My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934

No. 29, Jalan Phuah Hin Leong, Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia 10050 (Show on map)

Book now!

Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Courtyard Suite Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Courtyard Suite Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Terrace Suite Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Terrace Suite Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Family Suite (max 5 Pax) Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Family Suite (max 5 Pax) Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Guest Room Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Guest Room Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Guest Room Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Guest Room Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Living Area Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Living Area Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Room Facilities Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Bathroom Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Hotel Interior Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Lobby
Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Courtyard Suite - Courtyard Area Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Hotel Exterior Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Hotel Interior Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Hotel Interior
Hotel Area: Georgetown Number of Rooms: 10
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.9

based on
288 reviews

Value for Money
8.5
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
9.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.3
Room Comfort/Standard
9.4
Food/Dining
8.4
All reviews (288)
Sort by:
Austina C. Solo travelers Hong Kong, March 19, 2014
Lovely Place

Interesting designs, great staff & delicious break
9
The staff in MTP are very nice & they provide top of the line services: drive us to a great local food stall & we taste the best Laksa! Their breakfast is a delight combination of Chinese, Malaysian & Indian food and can change according to our special demand. Lovely design in every room, next time I will definitely book the ground floor suite for it has the lovely private courtyard – with a swing!
Yanping T. Groups Singapore, February 24, 2014
Welcoming and Comfortable

Thoughtful Staff, Homely Environment, Big Comfortable Rooms
8.7
The stay is extremely pleasant as Karen, the Suitekeeper, will make sure your needs are well taken care off. You start your stay with a short briefing where Karen will share with you tips on what you can look out for within 15mins circumference from the Suite. I stayed in the Courtyard suite and totally love the swing that's in my courtyard! Whether you are traveling alone, as a couple or a family, Mango Tree Place will be a great choice. Location is slightly off the main town but all the famous Penang locally produced pastries like the Tau Sa Pia by good local brands such as Ghim Heang and Him Heang are all within walking distance from the suite!
Nathaniel W. Solo travelers United States of America, February 24, 2014
Excellent....unusual..memorable!

Hospitality, comfort, quiet
9
It was great! Staff incredibly friendly and helpful! Surrounding interesting, bed comfy, very peaceful! Nice rooster to act as alarm clock next door! The rooms are funky and unique....each with it's own charm....nice surprises whenever you turn around and look! Lots of care and creativity involved in a low-key friendly way.....wouldn't hesitate to return and highly revommend!
Yien L. Groups Singapore, February 16, 2014
Perfect stay for the weekend!

Comfortable, great staff and amazing breakfast
9.7
Staying at Mango Tree really made our trip to Penang special. We were a group of four women and we stayed in the family suit, which was well appointed - they really think of everything! There are adaptors, a hairdryer, two showers to make shower time quick for large groups. It was clean and well kept, with cute little decorative touches everywhere. There was an ironing board downstairs, as well as a crib if you needed it. Plus a common room for guests to chill out and use the computer. They also provide bottled water everyday. Breakfast was excellent and there are vegetarian options (tell them in advance) if you need. We were discussing what the best food we'd eaten during the trip was, and it was unanimously the banana prata that we'd had for breakkie at Mango Tree. Karen is really lovely and so helpful with giving us advice on where to buy the best tau sar pneah and personally shuttling us to the airport. It is a little far to walk from the main Georgetown area, but they arrange a free shuttle to the town in the morning if you request for it. And taxis are cheap. I would recommend this place for families and large groups of friends, and I would love to go back again.
Vivian L. Couples Australia, January 30, 2014
Fantastic stay at a charming B&B

Service, breakfast, comfort
10
We chose to stay at Mango Tree Place after reading all the great reviews online. We were definitely not disappointed! We stayed in the family suite which had two bedrooms and a shared bathroom. The bathroom itself had two rain showers which was a plus. The rooms were large, clean and beautifully decorated. Free bottled water, soft drinks and snacks were provided every day. Breakfast was included and was soooo good! A range of local foods were provided, as well as fruits, coffee and juice - much better than your usual hotel continental breakfast. A vast range of DVDs and books were available for us to borrow and free wifi was available. The staff at Mango Tree were extremely friendly and helpful - if it were not for them we would have missed out on visiting a local street art exhibition (Art is Rubbish is Art). Highly recommend anyone going to Penang to stay at Mango Tree Place. We will definitely stay there again.
Andrew B. Couples United Kingdom, January 20, 2014
Great Boutique and Hoistoric Hotel

