My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Lodge In The City

152 Taranaki Street, Te Aro, Wellington Central, Wellington, New Zealand 6011 (Show on map)

Book now!

Lodge In The City Wellington - Guest Room Lodge In The City Wellington - Coffee Shop/Cafe Lodge In The City Wellington - Interior Lodge In The City Wellington - Guest Room Lodge In The City Wellington - Business Center Lodge In The City Wellington - Recreational Facilities Lodge In The City Wellington - Reception Lodge In The City Wellington - Exterior Lodge In The City Wellington - Business Center Lodge In The City Wellington - Exterior Lodge In The City Wellington - Guest Room Lodge In The City Wellington - Surroundings Lodge In The City Wellington - Surroundings Lodge In The City Wellington - View Lodge In The City Wellington - 4 Bed Dorm Lodge In The City Wellington - Facilities
Lodge In The City Wellington - Guest Room Lodge In The City Wellington - Guest Room Lodge In The City Wellington - Guest Room
Area: Wellington Central Number of Rooms: 92

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Above average

5.8

based on
32 reviews

Value for Money
6.2
Location
7.8
Staff Performance
5.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
4.2
Room Comfort/Standard
6.0
Food/Dining
4.9
All reviews (32)
Sort by:
Gary H. Groups Australia, July 7, 2014
Overcrowded, very dirty, lack of amenities, noisy!

Comfy mattress, hot shower, leaving!
4
Friendly receptionist, excited to have our own private room with brick walls for a good night's sleep... but that didn't help. We were kept awake by loud music, fighting, rude noisy geusts and slamming doors til 4:30 in the morning. I suggest sleeping during the day when they do. Kitchen was filthy and overcrowded. Only 1 kitchen for 93 rooms. The fridges had no room left and had rotten food stench and liquid festing on the bottom. This place has great potential but should almost be condemned
Annalie D. Solo travelers South Africa, June 5, 2014
Cheap, close to where I wanted to be

Affordable
7.7
Not what I've expected. Load talking and partying in the court yard till after 1am in the morning even though it stated that the court yard must be clear and quiet after 10pm. Very bad and course language used in court yard. Didn't feel save some nights. Men using the woman's only bathroom. Room nice and tidy, heating well in room, clean linen supplied. Staff friendly. Found it difficult to carry up my large suit case up the stairs due to lift that was out of order for a few days
Haylee G. Couples New Zealand, May 8, 2014
Not what we expected, but for what we paid was ok

it was close to the city, were allowed to come and go as please, mirrors
6
Max A. Solo travelers New Zealand, February 20, 2014
Simple/Basic

Reasonable cost
5.7
Was adequate for purpose. However room description was totally misleading. In "Room Features:" was supposed to be "television, shower, microwave, kitchenette, coffee/tea maker, refrigerator". There was NONE of these in room.In room was a light bulb, a skinny shelf, a clothes chest, a window and a mirror - that's it ! Bed config'n was a double with 3rd bed as a upstairs bunk. Lucky there were only 2 of us as would have been awkward expecting 3 single beds.
Brad P. Couples United Kingdom, February 5, 2014
Bad stay in Wellington

Centrally located, close to restaurants.
2.7
We were expecting a lot more out of a hostel in the capital of New Zealand and we were very disappointed. Arrived to the hostel lobby which was ok, check in took ages, no parking available for that night which meant we had to pay to park elsewhere. Got to our room - smashed window, small room. The corridors smelt of smoke which lead into our room. Bathrooms - filthy, no toilet roll on many occasions. Highly recommend avoiding this place.
Anna S. Families with young children Sweden, November 29, 2013
Dirty kitchen

Location, price
4.7
The room and the toilets were OK but the kitchen was very dirty, the worst kitchen we saw under our 10 weeks long journey.
Hock K. Solo travelers Malaysia, September 8, 2013
Dirty, small and a bit run down

Location and price
6
Gillian L. Solo travelers Singapore, July 8, 2013
Will not recommend the lodge to anyone

Will not recommend the lodge to anyone
3.3
Lousy experience and definitely will not recommend the place to anyone, not even for one night
Magalie B. Groups France, July 5, 2013
A very clean and comfortable Hostel

The staff is wonderful, hostel in the heart of the city, bars & shops nearby
7.7
very comfortable stay in this hostel.
Zamri I. Families with older children Malaysia, June 3, 2013
not siutable for family stay

centrally located, wi-fi, friendly staff
6.3

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Lodge In The City WellingtonLodge In The City Wellington - Guest RoomLodge In The City Wellington - Coffee Shop/CafeLodge In The City Wellington - InteriorLodge In The City Wellington - Guest RoomLodge In The City Wellington - Business CenterLodge In The City Wellington - Recreational FacilitiesLodge In The City Wellington - ReceptionLodge In The City Wellington - ExteriorLodge In The City Wellington - Business CenterLodge In The City Wellington - ExteriorLodge In The City Wellington - Guest RoomLodge In The City Wellington - SurroundingsLodge In The City Wellington - SurroundingsLodge In The City Wellington - ViewLodge In The City Wellington - 4 Bed DormLodge In The City Wellington - FacilitiesLodge In The City Wellington - Guest RoomLodge In The City Wellington - Guest RoomLodge In The City Wellington - Guest Room


AS-AGWEB-3B05