or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Makunudu Island Resort

North Male' Atoll, North Male Atoll, Maldives Islands, Maldives (Show on map)

Book now!

Makunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Deluxe Bungalow - Bedroom Makunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Deluxe Bungalow - Bathroom Makunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Deluxe Bungalow - Exterior Makunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Ocean View Makunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Ocean View Makunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - View Makunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Ocean View Makunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Sunset View Makunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Sunset View Makunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Sunset View Makunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - View Makunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Beach View Makunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Beach Makunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Beach Makunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Beach Makunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Beach
Makunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Beach Makunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Beach Dining Makunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Beach Dining Makunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Recreational Facilities Makunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Recreational Facilities Makunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Recreational Facilities Makunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Recreational Facilities Makunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Restaurant Makunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Restaurant Makunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Restaurant Makunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Bar Deck Makunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Bar Deck
Area: North Male Atoll Number of Rooms: 36

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.9

based on
18 reviews

Value for Money
7.3
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.0
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
8.1
All reviews (18)
Sort by:
Erik P. Couples Denmark, April 15, 2014
Super nice!

Location right at the beach, Blue water for snorkeling, Small - only 36 rooms,
8.3
Awesome, but expensive.
N F. Couples United States of America, March 15, 2014
Refreshing private resort island

Access to the beach, coral reefs and peaceful atmosphere
8.3
Our bungalow was right on the beach with an incredible house coral reef less than 50 m from the shore. The resident manager (S. Blackett) greeted us upon our arrival to the island; a warm and welcoming greeting. We were well taken care of at every step along the way. Check in and check out was a breeze. We did the half board which included an amazing wide variety buffet breakfast served daily and a four star five course dinner served every night. Makunudu is one hour ahead of the main island time of Male so plan accordingly. We did the complimentary Snorkel Discovery. The snorkel discovery trip was about a 15 minute boat ride from the island and the snorkelling lasted well over one hour. It was so worth it. The complimentary dive lesson from the Dive Center was provided in the main lagoon area(Claudia from Belgium, what a kind woman, she was amazing). So glad I tried it. Also, we did the complimentary Night Fishing Excursion and yes, my wife landed two red snappers out of the four fish caught that night. Another trip well worth taking is the Manta Ray Excursion, only 20USD per person. The boat ride was about 45 minutes from the island. We were able to see and swim with three giant manta rays for over an hour; it was a first in my life and not soon to be forgotten. I estimated the wing span of the mantas to be approximately 3 to 3.5 m. The massage therapy specialists were so gentle, amazing and kind. Quite frankly, I have had a lot of massages over the years and these two ladies were by far the best massage specialists I have experienced. We truly enjoyed their hospitality and professionalism. One last thing. The resort is really practicing a sustainable approach to all that they do. They truly get it and have established protocol to help keep the island operations running as sustainable as possible. And last but not least, the access to nature is unparalleled at Makunudu Island. We will be back to Makunudu and hope to make it a yearly stop.
Frantisek J. Solo travelers Czech Republic, July 28, 2013
Amazing relaxing island

Diving, snorcheling, relaxation
8.3
Very relaxing place, rarely unspoiled ocean and beaches, romantic athmosphere of indian ocean island. Definetely recomended for divers due to splendid dive sites (sharks, stingrays, huge manta-rays, turtles etc), local reef good for snorcheling, but rather shallow (with low tide watch your belly :), reef drops to about 20m at least 100-150m from shoreline, so this is not very comfortable for freediving. Crystal clean water, especially out of sand banks, where visibility drops a lot due to whirling sand, otherwise visibility perfect more then 30m, sometimes unbelieveable views on dive, hovering on safety stop and seeing the whole walley bellow with sleeping sharks, mantas flying around .. sometimes encountering dolphins, crew will stop the boat, jump into and just swim with them, getting very close - I was 2m from group of 15-25 dolphins, though they were not in mood to play, still exceptional experience. Bungallows ok, small lizards inside (making annoying sounds during night), clima cool, half board not enough when diving, limited possibility to buy snacks, expensive water and non-alcoholic drinks, not even included in allinclusive - for adventures you can boil water and make tea (free). Windsurfing free, catamaran rides also free. Dive-ocean agency - very good stuff, nice and experienced. Not much to do except diving though. Sun glasses necessary (2x to cover lost - happened to me - luckily they were back next morning sticking from sand exactly where they were splashed to the sea :). Robinson Crusoe feel overall, no disco etc. very calm and time to think or just relax. Recomended for the price !
Irem Y. Couples Turkey, March 22, 2013
relaxing. excellent snorkeling. old rooms.

