Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 154 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
  • Location 8.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.6
  • Service 9.3
  • Value for money 9.2
  • Food/Dining 8.0
Sort by

Adila A. from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in December 2015
A quirky quiet place
I was traveling with a friend and we got a room for 2. It overlooked the main street (Jalan Padungan) with old fashioned shops. It was right near the arch at the start of Jalan Padungan! There are many food shops down the road, you'd just have to hunt a bit and be wary of what time the shops open and close. We only stayed for a night though. And it was on Christmas day. So there weren't many people around as it was also the wet season.
Reviewed February 03, 2016

MAYERNI S. from Indonesia
Groups
Stayed 4 nights in May 2014
The hostel is nice and the staf is kind
The location is around china-town, so it's easier to grab something to eat, quite places, very clean, and staf is kind and helpful
It was nice and comfortable. But the wifi didn't reach our bedroom
Reviewed January 03, 2016

ARUMUGAM S. from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in December 2015
Good Location
Worth the money
Good location and car parking is avaiable
Reviewed December 23, 2015

Nur A. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed one night in November 2015
It is a really nice place to stay.
Nice bathrooms, great rooms for two people. Their wifi are really satisfying. And the owner is really super duper nice. But the location is quite far from the halal food because of location.
It is really nice!
Reviewed November 28, 2015

Shannon H. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in November 2015
Peanut butter
Very amiable and helpful staff and a very homely, cosey feel
Very pleasant. I shall surely return
Reviewed November 16, 2015

Chandra R. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 14 nights in May 2015
Great Breakfast Choice = Good Value !
Staff Friendliness, Breakfast Included, Overall Cleanliness
Marco Polo is located in the 'new' Chinatown section of Kuching, at the western end of Jalan Pedungan, right near one of the several large cat statues. The staff, elder parents and a young-adult son, are very friendly and helpful, all speaking very good English! They are readily available to assist with directions and travel information, be it for local bus or mini-van transportation, or to out-lying Markets or National Parks, or transport to another city. Near-by are many food vendors, as well as souvenir shops, noodle shops, guesthouses, cafes, and some bars. The rooms are of a good size, many sharing an entire wall-with-windows with a hallway, which can be noisy with others passing back and forth. There are three areas for gathering: one with the TV, one a sitting room, and the third is the balcony-breakfast-eating area, which is also,the smoking area !! That is one unfortunate aspect of MarcoPolo: the outside balcony, where the WiFi is best, has to be shared with smokers. oh well ! Within walking distance near-by are Vegetarian restos, an Organic Food store (New Health Organic), many food courts, and several fruit or flower vendors. Real Massage Studios, as well as Cinemas and large Grocery stores are within walking distance. Kuching is an easy city to be in: many folk speak or understand English, it has clean and well-groomed and landscaped walkways, relatively clean air, and just 'normal' traffic congestion, compared with other cities. There are quite a few National Parks worth visiting while staying in Kuching. I do recommend Marco Polo for travellers-- they really do offer more than the 'normal' bread (toast) and jam for breakfast, and it changes each day !
Reviewed September 05, 2015

jonathan K. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in August 2015
Basic, nice, no duvet
Cheap
Air con with no duvet.
Reviewed September 01, 2015

charlotte S. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in August 2015
average guesthouse
location (if fit and no children!), cheap price including breakfast, helpful and informative staff
Pros In chinatown, 20mins walk from waterfront, if you're on a budget it's a great place to meet other travellers and the staff are v helpful and informative, also it's right on the bus route for bako np Cons As a couple, on holiday, the shared bathrooms are too close to the reception area and breakfast area so there's a lack of privacy. However, if you're staying in a room down the other corridor the bathrooms are a bit closer and not quite as public.
Reviewed August 15, 2015

niamh K. from Ireland
Couples
Stayed one night in June 2015
Friendly staff, loved out stay
Staff, clean room
We planned to stay here for two nights but decided to return to Marco Polo after going to bako national park because we liked the place so much! V friendly and helpful staff! Never tried to push a tour on us, but gave us all the information we needed to get around! Free tea, coffee and water at anytime and kitchen facilities to cook our own food. Wifi was good too! It's about a 15min walk to the riverside, so there are other options more central but would def recommend this place as the staff r lovely! They let us leave our big bags there wen we went to bako which was a nice bonus!
Reviewed June 24, 2015

JEYANTHI T. from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in April 2015
BACKPACKER'S HEAVEN
Clean , Food & Staffs
Stayed here for 6D/5N. We totally love the guesthouse !! It was very well kept , maintained clean & nice ambiance. Room was spacious and comfortable. We had everything we need here. Located very close to waterfront & town center. Easily could walk to many places. Access to public transport is very near. There are many shops around to eat. They served breakfast like egg toast , breads, cupcakes, pancakes, eggs, sausages , bananas, pastries, drinks and more. Sam, Jane & Drub was extremely friendly & helpful. We felt very much like at home. Highly recommended for stay. Great value for money !!
Reviewed May 11, 2015