Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Makunudu Island Resort

North Male' Atoll, North Male Atoll, Maldives Islands, Maldives

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Excellent

8.3

based on 29 reviews

18 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.9
Location
8.9
Staff Performance
8.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
8.2
All reviews (29)
Sort by:
Mark D. Couples Netherlands, May 30, 2016
Fantastic
6.7
We could not have wished for a better stay in the Maldives!
Report this review
Keats S. Couples United States of America, April 16, 2016
outstanding couldn't be better
6.7
Recent remodeling made this look like a brand-new Resort Snorkeling around the island was excellent and the food and service was outstanding I can't imagine a better Maldives Resort for the price
Report this review
Melvin M. Couples United Kingdom, March 24, 2016
A Great little resort
6.3
Not loaded with facilities because this resort is about you and simple pleasures. It is small and select so it has to pitch value for money with care and the customer needs to be aware of service charges, GST Tax at 12% and transfer charges.
Report this review
Christian M. Couples Singapore, January 27, 2016
Nice
5
.
Report this review
Jacek P. Couples Poland, October 18, 2015
Paradise Island

Nice house reef.
9.3
Very good No water villas, All bungalows same. No tv, no disco, no night live.
Report this review
Bjarne V. Couples Denmark, March 5, 2015
Fantastic hideaway with a spectacular housereef.

Housereef, island og staff
8.7
We had a fantastic 12 days here, where we enjoyed the housereef and island bigtime. Hope to be back soon
Report this review
Stephen D. Couples China, February 25, 2015
Really enjor my trip
6.7
Spending my honeymoon there, very nice hotel, quiet, enjoy a very good time with my wife. Will come back again for the 10th anniversary.
Report this review
Erik P. Couples Denmark, April 15, 2014
Super nice!

Location right at the beach, Blue water for snorkeling, Small - only 36 rooms,
8.3
Awesome, but expensive.
Report this review
N F. Couples United States of America, March 15, 2014
Refreshing private resort island

Access to the beach, coral reefs and peaceful atmosphere
8.3
Our bungalow was right on the beach with an incredible house coral reef less than 50 m from the shore. The resident manager (S. Blackett) greeted us upon our arrival to the island; a warm and welcoming greeting. We were well taken care of at every step along the way. Check in and check out was a breeze. We did the half board which included an amazing wide variety buffet breakfast served daily and a four star five course dinner served every night. Makunudu is one hour ahead of the main island time of Male so plan accordingly. We did the complimentary Snorkel Discovery. The snorkel discovery trip was about a 15 minute boat ride from the island and the snorkelling lasted well over one hour. It was so worth it. The complimentary dive lesson from the Dive Center was provided in the main lagoon area(Claudia from Belgium, what a kind woman, she was amazing). So glad I tried it. Also, we did the complimentary Night Fishing Excursion and yes, my wife landed two red snappers out of the four fish caught that night. Another trip well worth taking is the Manta Ray Excursion, only 20USD per person. The boat ride was about 45 minutes from the island. We were able to see and swim with three giant manta rays for over an hour; it was a first in my life and not soon to be forgotten. I estimated the wing span of the mantas to be approximately 3 to 3.5 m. The massage therapy specialists were so gentle, amazing and kind. Quite frankly, I have had a lot of massages over the years and these two ladies were by far the best massage specialists I have experienced. We truly enjoyed their hospitality and professionalism. One last thing. The resort is really practicing a sustainable approach to all that they do. They truly get it and have established protocol to help keep the island operations running as sustainable as possible. And last but not least, the access to nature is unparalleled at Makunudu Island. We will be back to Makunudu and hope to make it a yearly stop.
Report this review
Frantisek J. Solo travelers Czech Republic, July 28, 2013
Amazing relaxing island

Diving, snorcheling, relaxation
8.3
Very relaxing place, rarely unspoiled ocean and beaches, romantic athmosphere of indian ocean island. Definetely recomended for divers due to splendid dive sites (sharks, stingrays, huge manta-rays, turtles etc), local reef good for snorcheling, but rather shallow (with low tide watch your belly :), reef drops to about 20m at least 100-150m from shoreline, so this is not very comfortable for freediving. Crystal clean water, especially out of sand banks, where visibility drops a lot due to whirling sand, otherwise visibility perfect more then 30m, sometimes unbelieveable views on dive, hovering on safety stop and seeing the whole walley bellow with sleeping sharks, mantas flying around .. sometimes encountering dolphins, crew will stop the boat, jump into and just swim with them, getting very close - I was 2m from group of 15-25 dolphins, though they were not in mood to play, still exceptional experience. Bungallows ok, small lizards inside (making annoying sounds during night), clima cool, half board not enough when diving, limited possibility to buy snacks, expensive water and non-alcoholic drinks, not even included in allinclusive - for adventures you can boil water and make tea (free). Windsurfing free, catamaran rides also free. Dive-ocean agency - very good stuff, nice and experienced. Not much to do except diving though. Sun glasses necessary (2x to cover lost - happened to me - luckily they were back next morning sticking from sand exactly where they were splashed to the sea :). Robinson Crusoe feel overall, no disco etc. very calm and time to think or just relax. Recomended for the price !
Report this review
1 - 10 of 18 reviews
Makunudu Island Resort Maldives IslandsMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Island ViewMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Arrival AreaMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Arrival AreaMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Ocean ViewMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Sunset ViewMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Sunset ViewMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Sunset ViewMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - ViewMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Beach ViewMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - BeachMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - BeachMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - BeachMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - BeachMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Beach DiningMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Recreational FacilitiesMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Recreational FacilitiesMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Recreational FacilitiesMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Recreational FacilitiesMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Sunset BarMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - DiningMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Private DinnerMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Beach DiningMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Floor PlansMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - BBQMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - WalkwaysMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Food and BeveragesMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - BeachMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Sunset ViewMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Aerial ViewMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - BeachMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Sunset ViewMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - JettyMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - SandbankMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - BeachMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - LibraryMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - JettyMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Island ViewMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - BeachMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Beach ViewMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - RestaurantMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - LobbyMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - LobbyMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Deluxe Bungalow - Half BoardMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - LobbyMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - BarMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - BarMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - BarMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - BarMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - BeachMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Sports and Activities


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B04