Back to hotel info

Very good 7.4
Based on 524 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 524 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.1
  • Service 7.6
  • Value for Money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 6.3
Sort by

Alexandre F.
South Africa
July 11, 2016
Sweet little resort
Great location, very central. The rooms could have been cleaned more thoroughly.

Arpita D.
Bangladesh
July 11, 2016
Perfect Location
Actually we were searching for a hotel, which will meet the following expectations: 1. Close to Kuta center, so that we can spend evening time better at shopping and good restaurants 2. Also it should have calm & quiet environment, so that we can do some relax also, not a sky scrapper type So, for us it was a perfect location.

Gillian P.
Australia
July 07, 2016
great place
love it there, the staff are all so friendly, so handy for shopping and restaurants

Anastasia O.
Australia
July 06, 2016
Good value for money!
Matahari is in the perfect spot for shopping, food and night clubs (if you are that way inclined). It is tucked away from the hussle and bussle of Kuta so you get very little street noise. You can walk anywhere you want and there are hundreds of eateries, pubs and spas just outside the door. All in all a nice place stay if you want to be close to the action but in a traditional Balinese style motel.

Christine R.
Australia
July 05, 2016
Below expectations
I have friends who stay all the time and love it. But they get the larger adjoining family rooms that look over the pool. I think that you get what you pay for here. Don't expect too much.

Sheree W.
Australia
July 05, 2016
Overall great but bathrooms need to be worked on
I think the rooms and facilities were fantastic. The staff were ever so helpful at all times and it was always greatly appreciated. The only thing I would suggest an improvement is in the bathrooms. They were basic with a shower and a toilet, however the shower had low pressure and when the water temperature was increased, the pressure slowed to a very light flow which did become somewhat annoying. Also, our room was very dark. The lights were few and even those were quite weak. There was no main light in the middle of the ceiling and so it was always quite dark in the room Otherwise it was a really enjoyable stay- the staff were superb and I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Matthew G.
Australia
June 26, 2016
Matahari bungalow
We found this hotel to be hit and miss. The room we had was a balcony view which overlooked the pool, this was lovely. The room itself was large and had plenty of space. It was wet season so it rained at nightime a lot which usually I enjoy but with a wooden roof which water dripped through made for a very unpleasant sleep. The bathroom was of good size exept the toilet system required constant tweaking of the water tap or else the water wouldn't refill. The shower had little pressure. We found a lot of young people stayed here so around the 2am to 5am we would be waken by the drunken riff raff. Thin walls also made it hard to sleep. We had breakfast included for our 6 nights but after our first morning we opted to not eat at the breakky again, as it wasn't buffet but you had to order off a crummy menu which wasn't appealing at all. If possible try and pass on the breakky as you will be disappointed if you get it. To be honest the only good experience we had was the hotel taxi driver called gede who you can find on Facebook as the hotel takes your money and doesn't give you a receipt so when your expecting a driver nobody seems to know who or where he is. Luckily for us he was just down the road. I've been to Indonesia 8 times and this was definitely on the tail end of my hotel experiences over there.

Cameron B.
Australia
June 25, 2016
Matahari
Stayed here twice now, absolutely love the place. In the heart of Legian although back far enough that you can't hear the noise from the street 😊

Steffan M.
Denmark
June 20, 2016
Very cool place with a great pool.
Stayed here for a week or so and enjoyed it a lot. Room was clean, pool was great and staff were nice. The hotel grounds are really well kept and even though the place is in the middle of Kuta it's very quiet at night.

John T.
Indonesia
June 19, 2016
Close to everywhere
Great location, close to shops, restaurants, beach. After 2 days I moved to Ubud for a change.