arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.7
Based on 146 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 146 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
  • Location 8.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.6
  • Staff Performance 9.2
  • Value for Money 9.2
  • Food/Dining 8.0

6.3 charlotte S.
United Kingdom
August 15, 2015
average guesthouse
location (if fit and no children!), cheap price including breakfast, helpful and informative staff
Pros In chinatown, 20mins walk from waterfront, if you're on a budget it's a great place to meet other travellers and the staff are v helpful and informative, also it's right on the bus route for bako np Cons As a couple, on holiday, the shared bathrooms are too close to the reception area and breakfast area so there's a lack of privacy. However, if you're staying in a room down the other corridor the bathrooms are a bit closer and not quite as public.

9 niamh K.
Ireland
June 24, 2015
Friendly staff, loved out stay
Staff, clean room
We planned to stay here for two nights but decided to return to Marco Polo after going to bako national park because we liked the place so much! V friendly and helpful staff! Never tried to push a tour on us, but gave us all the information we needed to get around! Free tea, coffee and water at anytime and kitchen facilities to cook our own food. Wifi was good too! It's about a 15min walk to the riverside, so there are other options more central but would def recommend this place as the staff r lovely! They let us leave our big bags there wen we went to bako which was a nice bonus!

9 JEYANTHI T.
Malaysia
May 11, 2015
BACKPACKER'S HEAVEN
Clean , Food & Staffs
Stayed here for 6D/5N. We totally love the guesthouse !! It was very well kept , maintained clean & nice ambiance. Room was spacious and comfortable. We had everything we need here. Located very close to waterfront & town center. Easily could walk to many places. Access to public transport is very near. There are many shops around to eat. They served breakfast like egg toast , breads, cupcakes, pancakes, eggs, sausages , bananas, pastries, drinks and more. Sam, Jane & Drub was extremely friendly & helpful. We felt very much like at home. Highly recommended for stay. Great value for money !!

8 Stephen S.
Canada
May 01, 2015
Great place for the price
Downtown location, very friendly staff/owners, relaxing vibe
Very good

9.3 Sophie S.
United Kingdom
April 30, 2015
Great clean place with awesome hosts
The location is perfect the owners where so helpful, really friendly and full of info. The rooms are comfy clean and with good aircon. Of I'm ever in the area it will be the first place I will stay!
Great atmosphere with the owners and other guest. Great services like the laundry done for you, dried and folded for a tiny fee. They have a great knowledge of the area and its history plus really good English so they can help with all needs. We where very comfy and made to feel at home and the rooms are near perfect for the price. Will definitely be back :)

10 Ted M.
United States
April 09, 2015
Marco Polo the first and still the best in Kuching
Location friendly knowledgable staff and great free breakfast
I had a great time at Marco polo guesthouse in Kuching , Sarawak . The owners are very kind and attentive to all guest needs . The location is great by many good cheap restaurants and food markets . All the rooms are very clean with access to wifi air con and even cable tv . I'd come back and bring friends !

8.7 Daniel W.
United States
April 03, 2015
Best bet for your home away from home in Kuching
The owners, common areas and breakfast.
I had a very pleasant stay. The owners are very friendly, active and attentive. The walls are covered with hard-to-find historical photos of Sarawak. The breakfast area is fresh and cheery, being open on one side to admit plenty of air and light. There's also a cozy sitting area at the end of the hall. The only improvement needed is brighter lighting in the otherwise pleasant bedroom. I have already returned for a second stay.

10 Wei L.
Malaysia
March 24, 2015
Probably the best in Kuching!
location, breakfast, hospitability
Stayed with Marco Polo mixed dorm for 4 nights and then returned for another night before I flew out from Kuching. Have to say it is one of the best value for money guesthouses I have ever stayed. Good location (10mins walk to waterfront/main bazaar/carpenter street, located near the main gate cat statue of Jalan Padungan, 5mins away from the legendary Noodle Descendent), clean and comfortable bed, very friendly guesthouse owner Sam & Georgette, strong wifi, delicious breakfast: toast, pancake/cupcake, fruits, coffee tea. Sometimes I regret eating too much in Marco Polo's ended up not having space in my stomach for Sarawak Laksa which is only available in the morning. Sam & Georgette also give you the best info for food and sightseeing places. Make sure you ask where they usually have their meals for the best recommendations! They also give each guest a comprehensive list of point of interest near Kuching with the public bus number / telephone / address which is very useful. Will choose here again if I am back in Kuching.

10 Wei L.
Malaysia
March 24, 2015
Probably the best in Kuching
breakfast, hospitality, location
Stayed with Marco Polo mixed dorm for 4 nights and then returned for another night before I flew out from Kuching. Have to say it is one of the best value for money guesthouses I have ever stayed. Good location (10mins walk to waterfront/main bazaar/carpenter street, located near the main gate cat statue of Jalan Padungan, 5mins away from the legendary Noodle Descendent), clean and comfortable bed, very friendly guesthouse owner Sam & Georgette, strong wifi, delicious breakfast: toast, pancake/cupcake, fruits, coffee tea. Sometimes I regret eating too much in Marco Polo's ended up not having space in my stomach for Sarawak Laksa which is only available in the morning. Sam & Georgette also give you the best info for food and sightseeing places. Make sure you ask where they usually have their meals for the best recommendations! They also give each guest a comprehensive list of point of interest near Kuching with the public bus number / telephone / address which is very useful. Will choose here again if I am back in Kuching.

10 LILIMATUN Z.
Malaysia
February 10, 2015
Perfect place for travellers
Cleanliness, hospitality and spacious room
It was superb! I am 7 months pregnant, travelling with my husband and 3 years old daughter for 5 days. This place is just perfect for us.