Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Mahaweli Reach Hotel

35, P.B.A.Weerakoon Mawatha, P.O. Box 78, Kandy Central, Kandy, Sri Lanka

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.7

based on
102 reviews

72 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.3
Location
7.8
Staff Performance
7.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.8
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
7.5
All reviews (102)
Sort by:
Kadambar S. Families with young children India, December 26, 2015
Christmas eve party issue
3
OK, I booked 3 months back along with Christmas eve party for two rooms 5 adult and one child 8 years old. Agoda didn't charge for the kid for Christmas party as it mentioned free. While checking out hotel staff charged $50. Also my room hot water not working. They repaired last day. 3 Rd bed and mat not upto 5 star standard.
Report this review
Piyumi M. Families with young children United Kingdom, December 12, 2015
Overrated and expensive for what it is

Good variety of food at breakfast. The local food was to a good standard. The staff were friendly and helpful.
5.7
We found that the hotel rooms needed updating. The third bed in the triple room was a wooden temporary bed and since we were paying for 3 ppl we expected a proper bed. It was overpriced compared to the other hotels we stayed at. The international food was overpriced and were not to an acceptable standard. The drinks were also the same. We were travelling from London but had national ID cards but we're still charged at international prices by agoda which is substantially more.
Report this review
Sasha N. Families with young children United States of America, December 8, 2015
Underwhelming

Dinner
5
We had a lot of problems with this hotel, starting when we checked in. Our first room did not have the bedding we requested (and paid for in advance), it wasn't clean, and I think there was rat poison on the floor. It took three rooms to finally find a clean one with the right bed size. Nevertheless, the room needed some TLC - as though it hadn't been renovated in many years. One afternoon we returned from sightseeing to discover the pool had been taken over by a private Christmas party for kids, complete with bouncy houses and mascots, as well as a DJ playing music so loud we could hear it from our room. This went on for 4 hours. I get the sense that this may have been a nice hotel at one time, but it's past it's prime and needs a complete renovation.
Report this review
Jen D. Families with older children Australia, December 5, 2015
Big & Beautiful

Gardens, styling, comfort
8.3
Report this review
Ashok R. Couples India, December 1, 2015
Nice comfortable hotel with luxury touches.

Clean,comfortable and Sri Lankan touch.
7.7
Too spread out and lot of walking as limited lifts to access lobby/restaurant.
Report this review
Jessica S. Solo travelers United States of America, November 28, 2015
Amazing

Pool, staff, room
9.7
Perfection
Report this review
Jana H. Solo travelers Hong Kong, October 27, 2015
Attentive staff, beautiful amenities

Relaxing SPA, friendly staff, beautiful room
9.3
The room was great with a large bed, perfectly sized (can easily it 2) and clean shower and a beautiful view on the river. The staff was super friendly and attentive. The best thing however was the SPA. I went twice and had different girls with different programs. They were very well trained, with re right pressure on either the relaxing or the deep tissue. The products they use felt great and smelled nicely. The music in the background and the brand new steam room that reminded me of the European steam rooms that I know made the whole experience very relaxing. A bit in the higher price side, but for those who come to Sri Lanka to relax, this is the place to go. (Tried one Ayurveda one downtown, but it's nothing in comparison to Ceylon SPA in this hotel)
Report this review
Khirul F. Solo travelers United Kingdom, September 30, 2015
fanrtastic

view courteous staff food
10
I stayed with my sister for 15 days and it was fantastic, friendly staff from room service to management could not have done anything more to make our stay a very happy one. Only minus was the bar and extra food was extremely over priced. room service boy was extremely hard working kept everything so clean it was a pleasure to get back to our room after going out. We were sad to leave and will definitely stay in this hotel again
Report this review
Abdulaziz H. Couples Saudi Arabia, July 25, 2015
My visit to Sri Lanka

- Staff - Food - Room
10
Excellent
Report this review
Arthur G. Couples United Kingdom, July 3, 2015
Short Stay

The River View, Support for Medical assistance, Spa
5.7
Disappointed in the reality which did not live up to the images on the website. It needs to be updated, the river view deluxe rooms do not reach the standard expected of a 5 star hotel, with poor lighting in the bathroom and no extract ventilation, the Wifi certainly needs boosting and the balcony was very small. The staff in the restaurant though attentive require additional training as they appeared unsure, nervous and nothing really ran smoothly.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 72 reviews Next page
Mahaweli Reach Hotel KandyMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - InteriorMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - ExteriorMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - Sun Beds by the PoolMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - Food ServedMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - Swimming PoolMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - Swimming PoolMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - Executive SuiteMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - Breakfast on the boatMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - ViewMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - SuiteMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - Bathroom-SuiteMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - Dining OutdoorMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - BeveragesMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - Exterior ViewMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - Exterior ViewMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - ViewMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - Exterior ViewMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - Breakfast on the boatMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - River CruisesMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - ExteriorMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - River CruisesMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - Lake ViewMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - Breakfast on the boatMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - ViewMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - Spa TreatmentMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - ExteriorMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - Banquet HallMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - Banquet HallMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - RestaurantMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - Swimming PoolMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - Banquet HallMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - RestaurantMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - ExteriorMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - RestaurantMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - Banquet HallMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - Junior SuiteMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - SpaMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - ExteriorMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - GardenMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - River AriaMahaweli Reach Hotel Kandy - River Aria


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B01