Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Max Brown Hotel Canal District

Herengracht 13-19, Amsterdam-Centrum, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1015BA

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.6

based on
60 reviews

34 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.3
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
7.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.1
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
5.5
All reviews (60)
Sort by:
Lam C. Couples Hong Kong, April 6, 2013
ok, not bad, the space is large

Convenience, Clean, space is large
6.7
The space is ok for us, the room is clean, not bad. However it needs walk 10 mins to train station and not easy to find.The price looks expensive , I think maybe so many tours during easter holidays
Report this review
You W. Couples November 18, 2012
Very nice & clean hotel but no lift.

Nice & Clean Hotel with good location
8.7
This hotel is good from service to the cleaness except they do not have lift. (a burden to those carring large luggage)Location of the hotel is good, walking distance to restaurant & pubs within 10 mins.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Neary to Red Light District and China Town
Report this review
Sally Y. Groups United Kingdom, November 5, 2012
Very nice hotel

Clean, big rooms.
8.7
Our room was very nice but the bathroom was abit strange. It was just in the downstairs area of the room but had no door. The wifi also didn't work in the hotel room which was quite annoying. Other then that, everything was great. We had a comfortable stay.
Report this review
Ching J. Couples Taiwan, October 25, 2012
Good Location Yet Need To Improve Service Level

the Chic & Basic Amsterdam is located in downtown which is about 10 minutes walk to Central Station. Easily access to all places.
6
1. The receptionist insisted that the check-in time is 3:00 pm while we arrived by 1:00 pm. After negotiation, we were able to check in by 1:30 pm. 2. On the checked out day, I went down for breakfast at 8:30 am while my husband stayed in room. The housekeeping lady knocked the door and soon got into the room without permission. It has been embarrassed since my husband was half-naked. We raised complaints and the Hotel Manager issued a formal apology letter (try to attach it but fail ). 3. We suggested the hotel manager to review its SOP to make sure cleaning works to be done after customers checking out, and the customer privacy is respected.
Hotel Feature Tip: The breakfast in Chic & Basic is simple but still satisfactory. The coffee is good.
Report this review
Hiu Y. Groups Hong Kong, October 2, 2012
Nice view Hotel

Nice view
8
not too close to the main noisy street so that can take a good rest!
Hotel Feature Tip: beware of narrow slopy stair if you are carrying heavy & huge luggage!
Report this review
Zachary R. Solo travelers United States of America, September 23, 2012
service and quality has gone downhill

location
5.3
I have been a frequent guest at this hotel since it was the Hotel New Amsterdam and I was afraid that over time the new Chic and Basic management might downgrade the experience. First, the lobby and rooms are very cold and basic. No closets in the room and limited space really make the stay inconvenient for more than a couple of days. Second, they have tried to make a room out of any space possible and frequently I get rooms that have no windows to speak of with a shower placed right in the room. AVOID INTERNAL ROOMS AT ALL COST! Third, they have downgraded the quality of everything from the toilet paper (individual sheets rather than rolls) to continental breakfast (what a joke to call it continental breakfast -- toast and coffee that is it). Fourth, the service is so variable from the woman who showed no emotion at all when I checked in to the young man managing at night with his group of friends playing board games in the lobby -- nice but not professional. I have decided that I can no longer stay at this hotel -- there are better options if you look for them!
Report this review
Shyang L. Couples Malaysia, September 19, 2012
Small and simple but with great value

location - close to main station and not too far from main shopping area
8
This hotel offers the most basic things you need when travel. comfortable bed, free wifi and clean amenities. what you need for travel is all provided. for the price you pay you get what you need. overall superb hotel. however the small staircase with have some challenge for those with large suit case.
Report this review
Lisa C. Couples Australia, August 27, 2012
Cool, chic decor and pictureque location

Nice location and nice decor
8
We really liked the design of this hotel. It is located near the Jordaan district, which is particularly pretty, and overlooking a canal. Free toast and coffee in the mornings which was an unexpected bonus. The first night we were placed in a large room which was fantastic. We were told we had to move rooms after the first night, which we hadn't been warned about and was annoying given we were not warned about it or notified in advance. The second room was much smaller and we could not get a wifi signal. I would go for the larger room if you can afford it. It would be a nice improevement if the hotel made sure the free wifi was available in all rooms.
Report this review
Sidney S. Solo travelers Hong Kong, May 31, 2012
nice hotel with good staff

excellent location
8.3
Very easily to locate the hotel. Also, very good restaurant nearby, where you can enjoy a lunch or dinner there with superb canal view. Room was cool too !!!!
Report this review
Supitcha N. Couples Australia, March 9, 2012
Nice budget hotel

Canal view
7.7
We got the room on 3rd floor facing the canal it was nice and they let us checked-in early that was nice also. No lift and the steps are very narrow so if you travel with big suitcase I don't recommend to bring your suitcase up to the room...
Hotel Feature Tip: The hotel is situated along the canal.
Report this review
Previous page 21 - 30 of 34 reviews
Max Brown Hotel Canal District AmsterdamMax Brown Hotel Canal District Amsterdam - ExteriorMax Brown Hotel Canal District Amsterdam - ExteriorMax Brown Hotel Canal District Amsterdam - SurroundingsMax Brown Hotel Canal District Amsterdam - ExteriorMax Brown Hotel Canal District Amsterdam - InteriorMax Brown Hotel Canal District Amsterdam - Food and BeveragesMax Brown Hotel Canal District Amsterdam - Food and BeveragesMax Brown Hotel Canal District Amsterdam - ExteriorMax Brown Hotel Canal District Amsterdam - InteriorMax Brown Hotel Canal District Amsterdam - ExteriorMax Brown Hotel Canal District Amsterdam - ExteriorMax Brown Hotel Canal District Amsterdam - LobbyMax Brown Hotel Canal District Amsterdam - ExteriorMax Brown Hotel Canal District Amsterdam - LobbyMax Brown Hotel Canal District Amsterdam - LobbyMax Brown Hotel Canal District Amsterdam - InteriorMax Brown Hotel Canal District Amsterdam - Food and BeveragesMax Brown Hotel Canal District Amsterdam - Food and BeveragesMax Brown Hotel Canal District Amsterdam - Guest RoomMax Brown Hotel Canal District Amsterdam - Guest RoomMax Brown Hotel Canal District Amsterdam - Guest RoomMax Brown Hotel Canal District Amsterdam - Guest RoomMax Brown Hotel Canal District Amsterdam - Guest RoomMax Brown Hotel Canal District Amsterdam - Guest RoomMax Brown Hotel Canal District Amsterdam - Guest Room


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B04