or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Majestic Tourist Hotel

83/40,ampitiya road, Kandy Central, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Majestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Interior Majestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Balcony/Terrace Majestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Exterior Majestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Exterior Majestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Guest Room Majestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Interior Majestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Interior Majestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Interior Majestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Interior Majestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Exterior Majestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Guest Room Majestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - View from the Rooms Majestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Restaurant Area Majestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Sitting Area Majestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Restaurant Majestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - View of the Surroundings
Majestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - View of the Surrounding Majestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Restaurant view Majestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Lake view Majestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Guest Room Majestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Reception Majestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Exterior Majestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Exterior Majestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Sightseeing Majestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Sightseeing Majestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Sightseeing Majestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Sightseeing Majestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Sightseeing
Area: Kandy Central Number of Rooms: 19
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.4

based on
87 reviews

Value for Money
7.7
Location
6.9
Staff Performance
7.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
7.4
All reviews (87)
Sort by:
Senthilnathan V. Families with young children India, July 21, 2014
This is the worst hotel which I have never seen
2.7
Not happy about my stay at this hotel. I will never visit this hotel again.Nothing to say about this hotel
Natalie H. Groups Australia, April 25, 2014
Nice view, and great staff.

Easy check in/check out, view and the staff.
7
The hotel is quite a large building and breakfast is on the top floor which opened out to a fabulous view. We booked 2 rooms as we were a group and got two completely different rooms despite booking the same thing. The rooms were quite average, but were spacious. The bed had quite a thin mattress. What the room lacked though the staff made up in friendliness.
Zdislava S. Groups Czech Republic, March 5, 2014
cheap, friendly staff, quiet

The hotel is above the city on a very quiet place. Close to the temple and shopping. Good position for the other attractions around Kandy.
9.3
Alexia S. Couples France, March 4, 2014
Very nice stay

efficient staff, good rooms, good food
9
We had a wonderful stay in this hotel. The family running the place is very kind, they will do everything to help you with your stay in Kandy (provide taxi driver, advices....). The rooms are very big, new and clean. The food is incredible ! Even if it located a bit far from the center (max 10 minutes in tuktuk from the clock tower) the view on the hills is so nice that is worth it ! We highly recommend that place
Jessica O. Groups United States of America, February 16, 2014
Good budget hotel for groups

Space for groups, good breakfast, nice patio on roof
7.3
We enjoyed our stay here with a group of 10 teenage students. Would recommend it for a group although it's a long (but doable) walk to the center of town.
William S. Couples United States of America, February 15, 2014
Ok but there are better places

Cheap, clean, not far from lake
6
This was ok for about $35/night -- clean room, spotty internet, needed earplugs because of barking dogs, some rooms have good view, on a map it looks close to the lake, but it's on a steep hill- road is too dark to walk at night so need tuktuk. We switched to Hotel Comfort after a few nights it was quieter and on the lake and just a little more expensive
Kiran S. Couples New Zealand, January 17, 2014
Average, value for money.

Good location, friendly staff, clean room
6.3
It's an average place, no complaints but nothing fantastic, clean rooms, a very nice restaurant area that is open plan, with a nice view.
Kamila H. Couples Poland, October 19, 2013
very nice and helpful staff

nice room, very frindly staff !!!
9.7
room nice and clean, very nice and helpful staff. They helped us get to the next village. Very well speak English. hotel near the bus going to the central station
Andrew C. Solo travelers New Zealand, October 14, 2013
Very enjoyable but avoid the 3 wheelers!

Professional and friendly staff and great views from the roof top.
6.7
The management and staff at the Majestic Hotel are top notch. The owners, are a well travelled Indian couple who are permanently resident in Sri Lanka. They and their team are very friendly, knowledgeable and acutely aware of the needs of their guests. Although the Majestic Tourist Hotel is "up in the hills", one can catch a local bus to the central market for 10 Rupees or enjoy the walk down the road to the township. I would avoid, at all costs, the 3 wheeler drivers in Kandy - in my one month visit to Sri Lanka - they would have to be the most dishonest and belligerent in the ciuntry which is such a shame given the charms of this important town.
Nicola T. Couples United Kingdom, September 16, 2013
Fine but nothing special

Fairly clean, decent breakfast
6.3
It's an ok budget option. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable enough and plenty of hot water although it was a little damp. Location is not central but ok, 15 minutes walk down to the lake and a 200rs tuk tuk back up the hill from town. Staff were absent most of the time we were there.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Majestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Exterior viewMajestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - InteriorMajestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Balcony/TerraceMajestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - ExteriorMajestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - ExteriorMajestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Guest RoomMajestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - InteriorMajestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - InteriorMajestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - InteriorMajestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - InteriorMajestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - ExteriorMajestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Guest RoomMajestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - View from the RoomsMajestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Restaurant AreaMajestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Sitting AreaMajestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Restaurant Majestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - View of the SurroundingsMajestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - View of the SurroundingMajestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Restaurant viewMajestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Lake viewMajestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Guest RoomMajestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - ReceptionMajestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - ExteriorMajestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - ExteriorMajestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - SightseeingMajestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - SightseeingMajestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - SightseeingMajestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - SightseeingMajestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - SightseeingMajestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - SightseeingMajestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - SightseeingMajestic Tourist Hotel Kandy - Balcony/Terrace


AS-AGWEB-3C04