Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Malai House Hotel

542/1 Patak Road, Karon, Phuket, Thailand 83100

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

8.0

based on 123 reviews

50 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.1
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
7.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.8
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (123)
Sort by:
Cheah D. Couples Malaysia, July 26, 2010
Value for money stay

free internet access 24/7, near to beach, restaurant, all kinds of shop, and public transport,nice pool,friendly staff
6.7
check in was fast, room was clean.Booking thru internet was easy with cashless payment and fast.24 hours notice was good.At that charges, it is very reasonable eventhough it was non peak season.We enjoyed the distance to the beach, just a 5 minutes walk. Nearby have many restaurant to choose from. Easy to get taxi or bus or tuk-tuk, even have live performance at nearby restaurant. Massage centre nearby,otehr hotel too to choose from. I certainly would like to come back in future.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: 5 minutes to beach, easy to get bus with cheap fare to Phuket town which past by the shooting rage and many other hotel and restaurant. Great way to see the out skirt and feel the air.
Report this review
Hessy D. Couples Indonesia, July 24, 2010
Malai Hotel @ Karon

I like their room, its so clean & comfort. And it also safe, if you want to put your things in room while you away
8.3
I like their room, its so clean & comfort. And it also safe, if you want to put your things in room while you away. The price is cheap.... very worthied with the clean & comfort room that they provide. The staff also very warm.
Hotel Feature Tip: Nice swimming pool
Report this review
Seng H. Couples Indonesia, July 8, 2010
My Experience at Malai House Hotel

Big room size for couple
7.3
It was so nice to choose Malai House where it's east to get the beach for only 2 minutes by walk. The Internet was so fast for wifi connention in the room but the TV channel wasn't good because the television mostly got unperfect signal quality. The hotel is nearby to the Thai massage and so cheap for only 200 baht. Hotel lobby was good for leisure at the night. A lot of seafood with the best flavour.
Hotel Feature Tip: To but the extra bed will cost higher than to buy next room. So just booked the next room but not extra bed.
Report this review
Seng H. Groups Indonesia, July 8, 2010
My Experience at Malai House Hotel for Relax

Nice lobby with good attitude staffs of Hotel
7.7
I like the most parts to stay at Malai are the shop and food nearby where our group were not worry about far to go. But the price usualy high without good bargain. The Malai Hotel has nice swimming pool where the location just beside the lobby, Room provides the full facility and internet connection had an excellent signal strength
Report this review
Huang W. Solo travelers China, July 4, 2010
Good value

2* price, 3* service
7.3
A good value hotel. pay 2 star price with 3 star service. free internet, swimming pool. walking distance to the beach. no public transport the airport.
Report this review
Martha B. Couples Canada, March 22, 2010
Clean and comfortable

well maintained clean and comfrotable Bright nicely decorated large room with reallly nicely appointed bathroom (tub and shower Great Breakfast Friendly helpful staff Reaonablely close to the beach
9
We arrived in Karon Beach quite late on an Ais Asia flight from Hong Kong. WE were exhausted and very tired when we arrived at Sugar Plum. We were actually booked into the Malai House but the hotel was full so they upgraded us to the SugarPlam which is connected to Malai house. The staff were very friendly and spoke not bad English - ofered us a fruit drink while we checked in. My wife was especially happy when we got to the room it was big nicely decorated and comfortable. WE actually only booked the room one night before going on to a nore expensive hotel where we stayed a week - but my wife said she would have been quite happy to stay here instead for our whole holiday
Hotel Feature Tip: The hotel is actually not that far from the beach just a short jog from the main traffic circle and you are there
Report this review
Alvin Y. Couples Singapore, February 16, 2010
Value for money

I would say this is the 'older wing' of the sugar palm resort rather than the budget wing. Near to the beach,friendly staffs. Breakfast is acceptable. prefer this very much to a noisy patong beach!
8
Value for money hotel. Dont mind staying here again if I come to Karon Beach. My fiancee and I enjoyed our stay very much
Restaurant Tip: The swedish restauarant 'Two Chefs' is fantastic! must try
Report this review
Barry M. Solo travelers United Kingdom, December 20, 2009
Good Loction

The location
7
The Location of this Hotel is very good, only minutes stroll from Beach and Nightlife. The downside is the Hard beds, and if you are unfortunate to have a room on the front side of hotel you will have to suffer loud music from bar opposite. When i complained about music at Midnight is was told by reception, don't worry because the music only goe's on untill 2.00.A.M. After a change of room, my stay was very good.
Report this review
Kok-Leng K. Families with older children Malaysia, November 20, 2009
Malai House, Karon beach, Phuket; 16-20 Nov 2009

Breakfast buffet was wonderful. Proximity to beach - about 100 meters.
9.3
My family and I had a good stay. We enjoyed the range offered in the breakfast buffet. Clean room and toilet. Courteous and helpful staff. Being close to the beach and other amenities makes it easy to access services. I would recommend Malai House to any tourist/visitor to Phuket and I will also look forward to going back myself.
Report this review
Dawn K. Couples Singapore, November 16, 2009
Nice & clean hotel

Room is clean & nice, Location - very near to Karon beach.
8.7
Due to Malai House under renovation, we've got free upgrade to SugarPalm. Room is clean & nice with Bath Tub, parking lots available, Location is very near to Karon beach & away from the busy streets. Staffs were friendly & helpful. Pool access room seems interesting & will definately stay there again.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Rent a car from the airport & drive down to the hotel & to other attractions for the rest of the stay.
Report this review
Previous page 31 - 40 of 50 reviews
Malai House Hotel Phuket - Hotel ExteriorMalai House Hotel Phuket - Bedroom Malai House Hotel Phuket - Bedroom Malai House Hotel Phuket - Room FacilitiesMalai House Hotel Phuket - Bedroom-Twin BedMalai House Hotel Phuket - Bedroom-Twin Bed Malai House Hotel Phuket - Room FacilitiesMalai House Hotel Phuket - Room FacilitiesMalai House Hotel Phuket - Bedroom Malai House Hotel Phuket - BedroomMalai House Hotel Phuket - Room FacilitiesMalai House Hotel Phuket - Business CenterMalai House Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolMalai House Hotel Phuket - Car Park


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B05