My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

M1 Hotel

28 Portland Street, Yau Ma Tei, Hong Kong (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : M Hotel

M1 Hotel Hong Kong - Entrance M1 Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby M1 Hotel Hong Kong - Computer Room M1 Hotel Hong Kong - Interior M1 Hotel Hong Kong - Restaurant M1 Hotel Hong Kong - Restaurant M1 Hotel Hong Kong - Standard M1 Hotel Hong Kong - Standard Twin M1 Hotel Hong Kong - Deluxe M1 Hotel Hong Kong - Deluxe M1 Hotel Hong Kong - Deluxe M1 Hotel Hong Kong - Deluxe M1 Hotel Hong Kong - Deluxe M1 Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room M1 Hotel Hong Kong - Executive M1 Hotel Hong Kong - Executive
M1 Hotel Hong Kong - Executive
Area: Yau Ma Tei Number of Rooms: 93
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.2

based on
2796 reviews

Value for Money
6.8
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
6.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.6
Room Comfort/Standard
7.1
Food/Dining
6.3
All reviews (2796)
Sort by:
Choong M. Families with young children Malaysia, March 6, 2012
Location,

location, near mtr, near shopping, a lot of good food around. people in the hotel is very helpful
8
the room is small, but it has everything that you need. the hotel people, they are friendly. ask the cook where to have local good hk food. he knows best. ask the around for the morning market, is about 10min walk. you will enjoy it.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Go to the morning market, is about 5 blocks down where you stay.
Joy T. Couples Singapore, February 29, 2012
Not suitable for families

It is just behide the MTR
3.3
Very very bad experience with the Hotel. Rooms are very very small even that i had upgraded to deluxe. Only has 30 cm walking space around the bed. Beds are real hard and uncomfortable, having bad pain every morning. Pillows are far too flat. Toilet is miserable, you have to cross the shower area to get to the toilet bowl. Staff was super rude and unfriendly! Every morning, you can hear people outside the room, talking, the sound of the lift. Breakfast was crap. Any cafe along the street taste far better. I will never, ever stay in this hotel again even for the convenience of the location.
Chin J. Couples Malaysia, February 27, 2012
Worth for the Money!

good location for shopping
8.7
Great location as just beside the MTR, near to Temple Street & Wong Kok too!just that the room is small..cannot fit in if big size..
Jen X. Couples Malaysia, February 25, 2012
Fantastic location but the rooms are tiny!

very near the yau ma tei mtr station
8
we had complimentary breakfast for the room we booked. while the food was not fantastic, the staff were very helpful. the food tasted like home made food and it does make the stay feel more homely. the room was tiny! the photos do exaggerate the size of the room. however, since we were out most of the day and only went back to the hotel room to rest, i feel that it is adequate. my only gripe is the lack of space to open up our luggage. we were lucky to have only a medium and a small luggage bags. if we had a bigger bag we would either have to open it up on the bed or in the corridor! you can purchase tickets to disneyland, ocean park and other attractions from the front desk. you get a small discount and you get to skip having to queue at the attraction.
Shopping Tip: Temple Street Market is just a couple blocks away. Don't be fooled by the maps. The market is a long stretch of stalls and it ends very near the hotel!
Yuen P. Solo travelers Malaysia, February 23, 2012
Lovely hotel

Good location
8
a nice hotel with a good location which is near th mtr station. u will be able to find nice rrestaurants. it is also near shopping complex.
Law T. Solo travelers Hong Kong, February 23, 2012
Convenient location in the middle of Kowloon

