Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934

No. 21, Jalan Phuah Hin Leong, Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia 10050

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.8

based on
321 reviews

268 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.5
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
9.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.3
Room Comfort/Standard
9.3
Food/Dining
8.4
All reviews (321)
Sort by:
Wan Y. Families with young children Malaysia, December 23, 2015
Enjoy our stay. Thank you.

the room is spacious with nice and comfortable bed. the staff, Karen provided detailed introduction on the map in penang and how we could travel to places of interest via public transport.
9
It's a comfortable stay. However, during the first night, we heard 'funny' noise outside and upstairs of our room though no one Else occupied the hotel during our stay. We would consider going back to townhouse if there is other occupants in the same hotel.
Report this review
Mary O. Solo travelers Malaysia, September 25, 2015
Penang 1 night stay

Clealiness, the architecture, the interior designs
10
It was my first Penang trip over the Northern island. Though it was only for a night, I was very amazed by the designs and hospitality shown in Mango Tree. The hotel is a boutique hotel located in a narrow alley- Jalan Phuah Hin Leong. It's not hard to identify the hotel as it has a cute 'mango' signboard located at the front gate. From the front it seems to be an ordinary door but once you enter the place, it's a total cultural amazement. Being from another heritage state- Malacca, it has been my dreams to stay in a heritage hotel, with its high ceilings and long in depth compounds. This hotel has it all. I was truly surprised by the size my of ROOM, which I think sized bigger than a studio apartment! The designs were nice, the paintings were warm and I liked best the reading corner behind the TV area. I had a very nice warm bath and the bed was soooo goooddd~~ I wished I could stay for 1 more night. The hotel is located a stones throw away from the very famous Him Heang Tao Sa Pia shop. Overall, I give them a 9.9/10.0 on its hospitality, cleanliness and the full embrace of heritage designs.
Report this review
Terence A. Families with older children United Kingdom, September 21, 2015
Very pleasant

Helpful manager, comfatable and clean,
8.3
Quite unique, a conveted house, so almost home from home, beds very comfortable, every thing nice and clean, lots of information on places to visit and things to do
Report this review
George C. Families with older children Singapore, August 9, 2015
Live like the locals

Food, Service, Food
8.7
If you love living like a local and soak yourself in the local ambience entirely without having to slog through the inconvenience of a guesthouse or a low budget hotel, this is your solution in Penang. Warm reception from the Suitekeeper gives you almost about everything in Penang and answers every of your questions then and later. she is on 24/7 standby on phone to help you and make sure you are safe. Something that even some top class hotels cannot even do. I must give credits to the details the developer had put in to convert this local residential from nothing to what it is today. Overall comfort is there. Location and service is one of the best in town.
Report this review
Daniel P. Couples Colombia, May 21, 2015
In this hotel you will feel like home or better !

Welcoming Staff, Room and custumised service
9.3
From the reservation to check out we felt like home. Karen has welcome us with very useful information about the city and best places to eat (please ask her best food tips and eat around the corner the best fresh roti for breakfast)... Room is very comfortable, clean and very cozy decorated. To go around the city, please ask where you can rent a motorbike. I will come back to visit them with a lot of pleasure!
Report this review
Jonathan G. Groups Malaysia, May 4, 2015
Great place to stay with a nice host

Cosy, near places with good food and spacious
8.3
Report this review
Chee K. Families with young children Malaysia, May 3, 2015
Good Location

touchtown, big room, budget
5.7
Booked a family room but end up provided with 2 separate room 1 same floor but have to share 1 bathroom attached with toilet. It's so troublesome a a group of family travel.
Report this review
Sim C. Groups Singapore, May 3, 2015
Quaint getaway!

cleanliness, quaint different experience, modernized feel in a vintage setting
8
With switches that were olden flip switch and a padlock door, with modern equipment and comfortable bedding is definitely an experience that was truly enjoyed! Love the design of the place, clean, sleek and yet homely at the same time! Enjoyed my time here!
Report this review
Jennifer Y. Couples Singapore, May 1, 2015
Happy Travellers

Staff, cleanliness and good, comfy bed
7.7
The staff, Karen and Uncle are really warm, hospitable and kind. The bed is so comfy and the room is very clean. We stayed in the courtyard unit and its really like having the entire lower shophouse (minus the kitchen) to yourself. It is in a residential area but not difficult to get around once you get your bearings right. Unfortunately, their cafe has ceased operation but they can still arrange breakfast for you. The breakfast is very substantial - tea/coffee, orange juice, Served in pretty tingkats - nonya kueh, fruits, 2 other local dishes (we had prata and fried beehoon on first day and murtabak and char kway teow on the second). The famous apom is just 5 min walk from our unit. If you don't want to opt for their breakfast, there is a pushcart kway teow tng just outside the establishment on the right. You can bring the apoms over to eat too. Many cafes around the vicinity but did not try them. Lastly, must add that Karen is a gem who made getting around Penang easy.
Report this review
Wan L. Families with older children Malaysia, March 15, 2015
Strongly recommenda

Comfortable, location and clean
8.3
Will back again
Report this review
1 - 10 of 268 reviews Next page
Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 PenangMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Courtyard SuiteMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Terrace SuiteMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Family Suite Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Family Suite Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Terrace SuiteMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Family SuiteMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Family SuiteMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Family SuiteMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Living AreaMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Living AreaMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Room FacilitiesMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - ToiletMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Living AreaMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Courtyard Suite - Courtyard AreaMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Courtyard Suite - Courtyard AreaMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Living AreaMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Courtyard SuiteMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - ReceptionMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Courtyard SuiteMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Courtyard Suite - Courtyard AreaMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Living AreaMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Courtyard SuiteMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Courtyard Suite - Courtyard AreaMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Reading RoomMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Courtyard SuiteMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Courtyard Suite - Courtyard AreaMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Living AreaMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Courtyard Suite - Courtyard AreaMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Terrace SuiteMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Family Suite


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A05