Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.1
Based on 256 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 256 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
  • Location 7.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for Money 8.2
  • Food/Dining 7.5

peter G. from Canada
Couples
Stayed one night in February 2016
terrific
cleanliness, no shared walls with other guests, central location
Clean, central, pool, food was decent, transportation a breeze, hot shower, etc. Of course it's more expensive than a regular hostel, but well worth it
Reviewed February 16, 2016

Peter D. from Ireland
Couples
Stayed 10 nights in February 2016
Best swimming pool in resort
Friendly staff, beautiful swimming pool and relaxing garden
Annual revisit but nothing has changed since last here. It seems occupied so business must be good. Hideaway holiday could have better illumination inside, black-out curtains and colder air-conditioning. Hair and body soapy device did not work. One complementary coffee and tea sachet allowed daily. Anti-mosquito coils were not supplied regularly. Noise pollution from neighbours' chickens, roosters and barking dogs remain problematic from around 5 am - 7 pm. Mosquitoes active outside the cottages if seated on the veranda.
Reviewed February 13, 2016

Imogen H. from United Kingdom
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
Fun base and lovely place to stay
We were as a group of 6 for 3 nights, was a great place to see Moalboal and the surrounding area. The fish at breakfast was very tasty, pool was very nice and staff all very friendly. A good stay - would recommend highly.
Reviewed February 13, 2016

Nikhil I. from Singapore
Families with young children
Stayed 5 nights in February 2016
Should be called Marcosas Meadow
The property is large and very green, however hot it may be, entering the property was always a pleasure. The maintenance is excellent, the housekeeping is impeccable. The room has thoughtful lighting. Special mention about the responsiveness of the staff, our transfers back and forth from airport and trip to Osleb were smoothly handled. My compliments to the management for creating an environment where the staff show a lot of ownership in their duties. Strongly recommended. Cheers! Nikhil
Reviewed February 09, 2016

Martynas K. from Lithuania
Families with young children
Stayed one night in February 2016
not worth the money there are better places for sure
staff is quite cold, location is not perfect (but not bad either), the breakfast is very weak, you have to pay for extra addons if you want to have normal breakfast. also for this price there is no wifi in the room and in lobby it is pretty slow. also you have to pay extra fees for almost everything (for example for pool towels you have to pay 100php and if you want them to be changed they will charge you again 100php). good things are the pool and cleanliness, but in general this hotel is much much overpriced, you can get better or similar hotel nearby for half of the price.
Reviewed February 06, 2016

Douglas E. from United States
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
Not again
Upon arriving at Marcosas cottages I was greeted with a glowering 3-5 second stare from the manager. Why? Probably because she was sizing me up to see if I would readily acquiesce to paying the extra 100 pesos per night surcharge because apparently, like me, you may overlook marking 2 adults will be staying in your room when booking with Agoda. . hmmm.huh? Although this being the 2nd time we stayed at Marcosas cottages I never noticed where I have to mark 2 adults staying in the room either time. Isn't that a given? I've used Agoda much and I've never had this experience except at Marcosas cottages twice. Commonly known as a racket in the Philippines. Ok, I paid an extra 100 pesos per night so my wife could sleep with me. Wonderful first impression. Walking into the cottage I noticed the 2 single rattan beds were not the 1 double bed I saw in the descriptive photo. There is a six inch separation between the 2 beds so don't expect to comfortably cuddle with your significant other. Cheap plastic toilet seats with pee stains. Aside from this the rooms are clean. The food in general is unsavory with too much butter slapped on and turtle service. Most offputting was the downright rude and unfriendly reception. The salty manager has worked there for 10 years and it seems to rub off on the staff. Unfortunate because it's a nice place but much better to stay closer to the beachfront. . it's almost a block away. I decided to give it a second chance, but not again.
Reviewed February 04, 2016

Yao S. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in January 2016
Good value hotel and nice facilities
Good value hotel on the main road by the beach. Swimming pool and spa centre were nice amenities, only a few places have that in that area. Only small complaint is the water pressure in the showers are weak. Will still recommend.
Reviewed January 24, 2016

Benjamin R. from Netherlands
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
Enjoy
Nice Pool, the rooms are great big and clean
The stay at marcosas was great. I would chose this resort again when we go again to moalboal.
Reviewed January 15, 2016

Richard S. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in December 2015
Nice stay at a very decent price
swimming pool, cleanliness, spacious
Very nice, clean and decent sized rooms. Breakfast was great and the swimming pool was lovely. Would recommend staying here.
Reviewed January 15, 2016

Amber H. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2016
Lovely little hotel with enormous sized rooms!
Value, location, room size.
This was a little slice of luxury on our trip. We'd stayed in backpackers and a few other places and splurged on this hotel compared to others we'd booked - and we weren't disappointed. The rooms were MASSIVE! Plus there was a private garden and patio out the front with plenty of room to hang laundry to dry, or diving gear to dry. There was no wifi in the room, but there was in the lobby and restaurant. The water was warm, the air con cold plus there's a fan in the room if the aircon gets a bit too cold. The bed was comfy and I really liked the individual throw rug/blankets per person to sleep with. In fact I liked them so much I'd have bought one if they were for sale! The room was immaculately clean, it had a fridge and tea/coffee facilities. There was a spare single bed which was handy to lay out our clothes on. Breakfast choices were slightly lmimted but still a great value hotel. I liked that the pool was quiet and private when compared to some others in the area. Lastly, all the staff were lovely and the front desk ladies were particularly helpful.
Reviewed January 10, 2016