Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Above average



based on 66 reviews
  • Cleanliness 3.9
  • Facilities 3.8
  • Location 7.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 5.2
  • Service 5.3
  • Value for money 5.9
  • Food/Dining 4.6
Sort by

Peter G.
Netherlands
November 24, 2015
Not as bad as reviews made me believe
Quiet, Comfortable, Cheap
After booking the hostel I started reading some reviews which made me fear the worst, but once arrived it wasn't all so bad, it is a decent hostel for a decent price. It was quiet and the bed was quite comfortable so for 19$ this was a good night.

milly H.
New Zealand
October 07, 2015
Tumeke
Proximity to events, cost, staff helpfulness
Any requests we had were calmly and efficiently dealt with. You no the saying don't judge a book by its cover that's Lodge in the City. Worn and weathered cosy comfortable accommodating quirky welcoming when you entered it. will definitely come back.

NAOKO C.
Japan
July 19, 2015
do not choose if you expect cleanliness
dirty small convenient
it was not clean especially the kitchen and dining area it was disgusting.

Nelson E.
Brazil
June 28, 2015
Not very good
The price, but for 5 bucks more you get way better hostel
Not good, the bed is terrible and the ground floor room is very noisy.

jesantha K.
Malaysia
June 14, 2015
value for money!
friendly staff
up to satisfaction

Franziska K.
Germany
June 10, 2015
Dirty
the position of the hostel. And It's possible to store luggage.
It was so Dirty- especially the kitchen and the bathrooms. Many showers were out of order and there were old Hair lying on the Floor. Dirtiest Hostel in new zealand i stayed in.😞

Sam P.
United Kingdom
April 03, 2015
Worst stay so far
Really poor, we arrived late and were only able to get in as there were some guys hanging around outside. The entrance really doesn't look very inviting. Receptionist was not at the reception when we arrived, we had to go searching for him in the kitchen/living room. When we eventually checked in they had us booked in for a twin bunk room not the double we paid for, did not offer any discount. Twin room was cheaper than the double. When we got to the room the beds had been slept in and the room had not been cleaned. We asked for the room to be changed which they did, the sheets were clean but the mattress was essentially springs with a thin cover. One of the main light fittings had been removed leaving a hole through to the main corridor. The curtains didn't shut properly as one half had been ripped off the rail. The bathrooms on our floor didn't have working showers so I had to go up two floors to the nearest shower which was at least hot. My GF used the female only showers which were not clean and of the two showers only one had a lockable door. Overall not a great experience, we checked out as soon as we could the next morning.

Faisal E.
Pakistan
March 14, 2015
nice hotel best location value of money
location value of money
its good location value of money clean hotel staff is nice

Chris B.
New Zealand
February 26, 2015
lodge
cost location
Right on top of traffic and people till all hours on the path - very noisy all night.

yee H.
Malaysia
January 19, 2015
Lack of maintenance
Location, that's all
We were so disappointed with the said parking space which it's required advance booking but we were not informed at all. The parking lot is not free but still cheap compare to other parking nearby but this should be listed on the hotel description to set the correct expectation. Moreover, the bathroom light was spoilt but nothing to be done on my two days stay over there. Not a terrible place but if you are looking for tidy quality this shouldn't be your option.