Close to real daily Hong Kong livelihood
7.7
Hotel is popular among tourists from Mainland China. You can have easy access to public transport taking you to Mongkok and Tsimshatsui for shopping and nice food. At night, you should visit the Temple Street just round the street corner from the hotel - but since the Temple Street is segmented by a park, make sure you know the other, longer section of it. Temple Street used to be famous in the 1980's for cheap availability of streetwalkers along its course - these are no longer to be seen, though tourists can expect to see street stalls selling blue magazines and imitation goods instead.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: It is easy to travel to Tsimshatsui from the hotel. Just take any southbound bus which travels along Nathan Road - and you will get to Tsimshatsui in 10 minutes to the harbour front. The scenes there by night are marvellous.
Tee P. Business travelers Malaysia, February 22, 2012
great location but small room

very convienice
5.3
the m1 hotel is so close in kowloon, i liked it. the rooms as noted by many are smal, so for long stay, it may not be suitable, but for the single traveller for eventhough, the room is very small but it is acceptable for its price and location. there are restaurants around, and also shopping in temple street.one night or two it is ideal.
Nightlife Tip: night market,many shopping street
Kim J. Business travelers Singapore, February 21, 2012
Location good but room too small

only Cons no pros
4
Room too small. Not even a place to place the luggage. IF I know it is so small
Meng T. Couples Malaysia, February 20, 2012
Good location but otherwise thumbs-down

Good location which is near You Ma Tei MTR, but in a back alley from the main road
3.7
M1 Hotel is suitable for travellers with low budget and who does not need to stay in the room often, hard partying types etc. We just happened to spend way too much there per nigth compared to what we find in other hotels. The best and only good part is the location which is near You Ma Tei MTR but located in sort of like "back alley" where it is just beside a coffin-selling shop and ash urns shop. Kinda spooky when you walk back to the hotel at night, since both ways you will have to passby such shops. The standard room size consists basically of a bed and TV in front. Otherwise, the "cupboard" is a non-existent small hook on the wall, with 3 hangers at the most, not suitable for cold weather where you have to hang heavy jackets/jeans. The toilet is a small cubicle with slippery floors and the anti-slippery mats are of no use, since it does not stick onto the floor and you must be careful when using the bathroom, do not end up like me, with a bruise the size of a palm on your knee. Be careful with your toiletries too, if like me, you bring your own. Coz my toiletries were missing after room clean-up and the front desk told me that the cleaners threw them away like rubbish, never mind that they were all nicely put away at the side of the basin. SInce all our luggages are still in the room unpacked, there is no way the cleaners does not know that we are staying for another 2 nights right? All in all, only suitable non-chalant travellers who travels light and stays away most of the time. Not suitable for family or ladies who enjoy privacy. Another thing, forget about having breakfast there if it costs extra. A simple breakfast nearby the shops are better way to spend your money and appetite.
Restaurant Tip: There is a desserts shop at the side called gui hua tian selling nice ice-cream desserts with alcohol. Good presentation and variety. Lots of locals can be seen nightly til very late.
Joyce N. Couples New Zealand, February 20, 2012
Great location but small rooms

Location, service, cleanliness
8.7
i had a very pleasant stay at the hotel, the location was superb, right at the start of temple street. plenty of eating joints. the breakfast was nice, as good as or better than eating at a cafe. very clean, service was friendly and efficient. the rooms were small but adequate, equipped with everything a weary traveller needs. the hot water was a bit erratic, changing from hot, then cold, then hot again continuously. but it was not too bad overall. the surrounding areas were quite run down but the hotel was in good condition. close to mtr and night markets. i would definitely stay there again.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: I enjoyed the day and night markets. Day market has cheap fruits, good variety. Night market has interesting items and yummy seafood. Close to Jade market. Close to places that sell dried seafood (for those who are interested). Near Wing On plaza for affordable household items.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

M1 Hotel Hong KongM1 Hotel Hong Kong - EntranceM1 Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyM1 Hotel Hong Kong - Computer RoomM1 Hotel Hong Kong - InteriorM1 Hotel Hong Kong - RestaurantM1 Hotel Hong Kong - RestaurantM1 Hotel Hong Kong - StandardM1 Hotel Hong Kong - Standard TwinM1 Hotel Hong Kong - DeluxeM1 Hotel Hong Kong - DeluxeM1 Hotel Hong Kong - DeluxeM1 Hotel Hong Kong - DeluxeM1 Hotel Hong Kong - DeluxeM1 Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomM1 Hotel Hong Kong - ExecutiveM1 Hotel Hong Kong - ExecutiveM1 Hotel Hong Kong - Executive

Customer Reviews - M1 Hotel, Hong Kong

AS-AGWEB-3B06