Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Marco Polo's Guest House

1st Floor, 236, Padungan Road, Kuching City Center, Kuching, Malaysia 93100

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.8

based on
65 reviews

97 reviews in English

Value for Money
9.3
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
9.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.9
Room Comfort/Standard
8.5
Food/Dining
8.3
Solo travelers (65)
Sort by:
Arumugam S. Solo travelers Malaysia, December 20, 2015
Good Location

Worth the money
8.3
Good location and car parking is avaiable
Report this review
Shannon H. Solo travelers Australia, November 15, 2015
Peanut butter

Very amiable and helpful staff and a very homely, cosey feel
9
Very pleasant. I shall surely return
Report this review
Chandra G. Solo travelers United States of America, June 7, 2015
Great Breakfast Choice = Good Value !

Staff Friendliness, Breakfast Included, Overall Cleanliness
8
Marco Polo is located in the 'new' Chinatown section of Kuching, at the western end of Jalan Pedungan, right near one of the several large cat statues. The staff, elder parents and a young-adult son, are very friendly and helpful, all speaking very good English! They are readily available to assist with directions and travel information, be it for local bus or mini-van transportation, or to out-lying Markets or National Parks, or transport to another city. Near-by are many food vendors, as well as souvenir shops, noodle shops, guesthouses, cafes, and some bars. The rooms are of a good size, many sharing an entire wall-with-windows with a hallway, which can be noisy with others passing back and forth. There are three areas for gathering: one with the TV, one a sitting room, and the third is the balcony-breakfast-eating area, which is also,the smoking area !! That is one unfortunate aspect of MarcoPolo: the outside balcony, where the WiFi is best, has to be shared with smokers. oh well ! Within walking distance near-by are Vegetarian restos, an Organic Food store (New Health Organic), many food courts, and several fruit or flower vendors. Real Massage Studios, as well as Cinemas and large Grocery stores are within walking distance. Kuching is an easy city to be in: many folk speak or understand English, it has clean and well-groomed and landscaped walkways, relatively clean air, and just 'normal' traffic congestion, compared with other cities. There are quite a few National Parks worth visiting while staying in Kuching. I do recommend Marco Polo for travellers-- they really do offer more than the 'normal' bread (toast) and jam for breakfast, and it changes each day !
Report this review
Jeyanthi T. Solo travelers Malaysia, May 5, 2015
BACKPACKER'S HEAVEN

Clean , Food & Staffs
9
Stayed here for 6D/5N. We totally love the guesthouse !! It was very well kept , maintained clean & nice ambiance. Room was spacious and comfortable. We had everything we need here. Located very close to waterfront & town center. Easily could walk to many places. Access to public transport is very near. There are many shops around to eat. They served breakfast like egg toast , breads, cupcakes, pancakes, eggs, sausages , bananas, pastries, drinks and more. Sam, Jane & Drub was extremely friendly & helpful. We felt very much like at home. Highly recommended for stay. Great value for money !!
Report this review
Ted M. Solo travelers United States of America, April 5, 2015
Marco Polo the first and still the best in Kuching

Location friendly knowledgable staff and great free breakfast
10
I had a great time at Marco polo guesthouse in Kuching , Sarawak . The owners are very kind and attentive to all guest needs . The location is great by many good cheap restaurants and food markets . All the rooms are very clean with access to wifi air con and even cable tv . I'd come back and bring friends !
Report this review
Daniel W. Solo travelers United States of America, March 30, 2015
Best bet for your home away from home in Kuching

The owners, common areas and breakfast.
8.7
I had a very pleasant stay. The owners are very friendly, active and attentive. The walls are covered with hard-to-find historical photos of Sarawak. The breakfast area is fresh and cheery, being open on one side to admit plenty of air and light. There's also a cozy sitting area at the end of the hall. The only improvement needed is brighter lighting in the otherwise pleasant bedroom. I have already returned for a second stay.
Report this review
Wei J. Solo travelers Malaysia, March 12, 2015
Probably the best in Kuching

breakfast, hospitality, location
10
Stayed with Marco Polo mixed dorm for 4 nights and then returned for another night before I flew out from Kuching. Have to say it is one of the best value for money guesthouses I have ever stayed. Good location (10mins walk to waterfront/main bazaar/carpenter street, located near the main gate cat statue of Jalan Padungan, 5mins away from the legendary Noodle Descendent), clean and comfortable bed, very friendly guesthouse owner Sam & Georgette, strong wifi, delicious breakfast: toast, pancake/cupcake, fruits, coffee tea. Sometimes I regret eating too much in Marco Polo's ended up not having space in my stomach for Sarawak Laksa which is only available in the morning. Sam & Georgette also give you the best info for food and sightseeing places. Make sure you ask where they usually have their meals for the best recommendations! They also give each guest a comprehensive list of point of interest near Kuching with the public bus number / telephone / address which is very useful. Will choose here again if I am back in Kuching.
Report this review
Wei J. Solo travelers Malaysia, March 11, 2015
Probably the best in Kuching!

location, breakfast, hospitability
10
Stayed with Marco Polo mixed dorm for 4 nights and then returned for another night before I flew out from Kuching. Have to say it is one of the best value for money guesthouses I have ever stayed. Good location (10mins walk to waterfront/main bazaar/carpenter street, located near the main gate cat statue of Jalan Padungan, 5mins away from the legendary Noodle Descendent), clean and comfortable bed, very friendly guesthouse owner Sam & Georgette, strong wifi, delicious breakfast: toast, pancake/cupcake, fruits, coffee tea. Sometimes I regret eating too much in Marco Polo's ended up not having space in my stomach for Sarawak Laksa which is only available in the morning. Sam & Georgette also give you the best info for food and sightseeing places. Make sure you ask where they usually have their meals for the best recommendations! They also give each guest a comprehensive list of point of interest near Kuching with the public bus number / telephone / address which is very useful. Will choose here again if I am back in Kuching.
Report this review
Siti A. Solo travelers Malaysia, September 27, 2014
Nice & Comfortable Stay!

Cleanliness, location and breakfast :)
8.7
It was a very nice and comfortable stay. Excellent choice of breakfast! Owner, Sam was very friendly and helpful, you just feel like your home.
Report this review
Rosalind C. Solo travelers Malaysia, June 20, 2014
Fantastic!

Friendly staff, very clean, value for money
9
My only regret was not extending my stay. I had a great time there especially in "Summer" Room, met new friends and Sam, his wife and Drew were very warm and helpful. Free breakfast and you are welcome to cook too. I'd definitely return!
Report this review
1 - 10 of 141 reviews Next page
Marco Polo’s Guest House KuchingMarco Polo’s Guest House Kuching - DoubleMarco Polo’s Guest House Kuching - DoubleMarco Polo’s Guest House Kuching - Twin Air ConditioningMarco Polo’s Guest House Kuching - ReceptionMarco Polo’s Guest House Kuching - Backdoor EntranceMarco Polo’s Guest House Kuching - HallwayMarco Polo’s Guest House Kuching - HallwayMarco Polo’s Guest House Kuching - InteriorMarco Polo’s Guest House Kuching - InteriorMarco Polo’s Guest House Kuching - InteriorMarco Polo’s Guest House Kuching - BalconyMarco Polo’s Guest House Kuching - Balcony Marco Polo’s Guest House Kuching - Breakfast AreaMarco Polo’s Guest House Kuching - Breakfast AreaMarco Polo’s Guest House Kuching - Breakfast AreaMarco Polo’s Guest House Kuching - ExteriorMarco Polo’s Guest House Kuching - InteriorMarco Polo’s Guest House Kuching - Common Area


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A07