Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Mandala Boutique Hotel

Ban Phiavat Sisattanak District, Near Riverfront, Vientiane, Laos

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.9

based on 181 reviews

118 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.7
Location
7.2
Staff
8.2
Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Food/Dining
7.5
All reviews (181)
Sort by:
Jeremy H. Business travelers United Kingdom, February 28, 2016
Wonderful ambience at charming hotel

Ambience, restaurant, shabby chic decor
7.7
This is a wonderful little place, full of unexpected corners and corridors and quiet places to sit and read or just soak up the unique atmosphere. It isn't overly-friendly here - no one gushes at you - but its reserved efficiency is in keeping with the feel of a well-run, relaxed, calm family home. A few gripes: the wifi was not stable (a problem if, like me, you were in Vientiane for work, not leisure), the shower had low water flow and fluctuating temperature, and at certain times of the day corners of the Mandala gathered together a few too many mosquitoes. But overall I loved it and would happily return here and probably will.
Report this review
Nicholas M. Couples United Kingdom, January 15, 2016
Wonderful oasis
5.7
Our second time in Vientiane and the Mandala was perfect for us, a quiet oasis in the most laid back capital city in the world. The room was spacious, breakfast was great and the staff were very helpful
Report this review
Adam Z. Couples United Kingdom, December 30, 2015
Lots of style but needs more substance

Beautifully decorated with an excellent restaurant. Good location.
7.7
We were greeted at the reception by a woman so cold that she could freeze the sun. The hotel has the potential to be really top notch but needs to polish out a few details.
Report this review
Diana T. Couples Germany, December 30, 2015
nice home away

unique, open, lofty
7.7
very pleasant
Report this review
Michael S. Couples United States of America, December 10, 2015
We enjoyed it but it could be better

Building, ambience, value
7.7
In general we loved it but I think the place could make it amazingly better with a few extra touches. Of course we know it's an old building so I am not expecting modernity but it would nice if they kept it cleaner. Lounge chairs outside the front door were dusty and our huge balcony looked like it hadn't been mopped or swept in weeks. The location is obviously not amazing but we knew that however it is a pain to get transportation from the hotel and it would make the place way more pleasant if they ran their own small tsk tuk or vehicle that would drop you off in town for the evening just to cut out that hassle. We only at breakfast at the restaurant and can't complain but wasn't anything memorable either. For the money I think the place could take it up a notch and address a few issues to make the stay spectacular.
Report this review
Nattaphon W. Families with young children Thailand, November 28, 2015
Quiet, clean, good environment
6.3
Home stay style with perfect ambiance and surrounding, close to many temples.
Report this review
Xiao L. Solo travelers China, September 26, 2015
it is ok

enviorment
7
Report this review
David W. Solo travelers United States of America, September 8, 2015
A Good Hotel Experience

Clean, Quiet, Clean
6.7
A good hotel located outside the tourist area. Quiet, and clean rooms. 10 min taxi, or 20 plus minute walk to tourist riverfront area.
Report this review
Heidi R. Groups United States of America, June 1, 2015
Nice stay

good breakfast, not far from town with clean rooms
8
The MBH was a nice enough stay during my moth long trip. Nothing bad to say - overall a good stay.
Report this review
Chris G. Business travelers Australia, March 21, 2015
Peaceful Setting - Slow Internet

Peaceful. Relax. Clean.
8
I've stayed here a few times and have the same experience (and room). Biggest problem for me is the slow internet, but could be a Laos issue. Sometimes some problems with the room (water stops, internet stops) but usually resolved. I always get placed in room behind restaurant which can be painful as it is the staff's main walking area. Everybody friendly. Restaurant is a bit fancy for me as a solo traveler and tend to avoid the lunch/dinner as it is a set 3-course menu.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 118 reviews Next page
Mandala Boutique Hotel VientianeMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - ExteriorMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - RestaurantMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - RestaurantMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - InteriorMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Guest RoomMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Guest RoomMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Guest RoomMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Deluxe roomMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - RestaurantMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Guest RoomMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - LobbyMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Guest RoomMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - InteriorMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Deluxe roomMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Food and BeveragesMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - GardenMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Deluxe roomMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - InteriorMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - GardenMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - InteriorMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - GardenMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - InteriorMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - InteriorMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - LobbyMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Guest RoomMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Guest RoomMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Golf CourseMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Deluxe roomMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - TerraceMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - RestaurantMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - VIP RoomMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - OutsideMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - TerraceMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - TerraceMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - RestaurantMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Food and BeveragesMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Food and BeveragesMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Food and BeveragesMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Food and BeveragesMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Food and BeveragesMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Food and BeveragesMandala Boutique Hotel Vientiane - Food and Beverages


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A04