The room/suite, garden courtyard and bathroom
8
We had a great time at the Mango Tree Place. It is a hotel for people who want ambience, friendly staff, space and comfort, but without the many additional things you find in higher priced/rated hotels. The rooms are very comfortable, but remembering that the hotel is an old residence (built in 1934), it is not overtly 'luxurious. But the bed is comfortable, the room we were in has a really cute little internal courtyard with swing seat. Breakfast is brought in from local food hawkers, and is the best traditional style we have had in more than 2 years in Malaysia.
Amy H. Groups Australia, January 9, 2014
Wonderfully cute and quaint

1. Amazing large breakfast including a selection of local foods, or western options available 2. Extremely accommodating and friendly staff 3. Great location
10
1. Room - Very clean! - Large, plenty of space. Kindly set up another bed for extra guest. - Beds were large and very comfortable - Mini bar fridge stocked with free non-alcoholic drinks and water bottles given daily. - Privacy was fantastic, had entire floor to ourselves. 2. Bathroom - Very large bathroom (shower, sink and toilet) - Not attached to the bedroom but across from the room just down your small corridor - Very clean and well maintained 3. Breakfast - SUPERB! Included local foods such as selection of kuey cakes and pastries, curry puffs, a noodle dish (mee goreng, char keuy teow, bee hoon etc.), roti canai, fresh local fruit platter, toast with spreads, tea/coffee/juice/water 4. Staff - The most friendly and approachable staff I've met at a hotel! Extremely accommodating. Provided tourist information as well as local secrets for dining and shopping. 5. Amenities - Excellent WiFi - Free local phone accessible - Bathroom amenities were provided and refreshed daily - Great selection of DVDs, books etc. for any free time for free 6. Design - All the detail was adorable and added to the atmosphere of the hotel. Wall art and murals were fantastic. Very modern and fresh! - Upkeep and maintenance is impeccable 7. Location - Fantastic! Good to be in the middle of the city centre and the famous Guerney Drive. Not far from other tourist attractions. Many points of interest and useful locations nearby - Just off the main road, so noise levels were not an issue. - Well known area so was easy to get to and from
Jimmy S. Families with young children Singapore, December 29, 2013
Cosy and convenient

Home like feeling, good customer service, nice design
8.3
The internet could use some upgrade, rather slow. The room is nicely design, large size and good for kids. Great customer service, convenient car park allocation.
Yann L. Couples Singapore, December 24, 2013
Awesome stay, feels at home.

Service, decor, comfortable room
9.7
We loved the place the moment we stepped in. The decor was beautiful, with a contemporary but vintage / old school feel to it. The owners have put in a lot of thoughts and efforts in decorating the place. The room were very cosy, spacious and airy, unlike a typical cramped hotel room. Lots of privacy. The decor and architecture somehow makes the room very cooling. We didn't even need to switch on the zircon despite the hot weather in Penang! Tip: Opt for the ground floor rooms, where you get a private courtyard. You can sit at lounge at the courtyard. Makes the room bright and airy too! The internet is fast. Breakfast was really good and sumptuous, with local fare such as char kway trow and the peranakan kuehs. A nice departure from the usual intercontinental breakfast. The place is quite centrally located, and easily accessible to most of the tourist spots by cab or by walking. There are hawker food, spas and convenience stores just right outside the hotel. The service is impeccable. The owners and staff are very attentive and friendly. We missed our breakfast and they were so kind as to send the food to our room. Wei the owner was very helpful and nice to chat with, giving us recommendation to all the places in Penang. She made us feel very at home the moment we arrived. Thank you, Wei! Staying in Mango Tree Place was definitely one of the highlights of our trip.
Julie C. Families with older children Australia, December 20, 2013
Family friendly and relaxing

Friendly and helpful staff, spacious family suite, located in residential area away from tourist precincts.
9.3

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 PenangMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Courtyard SuiteMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Courtyard SuiteMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Terrace SuiteMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Terrace SuiteMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Family Suite (max 5 Pax)Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Family Suite (max 5 Pax)Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Guest RoomMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Guest RoomMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Guest RoomMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Guest RoomMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Living AreaMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Living AreaMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Room FacilitiesMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - BathroomMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Hotel InteriorMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - LobbyMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Courtyard Suite - Courtyard AreaMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Hotel ExteriorMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Hotel InteriorMango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang - Hotel Interior


AS-AGWEB-3B03