.
Report this review
Peter D. Solo travelers Netherlands, November 21, 2015
Not as bad as reviews made me believe

Quiet, Comfortable, Cheap
6.3
After booking the hostel I started reading some reviews which made me fear the worst, but once arrived it wasn't all so bad, it is a decent hostel for a decent price. It was quiet and the bed was quite comfortable so for 19$ this was a good night.
Report this review
Milly H. Groups New Zealand, October 5, 2015
Tumeke

Proximity to events, cost, staff helpfulness
9.3
Any requests we had were calmly and efficiently dealt with. You no the saying don't judge a book by its cover that's Lodge in the City. Worn and weathered cosy comfortable accommodating quirky welcoming when you entered it. will definitely come back.
Report this review
Naoko C. Families with young children Japan, July 17, 2015
do not choose if you expect cleanliness

dirty small convenient
3.7
it was not clean especially the kitchen and dining area it was disgusting.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 47 reviews Next page
Lodge In The City WellingtonLodge In The City Wellington - ExteriorLodge In The City Wellington - SurroundingsLodge In The City Wellington - LobbyLodge In The City Wellington - KitchenLodge In The City Wellington - KitchenLodge In The City Wellington - ExteriorLodge In The City Wellington - LobbyLodge In The City Wellington - BathroomLodge In The City Wellington - MapLodge In The City Wellington - Lobby


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C01