excellent snorkeling. position of the rooms. close to airport
5.3
makunudu island is a nice and small island with excellent snorkeling opportunity. They also offer free snorkeling trip. We had our 5 year old boy with us and he was the only child on the island.But it is a child friendly hotel and beaches are suitable for children. We also had no problem with the food regarding the child and they were kind enough to ask if we needed anything extra for the child. Food was a little above avarage. especially nice dinners.The only downside of the hotel is the rooms are really old. This standart does not really match the price. But if you're ok with less comfort ande more nature u will be fine.
Jeremy L. Couples United Kingdom, February 10, 2013
Perfect hideaway

Try the Sand Bank Affaire!
10
This was not my first trip to Makunudu island: I holidayed there twice before, in 1990 and 1994, and was highly impressed on both occasions. So, after 19 years absence, I was intrigued to find out if the place was the same as I remembered... Well, little had changed, except that this place was even better than I remembered! Peaceful, beautiful and relaxed. The staff are unobtrusive, friendly and smiling (our waiter - Ahmed has worked on this island for 25 years). The HB-included activities, night fishing, and reef snorkelling are great fun (even on previous diving holidays I never got up that close and personal to Manta rays and giant turtles). The restaurant food in particular is excellent, and we opted for their special Sand Bank Affaire excursion: A must-do private lobster dinner for 2 on a tiny sandbank miles from anywhere in the middle of the Indian Ocean. This is a perfect destination for couples or for holidaymakers who are looking for peace and privacy. There's no swimming pool, no discos, no televisions, telephones or wifi. They even have their own "Makunudu time zone", so you really do feel like you've gotten away from it all.
Michael C. Solo travelers United States of America, November 13, 2012
great scuba diving spot

scuba diving, food, beautiful surrounding ocean
7.7
The resort is literally a tiny plot of land in the middle of the Indian ocean. The beaches are perfect and the water is full of life. I saw a huge turtle one morning while snorkeling in 4 feet of water right outside my bungalow. The scuba diving is also great, which is the main reason i went to the island. The food is also well prepared, and the chef will accommodate to any specific food allergies/concerns you have which was also very nice. Only downside for me was the island had no wifi and you have to pay $5 every half hour to use the one computer that does have internet on the island. Also, if you are not a fan of lizards and ants, then you probably will not like the bungalows since you will definitely see some of them crawling around. Its no big deal though, it comes with the territory.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: bring your own scuba gear, that would have cut my diving bill in half.
Barend V. Couples Netherlands, September 28, 2012
Quiet Spacious Resort with Excellent swimming

Superb snorkelling and food off excelent quality.
8
We stayed 5 days on this islandresort and enjoyed very much of it. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. We would choose this resort again in the future.
Hiroshi D. Solo travelers Japan, August 18, 2012
Good

Good
6
During my stay in this hotel, I was able to spend very comfortable.
Florence D. Solo travelers France, July 21, 2012
Fabulous "robinson crusoe" island

Small, simple but tasteful, friendly, with a great dive school!
8
Given I was traveling on my own, I was a bit worried about finding the right place to stay and Makunudu was perfect. If you like a more intimate and low-key atmosphere, this is the place. The bungalows are set back from the beach: none of these rather overwhelming water villas here...its the Maldives like it was a few years back and retains a very natural feel to it. The island is small and with 36 rooms in total, everyone still seems to have their own private beach. Snorkeling is amazing and the dive school is just superb. The food is also good (with the exception of desert...) and the cocktail bar on the beach at sunset is heavenly.
Hotel Feature Tip: One note: if you plan on making any changes to your reservation, beware that everything is done via the reservation office in Male, which can lead to some misunderstandings. The staff is perfectly lovely, though. Lots of smiles here.
Colin M. Couples United Kingdom, March 1, 2012
Excellent place - Quiet, simple, great snorkelling

simple clean good food good people
9
Just a lovely small resort with good people, great home reef, good food. Compares very well with more expensive bigger resorts.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Makunudu Island Resort Maldives IslandsMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Deluxe Bungalow - BedroomMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Deluxe Bungalow - BathroomMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Deluxe Bungalow - ExteriorMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Ocean ViewMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Ocean ViewMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - ViewMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Ocean ViewMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Sunset ViewMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Sunset ViewMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Sunset ViewMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - ViewMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Beach ViewMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - BeachMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - BeachMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - BeachMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - BeachMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - BeachMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Beach DiningMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Beach DiningMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Recreational FacilitiesMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Recreational FacilitiesMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Recreational FacilitiesMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Recreational FacilitiesMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - RestaurantMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - RestaurantMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - RestaurantMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Bar DeckMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Bar DeckMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - DiningMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Private DinnerMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - ReceptionMakunudu Island Resort Maldives Islands - Floor Plans

Customer Reviews - Makunudu Island Resort, Maldives Islands

AS-AGWEB-3A01