Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.6
Based on 27 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 27 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.8
  • Service 8.7
  • Value for money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 8.3

Dina W. from United Kingdom
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Needs updating but location beautiful
location
We chose this hotel based on the positive comments on a well known traveler site. We booked for two nights however, we opted to check out of this hotel one night early as we thought it was a little outdated our room smelt of damp and the generator cuts off during the night meaning the fan also cuts off (no central air conditioning). The bed linen in our room also smelt of damp, when we tried to change our room the management refused. The staff weren't very responsive and there were no phones in the bedrooms, the room door isn't very secure either. Unfortunately we were genuinely looking forward to staying here as the location is really scenic (overlooking a river) and a good entry point to Tea Country however we were unsatisfied with the standard of the interior of the hotel treatment of the staff and would not recommend it as it needs to be refreshed, its a rickety old hotel and the pricing does not reflect its quality (I've stayed in cheaper newer hostels in Europe).
Reviewed November 05, 2012

Jayne V. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2012
Lovely boutique hotel
Location
We were lucky to be upgraded to the first floor suite which was beautiful and spacious. The hotel is a bit hard to find but the stay here is all about the location which is breath taking. The hotel is small and well run. The food was good, if a little overpriced, but eating breakfast on the veranda with the view of the mist covered hills and valley below is priceless. Nothing much to do in the area other than chill which is what this place is all about.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Ng C. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
Location is extremely remote
Traquality of the hotel enviornment.
Hotel is located very far from any major attraction. It is located about 50Km away from Kandy city railway station, and takes about 2 hours to get there by a driver who hasn't been to this hotel before. The hotel is actually located on the mountain, and is so far away from anywhere; my taxi took about an hour to get to the foot of the mountain and then another hour from there to reach to the hotel. Once checked-in it is absolutely not easy to go anywhere especially after dark. Before reaching to the hotel's front door there is a steep slope of about 60 degree downhill. Due to the remoteness of the location, the hotel charged each person for us$30 ( yes, $60 for 2+12%VAT + 10% service)for a so so set dinner excluding drink. It may not be expensive dinner, but the problem is: there is no other choice. I believe this hotel is only good for visitors who may want to do hiking in the nearby area for few days and retreat in a quiet place. If you are first time visitor in Sri Lanka, who want to explore kandy city for its historical and other interests, please think twice before making your booking confirmation. Having said all these, I must praise the hotel for its nice setting, cleanliness, and the the spectacular view overlooking the river. The service was excellent and the staffs were always helpful and friendly.
Reviewed October 06, 2012

YUE L. from China
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2012
Lovely hotel with amazing view
Amazing sightseeing
It is a beautiful hotel with amazing view. But also quit hard to find,especially in the evening. Our driver spent 5hours from Colombo to Kandy this hotel.
Reviewed October 03, 2012

Sarah M. from United Kingdom
Groups
Stayed one night in September 2012
Great rooms and beautiful settings- poor service
The view and the rooms were great
Not all of the staff are competent at providing the simplest of request. i.e. drinks. Things we ordered did not always arrive despite requesting it several times. We didnt stay long, so I am unable to comment on much but the rooms and views were stunning. It is quite far away from Kandy, about 1.5hrs by car but worth the trip if you have time to spare.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Nicholas S. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
Peaceful and beautiful setting
Peaceful and picturesque location
Our stay was great - the hotel is beautiful and in a great location (if you don't mind being in a secluded area away from any towns). Staff were very attentive; however, I must admit the food is way overpriced! I have paid less for 5 star meals in Sydney. Despite this, the food was beautiful and fresh. All ingredients were either grown onsite or sourced locally. Cudos to the chef!
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Ida N. from Indonesia
Families with young children
Stayed one night in August 2012
Hommy and great hotel
Best stay and nature
We stayed for family Holliday at 2 rooms in this homey and great hotel. We really enjoy stayed here. We did hiking to visit the lake with dog guide us,.. Seeing the buffalo and enjoying quite and peacefully place. Small, quite,humble staff, comfort, swimming pool, by circle,,... This hotel is really lovely and great. We feel stay in our own home,.. And enjoy the nature and environment with also society here. We can hear birth, field people doing carrying the field by shouting and trying to hide the birth ,... Itshisticated,.... Trying to stay,.. U will feel what we feel thre,.....
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Peter K. from Netherlands
Families with older children
Stayed one night in July 2012
Going `going back in time` in luxuary
Authentic in style & service
This mansion was the highlight of the Sri Lankan tour. We had expected a great stay, but this was excellent. The surroundings, the eye for details in design, the quality and presentation of the food and last but not the least, the wunderful staf. I heighly recommend this place for those whom appreciate the personal touch and genuine smile. W'll surely be back. One small detail: it;s difficult to find the place!
Reviewed August 08, 2012

youmna B. from Lebanon
Groups
Stayed 5 nights in June 2012
amazing guest house, with an amazing service
great service, great view
the staff are very friendly and professional, the food is great and the view is just breath taking. the location is a bit far from the Kandy city but it's worth the trip. the road trip is beautiful and if you like photography it's the right place to be.
Reviewed July 09, 2012

Sophia A. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Charming hotel with personal service
Breakfast with a view. Tranquility.
A private sanctuary set in the Kotmale valley, definitely off the beaten track. Enjoy true Sri Lankan hospitality with the personal service and incredible view. Enjoy a piece of history by staying the 250-year old Manor House.
Reviewed July 04, 2012