Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Matahari Terbit Bali

Jl. Pratama Tanjung Benoa Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua, Bali, Indonesia

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.6

based on 70 reviews

287 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.8
Location
7.9
Staff Performance
7.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.7
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
6.7
Solo travelers (70)
Sort by:
Dan C. Solo travelers United States of America, May 12, 2016
Great find!
6.7
This was a last minute booking when I was on the way to Bali; I had a two day layover and wanted a quiet place to relax. Some of the poor reviews had me skeptical.. I was really sceptical, but was pleasantly surprised!! Yes, some things need to be updated, the wi-fi drops off at times, and my tv didn't work, but everything else made up for it. The staff is AMAZING! Very kind, pleasant, and attentive to my needs. Everyday they have workers tending to the grounds and cleaning rooms, all smiling and saying hello. The small restaurant and pool area are fabulous, situated just on the beach. The beach isn't the best for swimming, but a great place to relax. Some great shops and restaurants just outside the front of the hotel. If you want a stiff, 5-star sort of place, take your business down the road. If you want a real place to relax, live authentic, and be treated like family, the Matahari Terbit is for you. I'll definitely be back.
Hanna O. Solo travelers Poland, February 12, 2016
Ok
5
Ok
Anthony B. Solo travelers Australia, August 22, 2015
Quiet, Relaxed, Traditional.

Beachfront Location and Surrounding Area, Staff, Traditional Balanise Atmosphere
8.7
Douglas W. Solo travelers Australia, August 1, 2015
A nice place in Benoa

Friendly staff, good location and excellent value for money!
9.3
Vanessa L. Solo travelers Brazil, January 29, 2015
beachfront

beach pool Staff
8.7
was good the staff was very nice the beach is clean it s ok
Erica T. Solo travelers Australia, June 22, 2014
Value for Money

Beach location, pretting grounds, Price
6
I have been staying at Matahari for ten years or more. Nothing has changed. I thinks the beds and linen have been improved. Breakfast has always been the same. I has become a little noisy, no attempt over the years to upgrade. Developers may have their eye on it ... very sad if these traditional accommodation hotels disappear for ugly, modern, cookie-cutter, chain hotels:(
Karolin T. Solo travelers Germany, May 3, 2014
Didn't like it at all. The hotel had no charme.

Clean but very simple Busy área, polluted, beach was not that nice
4
Peter Z. Solo travelers Australia, February 17, 2014
Beachfront, near water activities, comfortable.

Beach location,nice spacious room and shops nearly
6.3
This Hotel in not central to Nusa Dua, but the Up Market Mall area and gated,protected is more expensive. This area has watercraft( negotiable hiring of jet skis )and very few sellers bothering you. Nice tidy air con room, good location for sunrise,but cloudy this time of year, (Feb). Good for a relaxing break.
Glenn M. Solo travelers New Zealand, October 3, 2013
Relaxing start to my 2013 Bali holiday.

Beautiful gardens, peace and quiet, and friendly staff.
8.7
I felt I "lucked in" with this hotel pick on Agoda. I had decided to stay in Tanjung Benoa, because it was a part of Bali I hadn't been to before. The Matahari Terbit was a perfect little oasis to start my Bali holiday at. The hotel had all the good qualities of the traditional hotels of Bali: beautiful gardens; low rise, spaced out accommodation; a nice open restaurant with a simple Balinese menu on the beach; and friendly staff. I was shocked to hear that it is going to be torn down and replaced by a multi-storey hotel complex! Get in quick, I say, and enjoy a traditional, low-key Balinese beach hotel in a a part of Bali that is a little bit off the mass tourism trail. Bali Bumbu restaurant next door is fantastic and Tanjung Benoa township is a great place to wander and experience real urban Bali - no touristy gimmicks in Tanjung Benoa (in 2013).
Kurtis D. Solo travelers Australia, June 2, 2013
Pleasant and relaxing

Quiet, relaxing and close to restaurants
7.3
Pleasant and unremarkable. A great place to relax and read a book.
1 - 10 of 468 reviews Next page
Matahari Terbit Bali Bali - Swimming PoolMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - Sun LoungeMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - TerraceMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - InteriorMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - ExteriorMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - AmenitiesMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - RestaurantMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - BuddhaMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - Swimming PoolMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - Front DeskMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - ReceptionMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - BeachMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - Entrance to the BeachMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - TowelMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - BeachMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - PoolMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - Pool at SunriseMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - Entrance to the BeachMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - Pool at SunriseMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - PoolMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - PoolMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - Pool & SundeckMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - GardenMatahari Terbit Bali Bali - Pool


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B08