My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Malate Pensionne

1771 M Adriatico Street, Malate, Manila, Philippines (Show on map)

Book now!

Malate Pensionne Manila - View of guest lounge Malate Pensionne Manila - Hallway Malate Pensionne Manila - Hallway Malate Pensionne Manila - Standard Fan Room with Private Bath Malate Pensionne Manila - Standard Fan Room with Private Bath Malate Pensionne Manila - Standard Fan Room with Private Bath Malate Pensionne Manila - Economy Fan Room with Shared Bathroom Malate Pensionne Manila - Economy Fan Room with Shared Bathroom Malate Pensionne Manila - Deluxe Aircon Room Malate Pensionne Manila - Deluxe Double Aircon Room Malate Pensionne Manila - Bathroom Malate Pensionne Manila - Family Room Queen and Single Bed Malate Pensionne Manila - Family Room Malate Pensionne Manila - Executive Room 2 Single Malate Pensionne Manila - Premium 2 Single Beds Malate Pensionne Manila - Family Room
Malate Pensionne Manila - Executive 2 Single Beds Malate Pensionne Manila - Econo Room Queen Bed Malate Pensionne Manila - Family Room Queen and Single Malate Pensionne Manila - Luggage Room Malate Pensionne Manila - Executive 2 Single beds Malate Pensionne Manila - Premium Room Malate Pensionne Manila - Computer Section Malate Pensionne Manila - Entrance Malate Pensionne Manila - Surroundings Malate Pensionne Manila - Entrance Malate Pensionne Manila - Common Shower Area Malate Pensionne Manila - Common Bathroom
Hotel Area: Malate Number of Rooms: 55

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.5

based on
121 reviews

Value for Money
6.7
Location
7.7
Staff Performance
6.6
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.3
Room Comfort/Standard
6.4
Food/Dining
5.5
All reviews (121)
Sort by:
Haidie R. Solo travelers Philippines, April 9, 2014
thos hotel is only good for back packers!

don't know
2.3
The room was small and have bad smell!
Emilia W. Couples Poland, March 17, 2014
Good hotel, very nice and helpful staff,poor bfast

Staff, location, staff
7.7
Good, decent hotel. Old wooden building - overall nice experience. If you are coming to Manila and not sure where to stay this one is a good choice.
Ryan D. Couples Philippines, March 16, 2014
pricey compared to other budget inns

close to shopping center, quiet environment, fast service
5.7
We stayed for 2 nights. There's no tissue paper and soap until we requested for those. The room is small and has a bad shower knob. Airconditioning unit is old and the ceiling fan is dusty. TV is too small. The chinese looking frontdesk staff is not friendly.
John W. Solo travelers Australia, March 14, 2014
Annoying, not enjoyable, loud

location, location, location
4.3
Loud hotel by night, really unfriedly and unapproachable night staff, the staff seems to have problem with companions.. i paid for 2 people to stay overnight which to them means no one can visit during the day.. so i had to cancel plans to my friends because they could not visit me there. If there is such problem to safety concerns why not sign a waiver? i would not recommend this hotel.
Anh N. Groups Vietnam, March 4, 2014
Pleasant but it could be better

The staff was friendly and competent. Easy to find
6.3
We only stayed at the hotel for 1 night, during that time, the male shared bathroom was being repaired so it was uncomfortable to use it. The wifi of the hotel only works in the guest lobby and I had a bit of difficulty to access the network (in the end I still managed to access it). The best thing about this hotel is that it's near the famous Aristocat restaurant (recommend for you guys), it only took about more than 5 minutes walk to get there. Around the hotel, there were many KTV bars and Japanese/Korean restaurant but we didn't have time to explore those places.
Bao L. Solo travelers Vietnam, February 6, 2014
Average

Close to main attractions, 15 mins walking to closest LRT station, lots of bars around
5.7
The economy area was old, dark and smelly. The bathroom was dirty and extremely small. My room had an annoying scent of mouldy wood. A friend stayed in the dormitory area was provided a locker with a broken lock and he had to move to a private room. Funny they didn't allow us to wash our own clothes in the bathroom 'coz it would make the floor wet (wtf? Aren't bathrooms supposed to be wet?), and they encouraged us to use their laundry service instead. Free WiFi is only available in the common lounge, which is dark and unnecessarily big with lots of mosquitos.
Bao L. Solo travelers Vietnam, February 4, 2014
Average, probably won't come here again

