Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Matahari Terbit Bali

Jl. Pratama Tanjung Benoa Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua, Bali, Indonesia

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.6

based on 464 reviews

285 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.8
Location
8.0
Staff Performance
7.6
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.7
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
6.9
All reviews (464)
Sort by:
Angela G. Couples Australia, February 6, 2014
Full of balminess charm

Great beach and pool area loved the spa
8
This was our first stop of our 2 week break . We spend 3 nights at nusa dua and loved it ! A great way to unwind, beach is very nice ,plenty of water sports right next door to hotel . Resturant at the hotel has very fresh food a basic menu great for lunch . The room we had was an older style room but clean and very comfortable with an ocean / pool view . The staff are lovely ! We had a very nice time at the matahari terbit a great start to our bali adventure .
Report this review
Karan B. Groups India, January 3, 2014
Best Location, Great experience

Location, Rooms, Service
8.7
Perfect place for beach stay, decent rooms, value for money
Report this review
Triny T. Families with young children Indonesia, January 2, 2014
Disappointing New Year's Eve Program

1. Beach Front
5.3
Report this review
David S. Families with older children United Kingdom, November 25, 2013
Time for a renovation

Gardens
5.7
There was a dip in the floor of the room where the ground below had obviously sunk, bugs kept appearing on our beds out of no-where, the shower was soo bad that it couldn't be used (no pressure or even hot water). Additionally, we were the only two guests that weren't German or under the age of 60. We booked and paid for 3nts but left after one. Luckily, it was cheap enough to do so.
Report this review
Nauroz I. Couples Bangladesh, November 7, 2013
No Noise, Nice Beach

Private Beach, Large Size Room and No Noise
7.7
Very comfortable for relaxing. Rooms are large and clean. Staffs are friendly and attentive. Restaurant is good but not enough variation in food menu. But I strongly recommend for Matahari Terbit for all other things. Thank You.
Report this review
Glenn M. Solo travelers New Zealand, October 3, 2013
Relaxing start to my 2013 Bali holiday.

Beautiful gardens, peace and quiet, and friendly staff.
8.7
I felt I "lucked in" with this hotel pick on Agoda. I had decided to stay in Tanjung Benoa, because it was a part of Bali I hadn't been to before. The Matahari Terbit was a perfect little oasis to start my Bali holiday at. The hotel had all the good qualities of the traditional hotels of Bali: beautiful gardens; low rise, spaced out accommodation; a nice open restaurant with a simple Balinese menu on the beach; and friendly staff. I was shocked to hear that it is going to be torn down and replaced by a multi-storey hotel complex! Get in quick, I say, and enjoy a traditional, low-key Balinese beach hotel in a a part of Bali that is a little bit off the mass tourism trail. Bali Bumbu restaurant next door is fantastic and Tanjung Benoa township is a great place to wander and experience real urban Bali - no touristy gimmicks in Tanjung Benoa (in 2013).
Report this review
Hendra A. Families with young children Indonesia, September 26, 2013
No noisy and a nice location for sunrise

Good location for watching sunrise, the big rooms and a Balli garden style Hotel
7
It was very comfortable when we played on the beach and in the pool at same time because the back yard of this hotel is face to the shoreline and a small pool were also located. With no noisy activities surrounding this location we can relax sitting or reading book on its chair at backyard of this hotel. The view of sunrise was a great memory for us at that time. The minor renovation of inside room condition should be planned by Hotel management to increase customer's satisfy.
Report this review
Joe P. Families with young children United States of America, September 1, 2013
Relaxing for me and the wife, fun for the kids

great beachside pool, quiet location, freindly staff
8
A bit windy on the beach, but this was good for para-sailing, windsurfing, etc. Good restaurants within walking distance. Clean, comfortable room.
Report this review
Randal R. Families with young children Australia, August 28, 2013
Fantastic value for money, freindly staff

Great beach location, clean rooms and very attentive staff.
9.3
We were a couple travelling with a 2 year old. We chose this resort because it was cheap and beachfront. The staff were amazing, very attentive,friendly, and welcoming. We ate in the hotel restaurant many times. The food was teriffic, cheap, tasty, and international. Breakfast was great, eggs any way that you want them, pastries, museli, rice congee, fruit juice, coffee, and Balinese alternatives. There are heaps of other restaurants in walking distance,all cheap and tasty. The rooms were very clean. I have seen some reviewers complain that the towels are old and shabby. Were the towels old? Yes. Were they clean? Yes. Did shabby towels ruin our stay? No way. We were always able to get a couple of sun lounges beach front and with a huge, shady umbrella. It was a great place for our son to play in the sand and swim. The hotel also organised a babysitter for us on a few nights so we could go out. The babysitter was wonderful and our son seemed to love her, as he seemed to love all the staff. My only real complaint was that the beach on some days did have quite a lot of litter on the sand and in the water, although it should be said that the hotel itself was immaculate. It did not stop us from swimming, but it would have been nicer if we didn't have to avoid all the plastic wrappers while we swam. But that is just Bali, if you want a pristine beach then maybe you should go somewhere else in the world. There is a Beach Club next door and on a few nights the music coming from there was quite loud, but it stopped by about 10pm and so didn't really bother us. And if you get sick of watching all the Germans at the hotel toast themselves in the sun all day long at the hotel pool, then you can pay about $12 for food or drinks in the Beach Club restaurant next door and have use of the almost always deserted pool and sun lounges there,as long as you don't let the security guards intimidate you away! We will stay there again, we had a fantastic time.
Report this review
Deirdre D. Couples Ireland, August 19, 2013
Large clean room, nice pool

nice pool, clean room, beach access
7.7
The hotel is a little dated but runs directly onto beach. It has a nice pool adn the restaurant food is good. The area is quiet and not as we expected. beaches are sectioned off for each hotel and many parts are very dirty. However there was a jazz market festival on when we stayed (mid-august) and it made our trip. We ended up extending our stay and would highly recommend visiting when this is on.
Report this review
Previous page 31 - 40 of 285 reviews Next page
Matahari Terbit Bali Bali - Swimming PoolMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - Sun LoungeMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - TerraceMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - InteriorMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - ExteriorMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - AmenitiesMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - RestaurantMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - BuddhaMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - Swimming PoolMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - Front DeskMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - ReceptionMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - BeachMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - Entrance to the BeachMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - TowelMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - BeachMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - PoolMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - Pool at SunriseMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - Entrance to the BeachMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - Pool at SunriseMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - PoolMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - PoolMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - Pool & SundeckMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - Pool


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C03