Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Malvar Hostel

636 Gen. Malvar St., Malate, Manila, Philippines 1004

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.8

based on 179 reviews

66 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.8
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.9
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Food/Dining
6.3
All reviews (179)
Sort by:
Sarah H. Groups Australia, April 9, 2016
Fantastic staff
6
The staff were amazing and rooms very clean. There are no external windows and so the room was a little damp.
Report this review
Dannick C. Couples France, February 16, 2016
Average hotel
4.3
But very noisy
Report this review
Dale H. Couples United States of America, December 23, 2015
Malvar Hostel Dec 2015

Location, Friendly & Helpful Staff, & Value...
8.7
We have been Customers for three Manila Visits. This is our fourth stay and there ONLY issue we had were the 'Bed Bugs', which attacked the first night there. At first we thought the bites were Mosquitoes, which the Staff readily treated our room - #110. Later on we realized they were 'Bed Bugs' , of which Complete Treatment of the room needed to be made. We do hope the Management will read this and remedy the issue, before we return to Manila.
Report this review
Kerry M. Couples Australia, December 2, 2015
Very clean, friendly staff and good security

Value for money, location and close to all the shopping
7.3
Overall the stay was excellent, but the only downside is the noise level from surrounding clubs and bars with karokes, also the staff can be more quiet when doing maintenance or re-arranging furniture in the middle of the night
Report this review
Vladimir L. Couples Slovakia, May 13, 2015
Good choice in Malate

clean, comfortable room, quite good lacation
6.3
I expected more, bud when I realized what it is in Manila like, I can recommend this hotel in Malate.
Report this review
Mark S. Business travelers South Korea, February 28, 2015
its good po

convinience, kind, cheap
3.7
Report this review
Ederlyn M. Couples Philippines, December 30, 2014
a gem of a hostel

friendly and attentive staff; very clean and tasteful interiors; nearness to places of interest
8.7
It was very good overall. The staff were very courteous and helpful. The interior was a pleasant surprise; you wouldn't guess from the lobby that the inside is very homey and tastefully decorated. Location was very convenient too. You could walk to the historic Malate Church, Robinson's Mall, and famous dining places (Aristocrat, Cafe Adriatico, etc). The breakfast though could be improved :)
Report this review
Sophie B. Couples France, December 17, 2014
Good value for money-very nice staff

Staff-location-clean
8.3
Very nice and helpful staff, always smiling Good location in malate Clean basic room with hot shower and wifi However, no window in our room: always nice to have a window even if you don't spend your time in the room as a tourist.
Report this review
William D. Solo travelers New Zealand, October 21, 2014
Lovely staff, too bad about the hotel.

Staff, flexible attitude and helpfulness
6
I found the hotel to be badly dated and came to know what is meant by the reference "gray towels". However the staff were wonderful and you could not find any fault in their attitudes, helpfulness and flexibility. I arrived late and needed to get a late checkout - 6.00pm so that I could get some sleep after flying all night to attend a conference in the morning. No problem and a reasonable extra payment. Thanks. Did notice a chemical smell in the afternoon which was enough to cause me to cough quite a bit. A little noisy but once I laid down I was asleep in moments. Hard to rate but a rough idea is 5 star staff in a 2 star hotel. Probably would look elsewhere next time.
Report this review
Samuel S. Couples Slovakia, October 18, 2014
Very pleasent hotel

Very comfortable, nicely decorated, pleasant
8.3
We stayed only one night, but hotel was very comfortable, fine and clean rooms.Helpful and nice staff (we were able to check in as early as 5am)
Report this review
1 - 10 of 66 reviews Next page
Malvar Hostel ManilaMalvar Hostel Manila - ReceptionMalvar Hostel Manila - InteriorMalvar Hostel Manila - InteriorMalvar Hostel Manila - ExteriorMalvar Hostel Manila - LobbyMalvar Hostel Manila - ReceptionMalvar Hostel Manila - InteriorMalvar Hostel Manila - LobbyMalvar Hostel Manila - ExteriorMalvar Hostel Manila - LobbyMalvar Hostel Manila - LobbyMalvar Hostel Manila - ReceptionMalvar Hostel Manila - InteriorMalvar Hostel Manila - Coffee Shop/CafeMalvar Hostel Manila - InteriorMalvar Hostel Manila - InteriorMalvar Hostel Manila - Coffee Shop/CafeMalvar Hostel Manila - InteriorMalvar Hostel Manila - Coffee Shop/CafeMalvar Hostel Manila - InteriorMalvar Hostel Manila - Coffee Shop/CafeMalvar Hostel Manila - InteriorMalvar Hostel Manila - Coffee Shop/CafeMalvar Hostel Manila - Deluxe RoomMalvar Hostel Manila - Deluxe RoomMalvar Hostel Manila - Deluxe RoomMalvar Hostel Manila - Deluxe RoomMalvar Hostel Manila - Deluxe RoomMalvar Hostel Manila - Deluxe RoomMalvar Hostel Manila - Deluxe RoomMalvar Hostel Manila - Deluxe RoomMalvar Hostel Manila - Deluxe RoomMalvar Hostel Manila - Superior DeluxeMalvar Hostel Manila - Superior DeluxeMalvar Hostel Manila - Superior DeluxeMalvar Hostel Manila - Superior DeluxeMalvar Hostel Manila - Superior DeluxeMalvar Hostel Manila - Superior DeluxeMalvar Hostel Manila - Superior DeluxeMalvar Hostel Manila - Superior DeluxeMalvar Hostel Manila - Superior DeluxeMalvar Hostel Manila - Superior DeluxeMalvar Hostel Manila - Superior DeluxeMalvar Hostel Manila - Superior DeluxeMalvar Hostel Manila - Superior DeluxeMalvar Hostel Manila - Superior DeluxeMalvar Hostel Manila - Superior DeluxeMalvar Hostel Manila - Superior DeluxeMalvar Hostel Manila - Superior DeluxeMalvar Hostel Manila - Superior DeluxeMalvar Hostel Manila - Superior DeluxeMalvar Hostel Manila - Junior SuiteMalvar Hostel Manila - Junior SuiteMalvar Hostel Manila - Junior SuiteMalvar Hostel Manila - Junior SuiteMalvar Hostel Manila - Junior SuiteMalvar Hostel Manila - Junior SuiteMalvar Hostel Manila - Junior SuiteMalvar Hostel Manila - Junior SuiteMalvar Hostel Manila - Junior SuiteMalvar Hostel Manila - Junior SuiteMalvar Hostel Manila - Junior Suite


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B02