My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Mad House

39c Street 454 Toul Tompoung Russian Market, Toul Tompoung, Phnom Penh, Cambodia (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : The Local Guesthouse

Mad House Phnom Penh - Superior Room Mad House Phnom Penh - Balcony/Terrace Mad House Phnom Penh - Superior Room Mad House Phnom Penh - 1 Bedroom Superior Mad House Phnom Penh - 4 Bed Dorm Mad House Phnom Penh - 1 Bedroom Standard Mad House Phnom Penh - Superior Room Mad House Phnom Penh - 1 Bedroom Deluxe Mad House Phnom Penh - 1 Bedroom Superior Mad House Phnom Penh - Guest Room Mad House Phnom Penh - Exterior Mad House Phnom Penh - Restaurant Mad House Phnom Penh - Guest Room Mad House Phnom Penh - Guest Room Mad House Phnom Penh - Guest Room Mad House Phnom Penh - Interior
Mad House Phnom Penh - Surroundings Mad House Phnom Penh - Surroundings Mad House Phnom Penh - Surroundings Mad House Phnom Penh - Surroundings Mad House Phnom Penh - Suite Room Mad House Phnom Penh - Recreational Facilities Mad House Phnom Penh - Guest Room Mad House Phnom Penh - Bathroom Mad House Phnom Penh - Guest Room Mad House Phnom Penh - Guest Room Mad House Phnom Penh - Balcony/Terrace Mad House Phnom Penh - 1 Bedroom Superior
Area: Toul Tompoung Number of Rooms: 7

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.3

based on
40 reviews

Value for Money
7.0
Location
6.8
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Food/Dining
7.1
All reviews (40)
Sort by:
G L. Families with young children India, May 17, 2013
poor service.

nothing best to say about this hotel.
3.3
irregular water supply. i had to vacate my room leaving some of the belongings in the bathroom as it locked automatically from inside and nobody from hotel around to help even after morning 7am.as i had rush airport i left my belongings.
Lachlan W. Couples Australia, May 4, 2013
Super close to Russian Market and Tuol Sleng

Close to Russian Market, close to Tuol Sleng, close-ish to Airport
6.3
Only here one night as we needed to be v close to Russian Market (Tuol Tom Pong) before a midday flight out of Phnom Penh. Mad House has some good and bad points. Good: late check-in (up to 11pm), nice café on corner of street for breakfast, 2 minute walk to Russian Market; also close to Tuol Sleng (S21 Prison Camp). Bad: rooms are a bit odd, we had a window into the adjoining room! Fortunately a blind on both sides but still a bit strange. Shared bathroom which, though the hotel is certainly cheap, puts it at a disadvantage to other similarly priced places we stayed which had private bathrooms. Aside from the daytime attractions, I’d suggest this area is somewhat “suburban” and hence has very little nightlife to speak of and not much in the way of restaurants either.
Nicholas H. Couples United Kingdom, March 11, 2013
Perfect for a short stay

Price, staff, cleanliness
8
Mad house is further out of town than most. However you are next to the Russian market do all tuk tuks know where to go. At the end the street is a fantastic coffee shop.
Bobby D. Solo travelers Netherlands, March 11, 2013
fine place to stay, there are better options

staff ok, food ok
5.3
Anthony D. Couples United States of America, March 9, 2013
Nice staff, close to locals

Location, staff, local info.
6.7
Nice backpacker hotel, away from the touristy area. Close to locals and Russian market. Tuk Tuks galore when you need one.
Eleanor N. Couples Australia, March 2, 2013
Large rooms and friendly staf

Friendly staff, huge room, great food, cheap drinks, quiet location
7.7
We didn't have any complaints about Mad House at all. They make it quite clear on their site that it is not near the tourist area so if this is a problem for you then don't stay here.
Robin M. Business travelers China, February 19, 2013
Good location but very normal rooms

location
6
The bed is broken,it is not balanced, one side will sink down when you are on it. Told the manager to handle it, but he didn't. Too tired to tell him again as I'm just living for few nights. Managers can speak good English.Convenient.
Charlotte B. Groups Germany, February 13, 2013
All in all okay

not loud, friendly manager, nice area around.
6
when we arrived at mad house, all rooms were occupied, because they had some problems with there system. but the manager was really friendly and we could sleep in the dorm for one night (which was as good as the room) and besides we got a refund for the first night. but the other staff was not so good. often they didn't understood what we wanted. you should know, that the house is quite far from the center, so safe some money for a tuk tuk.
Julian H. Couples United Kingdom, February 10, 2013
Nice rooms, interesting layout!

Friendly and helpful staff
7.7
Checked in for a couple of nights to see the main tourist attractions. Within walking distance of S21 but will require a tuk tuk for other sites. Hotel pretty clean and well run, staff helpful. Room was next to an open room at the end of the corridor so noise was a bit of an issue, but not too bad. Wifi and cable tv all working reasonably well, nice bathroom! Good feeling around the place, some nice restaurants nearby if you don't fancy some in house food which is pretty good also. There is a roof top bar which seemed fun although we didn't spend much time there.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Good base to explore from
Amandine L. Couples France, February 1, 2013
Rooms are nice but location bit out of the way

Good service and served nice food although menu choice is limited
7
The room was clean, had wifi, air con and good size tv. Overall this place was nice but there is not much around the guesthouse . It is a good location to visit S21 and the killing fields.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Mad House Phnom Penh - InteriorMad House Phnom Penh - Superior RoomMad House Phnom Penh - Balcony/TerraceMad House Phnom Penh - Superior RoomMad House Phnom Penh - 1 Bedroom SuperiorMad House Phnom Penh - 4 Bed DormMad House Phnom Penh - 1 Bedroom StandardMad House Phnom Penh - Superior RoomMad House Phnom Penh - 1 Bedroom DeluxeMad House Phnom Penh - 1 Bedroom SuperiorMad House Phnom Penh - Guest RoomMad House Phnom Penh - ExteriorMad House Phnom Penh - RestaurantMad House Phnom Penh - Guest RoomMad House Phnom Penh - Guest RoomMad House Phnom Penh - Guest RoomMad House Phnom Penh - InteriorMad House Phnom Penh - SurroundingsMad House Phnom Penh - SurroundingsMad House Phnom Penh - SurroundingsMad House Phnom Penh - SurroundingsMad House Phnom Penh - Suite RoomMad House Phnom Penh - Recreational FacilitiesMad House Phnom Penh - Guest RoomMad House Phnom Penh - BathroomMad House Phnom Penh - Guest RoomMad House Phnom Penh - Guest RoomMad House Phnom Penh - Balcony/TerraceMad House Phnom Penh - 1 Bedroom SuperiorMad House Phnom Penh - Balcony/TerraceMad House Phnom Penh - Inside diningMad House Phnom Penh - Rooftop bar and dining area


AS-AGWEB-3C03