Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Matahari Terbit Bali

Jl. Pratama Tanjung Benoa Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua, Bali, Indonesia

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.6

based on 468 reviews

287 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.8
Location
8.0
Staff Performance
7.6
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.7
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
6.9
All reviews (468)
Sort by:
Randal R. Families with young children Australia, August 28, 2013
Fantastic value for money, freindly staff

Great beach location, clean rooms and very attentive staff.
9.3
We were a couple travelling with a 2 year old. We chose this resort because it was cheap and beachfront. The staff were amazing, very attentive,friendly, and welcoming. We ate in the hotel restaurant many times. The food was teriffic, cheap, tasty, and international. Breakfast was great, eggs any way that you want them, pastries, museli, rice congee, fruit juice, coffee, and Balinese alternatives. There are heaps of other restaurants in walking distance,all cheap and tasty. The rooms were very clean. I have seen some reviewers complain that the towels are old and shabby. Were the towels old? Yes. Were they clean? Yes. Did shabby towels ruin our stay? No way. We were always able to get a couple of sun lounges beach front and with a huge, shady umbrella. It was a great place for our son to play in the sand and swim. The hotel also organised a babysitter for us on a few nights so we could go out. The babysitter was wonderful and our son seemed to love her, as he seemed to love all the staff. My only real complaint was that the beach on some days did have quite a lot of litter on the sand and in the water, although it should be said that the hotel itself was immaculate. It did not stop us from swimming, but it would have been nicer if we didn't have to avoid all the plastic wrappers while we swam. But that is just Bali, if you want a pristine beach then maybe you should go somewhere else in the world. There is a Beach Club next door and on a few nights the music coming from there was quite loud, but it stopped by about 10pm and so didn't really bother us. And if you get sick of watching all the Germans at the hotel toast themselves in the sun all day long at the hotel pool, then you can pay about $12 for food or drinks in the Beach Club restaurant next door and have use of the almost always deserted pool and sun lounges there,as long as you don't let the security guards intimidate you away! We will stay there again, we had a fantastic time.
Deirdre D. Couples Ireland, August 19, 2013
Large clean room, nice pool

nice pool, clean room, beach access
7.7
The hotel is a little dated but runs directly onto beach. It has a nice pool adn the restaurant food is good. The area is quiet and not as we expected. beaches are sectioned off for each hotel and many parts are very dirty. However there was a jazz market festival on when we stayed (mid-august) and it made our trip. We ended up extending our stay and would highly recommend visiting when this is on.
Deirdre D. Couples Ireland, August 17, 2013
Comfortable, enjoyable, relaxing

beach location, nice pool, good food
7
The location is a little remote with not much about but the hotel was clean and comfortable and right on the beach. Nice location for a relaxing few days of sun-bathing.
Kenny K. Couples United States of America, August 17, 2013
Nice environment but hotel needs repair

Beach front, nice garden and water sports.
4.3
Water leaks from A/C vent, toilet malfunction, no hot water, without "Do Not Disturb" sign. House-keeping starts knocking @ 8am, and repeatedly in a The afternoon. Hotel doesn't provide that despite my request. I stayed for 4 nights and requested change of room but staff very reluctant. Have to contact management on third day cause the leaks from A/C was getting real bad. I used both trash buckets to catch water which were placed right in the middle of walkway in front of walkway. But the entire walkway was wet and slippery. We were moved to another room that have been renovated with newer bathroom and plumbing, but the buildings and facilities are aged and worn out. Should not recommend to guests.
Deirdre D. Couples Ireland, August 16, 2013
enjoyable, relaxing, quiet

quiet location, beach-side, nice pool
7
Good stay, nice staff, good breakfast. watersports available nearby. oceanside pool.
Sutrisno R. Families with young children Indonesia, August 13, 2013
Nice & comfort

Close to airport. just next to beach
6.7
I stay with my children and it was wonderful, my son and daughter so happy.
Sarah P. Couples United Kingdom, July 8, 2013
ok for brief weekend getaway

Nice gardens; value for money; good choice of restaurants nearby
6.7
My third time at the Matahari and unlikely to go back. Although the rooms are large they have become quite tired and worn and the bathrooms really need some attention now. Reception stuff are also looking very tired... possibly like the guests, they are kept awake by the venue next door that hosts weddings and events which go on very late/early in the morning! It doesn't seem to stop them from constantly trying to sell trips and tours though. On the positive side, the Gardens are very well kept and it's nice to sit around the pool or on their beach front area. Outside the hotel though, there's lots of seaweed, the tide has brought up lots of rubbish on the beach plus other littering and it's not attractive at all. It's a similar situation along this stretch of beach and ultimately there are much nicer beaches in Asia than in Bali anyway. All in all, it's ok for a quick weekend getaway but I'd certainly pay a bit more next time and go back to the Kind Villa Bintang or another hotel in this area.
Abdul S. Couples Brunei Darussalam, July 6, 2013
Nice & friendly staffs.

Nice. Friendly staffs. Large room
6.7
The stay was good except for the shower water, too little water flowing out. The staffs very friendly & nice plus helping me with my wifey birthday by giving a surprise gift. Only the downside is, it's too far from the main attraction of Bali for whom who like to sightseeing at the north. The rest it's worth a stay there.
Laura T. Couples Australia, June 30, 2013
Very disappointing 'deluxe' room dark and damp

the location
4.3
Firstly, we weren't picked up at the airport (nor taken back there on departure) which was part of the deal, which check in staff did not recognize. Our 'deluxe' room was damp and dark, otherwise apparently clean. However, my friend got a bite the first night and had an allergic reaction so we needed to visit at medical centres/hospital three times during our stay. Staff drove us there and were helpful in that respect. Spa staff very sympathetic also. Otherwise staff were pretty lazy and disinterested: not wanting to deliver room service when the restaurant was open/in the rain ('you have an umbrella in your room, we don't!), took ages to get a pool towels, etc. Electricity went out during our stay (rest of the street was OK) as well as the phones . Nice traditional gardens. Decent balcony. Good location but cannot recommend a stay here. Our worst accommodation in Bali in 30 years of visiting. I guess you get what you pay for and this was no 'special' holiday deal: just basic low cost accommodation, misleadingly described as ‘deluxe’.
Benjamin F. Families with older children Philippines, June 22, 2013
budget-friendly, easy access to atractions

clean room, good service
10
we got more than what we paid for in this hotel. large clean rooms, attentive staff, beach front. located along a road with many options for dining, bars and spa. but the beach/ shore is great for quiet time, since there are no clubs and party places along it. P.S: we did not enjoy the snorkelling (which is in another location, not here).
Previous page 41 - 50 of 287 reviews Next page
Matahari Terbit Bali Bali - Swimming PoolMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - Sun LoungeMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - TerraceMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - InteriorMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - ExteriorMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - AmenitiesMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - RestaurantMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - BuddhaMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - Swimming PoolMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - Front DeskMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - ReceptionMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - BeachMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - Entrance to the BeachMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - TowelMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - BeachMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - PoolMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - Pool at SunriseMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - Entrance to the BeachMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - Pool at SunriseMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - PoolMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - PoolMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - Pool & SundeckMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - Pool


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C04