Close to main attractions, near LRT station, lots of bars around
5.7
The economy area was old, dark and smelly. The bathroom was dirty and extremely small. My room had an annoying scent of mouldy wood. A friend stayed in the dormitory area was provided a locker with a broken lock and he had to move to a private room. Funny they didn't allow us to wash our own clothes in the bathroom 'coz it would make the floor wet (Aren't bathrooms supposed to be wet?), and they encouraged us to use their laundry service instead. Free WiFi is only available in the common lounge, which is dark and unnecessarily big with lots of mosquitos.
Darren P. Couples United Kingdom, February 4, 2014
Good value for money

location,close to bars and restaurants,
7
We stayed here for 2 nights, the hotel had an olde worlde atmosphere to it. The room was small and basic but clean and comfortable. There was supposed to be wifi in the room but this didn't work ,however there was a communal guest lounge where you could use it. The hotel was centrally located in the Malate area with plenty of places to eat and drink all around. There is a 24 hour bar right next door if you are in need of a late night tipple. The room was good value for money and included breakfast next door at the attached Coffee bean and Tea leaf. However be wary about using this coffee shop if you want to use your laptop.We went in and spent 10USD on coffee and then they wanted to charge us an extra 8USD to use the wifi.
Harvey F. Solo travelers Taiwan, February 2, 2014
Nostalgic, Convenient & Accessible

It gives you a nostalgic feeling due to its old Spanish interior & exterior design. Very convenient & accessible to Robonson's Mall, restaurants & bars. It's right at the heart of Manila City.
8.3
Every time I visit Manila, I always I check-in at Malate Pensionne. The staff are so friendly and accomodating. Almost all of them know me already due to my frequent stay there. Location wise, it's very convenient going to the mall, restaurants & bars. Robinson's Mall is just 10 minute walk from the hotel. Also, there are a lot of restaurants and bars to choose from around that vicinity. It's located right at the centre of the city, so public transportation is never a problem. You can find jeepneys all over the place to take you to any places in Manila. Another thing I enjoy about this hotel is that....it gives you a nostalgic feeling. Its old Spanish structure and interior design are well-preserved. On the minus side, you need to bring your own toiletries & hair dryer (if needed), cos' they only provide soap (small ones)and towels, that's all. This hotel is highly recommended for back-packers & for those travellers who are on a budget.
Keith B. Couples United States of America, February 2, 2014
A reliable, affordable choice

Location, price, comfort
7.7
A comfortable stay in a historic building, conveniently located. Recommend the rooms with bathroom (those without are tiny). Also be aware they do not allow guests to visit.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Malate Pensionne Manila - FacadeMalate Pensionne Manila - View of guest loungeMalate Pensionne Manila - HallwayMalate Pensionne Manila - HallwayMalate Pensionne Manila - Standard Fan Room with Private BathMalate Pensionne Manila - Standard Fan Room with Private BathMalate Pensionne Manila - Standard Fan Room with Private BathMalate Pensionne Manila - Economy Fan Room with Shared BathroomMalate Pensionne Manila - Economy Fan Room with Shared BathroomMalate Pensionne Manila - Deluxe Aircon RoomMalate Pensionne Manila - Deluxe Double Aircon RoomMalate Pensionne Manila - BathroomMalate Pensionne Manila - Family Room Queen and Single BedMalate Pensionne Manila - Family RoomMalate Pensionne Manila - Executive Room 2 SingleMalate Pensionne Manila - Premium 2 Single BedsMalate Pensionne Manila - Family RoomMalate Pensionne Manila - Executive 2 Single BedsMalate Pensionne Manila - Econo Room Queen BedMalate Pensionne Manila - Family Room Queen and SingleMalate Pensionne Manila - Luggage RoomMalate Pensionne Manila - Executive 2 Single bedsMalate Pensionne Manila - Premium RoomMalate Pensionne Manila - Computer SectionMalate Pensionne Manila - EntranceMalate Pensionne Manila - SurroundingsMalate Pensionne Manila - EntranceMalate Pensionne Manila - Common Shower AreaMalate Pensionne Manila - Common BathroomMalate Pensionne Manila - StaircaseMalate Pensionne Manila - StaircaseMalate Pensionne Manila - Guest RoomMalate Pensionne Manila - Guest RoomMalate Pensionne Manila - Hotel ExteriorMalate Pensionne Manila - Hotel InteriorMalate Pensionne Manila - Hotel InteriorMalate Pensionne Manila - Business CenterMalate Pensionne Manila - Guest RoomMalate Pensionne Manila - Guest Room


AS-AGWEB-3B04