or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Maxima Resort

Penaplata, Babak District - Samal Island, Davao, Philippines (Show on map)

Book now!

Maxima Resort Davao - House above the Sea- Exterior Maxima Resort Davao - House above the Sea- Exterior Maxima Resort Davao - House above the Sea- Exterior Maxima Resort Davao - House above the Sea- Exterior Maxima Resort Davao - House above the Sea- Exterior Maxima Resort Davao - Dining and Kitchen Area-House above the Sea Maxima Resort Davao - Living Area-House above the Sea Maxima Resort Davao - Living Area-House above the Sea Maxima Resort Davao - Living Area-House above the Sea Maxima Resort Davao - Living Area-House above the Sea Maxima Resort Davao - Living Area-House above the Sea Maxima Resort Davao - Balcony-House above the Sea Maxima Resort Davao - Balcony-House above the Sea Maxima Resort Davao - Guest Room-House above the Sea Maxima Resort Davao - Guest Room-House above the Sea Maxima Resort Davao - Guest Room-House above the Sea
Maxima Resort Davao - Guest Room-House above the Sea Maxima Resort Davao - Guest Room-House above the Sea Maxima Resort Davao - Guest Room-House above the Sea Maxima Resort Davao - Guest Room-House above the Sea Maxima Resort Davao - Guest Room-House above the Sea Maxima Resort Davao - Guest Room-House above the Sea Maxima Resort Davao - Guest Room-House above the Sea Maxima Resort Davao - Recreational Facility Maxima Resort Davao - Recreational Facility - Hammock Maxima Resort Davao - Recreational Facility - Kayak Maxima Resort Davao - Dock Maxima Resort Davao - Restaurant
Area: Babak District - Samal Island Number of Rooms: 9

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Above average

5.8

based on
13 reviews

Value for Money
5.4
Location
5.5
Staff Performance
6.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.0
Room Comfort/Standard
6.0
Food/Dining
5.7
All reviews (13)
Sort by:
Jennifer V. Families with young children Philippines, November 9, 2013
Our stay is good except for the bad service.

Cottages are situated in an ocean front. Very relaxing view. I love the giant tarpaulin slide.
4.7
Our vacation could have been great if the staffs were accommodating. Seriously the cashier/front desk named Arnel ruined it. He was so hard to deal with. He was so sarcastic and unhelpful. Though he upgraded our room from non AC to AC, he didn't make sure that other staffs in the kitchen/canteen know that our room includes breakfast. We wasted time in their canteen waiting if we will be served breakfast or not. The only staff who was very accommodating was Larry who helped us cooked our food and made sure that our needs were being taken cared off. This beach resort could be better if they will employ people who are competent enough to provide quality service to their guests. We do not have any problem with the cottage, location, and facilities only the STAFFS. Maxima Aqua Fun is a must visit place if you are planning to go to Davao just be very cautious because people working there aren't friendly at all.
Janis G. Families with young children Philippines, November 1, 2013
A lot to do in Maxima

beach, food and activities at the resort
8
It was a perfect stay for the family as we have a choice to a lot of wonderful water activities, giant slides, kayak, water blob that comes with the package. Food is superb. Room has extra foam in case you are a group of more than 4 without charge. It'll be better if you stay there for more than a night. The resort is close to the Hagimit Falls, one of the places to go to in Samal Island, Davao. We would love to come back to the resort and have the reserved energy to be able to do all water activities they offer besides those mentioned above.
Lorenzo B. Solo travelers United States of America, October 10, 2013
Roughing it..

If you want a hotel out of the way this is the place to be. If you require no luxuries or basis items this is the place to be. If you have a full time driver with car this is the place to be.
3.7
The stay at Maxima Resort was maximum hotel camping. A nice place with nice people but out of the way. You need a car with a driver to stay there with you overnight and you must bring all the items you need cause there is nothing there except a room with a water room. There is also a disco at night but you must bring your own drinks. This is really roughing it and for the price it is too pricy for what you get and what you don't get. If you are prepared and bring all your essentials then you can have a unique experience. Bring everything you need cause there is nothing there.. and I mean nothing.. but the experience will make you appreciate nature and a real hotel.
William W. Families with older children Australia, October 3, 2013
Just as it is pictured... but there is more

