Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.6
Based on 990 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 990 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.7
  • Service 8.7
  • Value for Money 8.3
  • Food/Dining 8.8
Sort by

Sachin J.
United Kingdom
March 20, 2016
Mixed Feelings
Isolation, Beach Bar, Staff
For the most part we really enjoyed our stay but we were left with a sour note as we found bed bugs and left with hundreds of bites. The resort itself is in a great location, the staff are very attentive and the feel of the place is very relaxing. The food is of a good standard and we preferred the beach bar as it was quieter in the evening and found the food to be cooked better as a result. Unfortunately our stay was somewhat ruined as a result of discovering bed bugs on the final night. We had been bitten a few time in the days preceeding and had assumed that they were from mosiquitos or sand flies. However, on the final night of our stay we both awoke with numerous bites and could see bed bugs crawling across our bodies and in the bed. We called the emergency line and the manager put us in another room for the last couple of hours. In the morning the manager was apologetic and refunded a nights stay but this does not make up for the discomfort caused as a result of the bites. We also had to pay for all of our clothes to be laundered at high temperature on our return to the UK to try and kill the bugs and some of our clothes have shrunk as a result. We hope they deal with issue and no one else has to suffer the same discomfort as we have been through!

Christian R.
Spain
March 09, 2016
Nice place to disconnect
Mango Bay offers everything you need if you want to be in the middle of the nature but still having some comfort. No Air con and a bit hot some nights or noisy if you use the fans. If you cant live without this think twice before coming here. Staff superb, friendly and helpful. Snorkel, bike, kayak... Lots of activities. It's a huge place, so even the resort being full you will never have the feeling of a crowded place . Food ok, Nothing really special but nice atmosphere at the restaurant with views to the sea and a nice beach bar to enjoy some food/drinks while watching the sunset. Would recommend it

Bernard T.
United States
March 06, 2016
Mango Getaway
A relaxing getaway is your reward for staying at the Mango Bay Resort. Reuniting with a College buddy from many years ago, we could not have selected a better resort to reminisce and solve world problems. There is not TV to distract, and with the ocean view from our Fisherman's Bungalow, why waste time watching TV ? The bathroom was a unique open air affair and added to the wonderful natural ambience. The Beach Cafe Chef is talented and the Food was so good, I ended up ordering the same item, a Vietnamese Curry Chicken Noodle dish, the second night. The wait staff created a very relaxed and fun dining experience. They truly love their job and were happy and very caring. The Cafe is right on the Beach and the whitewashed wooden furniture is a perfect touch. Operations Managers, John and Esna from South Africa, were wonderful hosts and gratefully offered help and assistance taking care of our needs during our stay as well as information on what to see on the island of Phu Quoc. The free snorkeling equipment at the Mango Bay was worth the price and we actually did see lots of different fish. But waves had stirred up the ocean's floor and the water was a bit merky. Although there is no air conditioning, the fans provided a refreshing cool breeze and I slept great. Also, the even and peaceful noise of the fans drowned out my friend's snoring from the other bed in our bungalow. If you wish to get away and relax, Mango Bay is a great choice.

Joel O.
United Kingdom
March 04, 2016
Very pleasant stay
Quiet, novelty room, free bus to town
Really enjoyed staying here. It was quiet and relaxing. The free bus to town was available if you want to leave the resort

Laura K.
Denmark
February 22, 2016
Best stay
Staff, food and rooms (surroundings)
We spent 6 nights at Mango Bay Resort, and it was absolutely perfect. The staff were all welcoming and kind as they assisted us in booking different tours around the island. Furthermore, the complimentary daily activities were fun and there are many things to do (games, volley ball, soccer etc). The rooms were great, we were afraid of getting too many mosquito bites (we lived in a bungalow villa), however the staff came in every night and ensured this would not happen. Not to forget the best part; their food! Beautifully presented and the chef is able to present you with new specials every day. 8.6 is underrated.Truly money well spent. We hope to be back soon! Laura and Abed // BV5

Vinh N.
Vietnam
February 09, 2016
Beautiful beach and great ocean view from restaurant
This is one of the best eco resort in Phuquoc Island. My stay was very enjoyable and memorable!

Peter D.
United Kingdom
February 04, 2016
A classy place
Location, peacefulness, comfort
We stayed at Mango Bay for 6 nights in a Superior Rammed Earth Bungalow Garden View at $150/nt. They collected us from the ferry terminal on arrival, and dropped us off at the airport when we were leaving. The room was nice, with a few 'eco' features like no tv, no aircon, an ice box instead of a fridge, a hot flask instead of a kettle, and a water jug instead of bottled water. Can't help but feel it's a bit of a gimmick, but it kind of suited the place to be fair. The rooms aren't sealed, so you'll be visited by lizards and mosquitos, but there's a net around the bed so not really an issue. We found the room to be very hot, so it would appear that the thick mud walls don't really help to keep the room cool. The fans didn't help much. The pool bar was out of bounds one day from 3pm for a wedding, which was a bit naughty, as it's a nice place for sunset. Nothing was done to compensate non-wedding guests for the inconvenience. Overall, Mango Bay is a classy affair - food and bev from the restaurant and from the beach bar was consistently good. Great breakfast options. Nice, spacious grounds. Wifi fine.

Vinh L.
Vietnam
January 24, 2016
Best choice when you visit Phu Quoc island
Service Quality - Nice decoration of each areas like rooms, bar, restaurant and beach - Food
This is my very first new experience when I choose to stay this hotel because it's completely different to other resorts I used to stay. I make me feel I was in somewhere as Caribbean areas. Though there is no air condition in the hotel rooms, I still felt comfortable with the atmosphere in there. In addition, the staffs are really nice and friendly. However, I think this hotel is for peole who love the natural environment, not for people who scare of insect haha

Marc W.
United Kingdom
January 20, 2016
Fabulous to get away from the bustle of Vietnam
Peace. Quiet. Food.
A great location away from the hustle and bustle of the town and long beach.

Chun N.
Malaysia
January 08, 2016
Great Eco place for a getaway
Food, Cleanliness and staff performance
We were staying 3 nights for 1 triple room, agreed with the other reviews that the place is still well maintain and staffs are very friendly especially those restaurant staffs. A very enjoyable vacation and definitely will be back if visiting Mango Bay. Was travelled on July with a pay 2 stay 3 offer. Great deal!