Large place, the sea, relaxing
7
My wife and some of her family stayed at Maxima for a few days. All of them very much enjoyed the place and their stay but there are some things you should be aware of: - It is a single house by itself and not a resort. - to get to the house, you must walk down many VERY steep stairs and then walk along a long pier to get to the house. This was very difficult for my wife because of bad knees and for some of her family that were a bit out of shape. - if arriving at night, make sure you have a contact number for someone at the Maxima because my wife spent hours trying to find someone who would let them into the house. And most of the staff were not aware of their coming, which was very disappointing. - all of the water sports cost extra. And they are not cheap.
Elven A. Families with young children Philippines, October 3, 2013
relaxing environment

affordable prices, fun watersports, quite
4.7
I had a nice stay with my family in the resort. and a best place to relax and enjoy the ocean with its nice corals and colorfull fishes and other sea creatures to Snorkel and dive in. However i think their is so much more to improve in most areas of the resort such as their non air rooms facility well i dont expect much with the cheapest room but atleast they could clean the fan regularly as it is very dusty. And with the cleanliness the management have to do something with the cats at night as they keep coming speciall when we have food and are eating outside or in the balcony and their are lots of flies too at daytime. With the service all staff are friendly specially the scuba instructors. Another area is the public comfortrooms it is good if they could use toilet bowl with a flushing system even though it is a public comfortroom instead of using pails and waterscoops.
Louis M. Families with young children Philippines, March 25, 2013
Very excellent and fun.

Nice clean environment, relaxing, nice clean unpolluted beach
10
Very excellent and relaxing environment. I will return to this place next year. Beach is very clean.
Josephine D. Groups Philippines, January 7, 2013
super fun slide

aqua fun activities
6
it's not my 1st time to stay in this hotel as i keep on returning to this resort as it gives a lot of fun in the water like giant slide, snorkling, floating in the beach,etc. staffs are friendly.
Josephine D. Couples Philippines, November 12, 2012
nice location and fun slides

quiet and nice place
6
during that time we were only 2 at the hotel, but the place was nice and quiet. highly recommended for those who want to enjoy the slides and do snorkling.
Josephine D. Groups Philippines, January 29, 2012
nice hotel with aquafun

with a lot of activities to do like snorkling, banana ride, jetski,giant slide and diving
7
an overnight stay at the hotel is affordable and a good experience with the giant slide. It was fun and all of my friends did enjoy at this resort.
Stefan A. Couples Canada, January 6, 2012
Lovely area for scuba diving

isolated, calm,
5.7
I expected more from this resort. There is no beach. There was not many people, and going to Pina Plata or other cities is only possible in motorcycle. Be prepared to negociate because they abuse. You should pay 30pesos for Pina Plata. You can negociate any price they tell you. The site has potential, and I hope they will developp it. The savior of the place is Allan, a generous gentleman who is always there when you need him. The staff is very nice in general. But as a foreigner, I always felt looked at, as if they had never seen a white person before. The food available is limited and overpriced. In the city, we found some pastry and water at a much cheeper price. Only one room is worth the view, the airconditioned with no shower. Ah !!! There is no hot water anywhere contrarely to what they say. The scuba diving is wonderful and cheap.
Restaurant Tip: Bring what you drink because its expensive

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Maxima Resort Davao - House above the SeaMaxima Resort Davao - House above the Sea- ExteriorMaxima Resort Davao - House above the Sea- ExteriorMaxima Resort Davao - House above the Sea- ExteriorMaxima Resort Davao - House above the Sea- ExteriorMaxima Resort Davao - House above the Sea- ExteriorMaxima Resort Davao - Dining and Kitchen Area-House above the SeaMaxima Resort Davao - Living Area-House above the SeaMaxima Resort Davao - Living Area-House above the SeaMaxima Resort Davao - Living Area-House above the SeaMaxima Resort Davao - Living Area-House above the SeaMaxima Resort Davao - Living Area-House above the SeaMaxima Resort Davao - Balcony-House above the SeaMaxima Resort Davao - Balcony-House above the SeaMaxima Resort Davao - Guest Room-House above the SeaMaxima Resort Davao - Guest Room-House above the SeaMaxima Resort Davao - Guest Room-House above the SeaMaxima Resort Davao - Guest Room-House above the SeaMaxima Resort Davao - Guest Room-House above the SeaMaxima Resort Davao - Guest Room-House above the SeaMaxima Resort Davao - Guest Room-House above the SeaMaxima Resort Davao - Guest Room-House above the SeaMaxima Resort Davao - Guest Room-House above the SeaMaxima Resort Davao - Guest Room-House above the SeaMaxima Resort Davao - Recreational FacilityMaxima Resort Davao - Recreational Facility - HammockMaxima Resort Davao - Recreational Facility - KayakMaxima Resort Davao - DockMaxima Resort Davao - RestaurantMaxima Resort Davao - Recreational Facility - Maxima AquafunMaxima Resort Davao - Recreational Facility - Maxima AquafunMaxima Resort Davao - Recreational Facility - Maxima AquafunMaxima Resort Davao - Recreational Facility - Maxima AquafunMaxima Resort Davao - Recreational Facility - Maxima AquafunMaxima Resort Davao - Recreational Facility - Maxima AquafunMaxima Resort Davao - Recreational Facility - Maxima AquafunMaxima Resort Davao - Recreational Facility - Maxima AquafunMaxima Resort Davao - Recreational Facility - Maxima AquafunMaxima Resort Davao - Recreational Facility - Maxima AquafunMaxima Resort Davao - Island ViewMaxima Resort Davao - Sunset View


AS-AGWEB-3C03