Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

May De Ville Legend Hotel

1 Hai Tuong Street, Old Quarter, Hanoi, Vietnam

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.7

based on
199 reviews

119 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.1
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.8
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
6.3
All reviews (199)
Sort by:
John W. Couples New Zealand, January 14, 2016
Backpackers

Cheap, good location
7
Room was noisy, smelt damp and musty and is actually known locally at the May de Ville backpackers. Had we known this we wouldn't have booked it. It was central, although our guide couldn't find it and the breakfast was reasonable. It was cheap by western standards but there are better places in Hanoi for similar money
Report this review
Bryan A. Groups Philippines, January 3, 2016
may de ville

cheap, central location and have breakfast
6.7
Report this review
Tien Y. Solo travelers Singapore, December 26, 2015
good location professional staff affordable price

good location professional staff affordable price
6.7
good location: in the old quarters area professional staff: the lady reception was really nice and offered me good advices affordable price: at 6 USD per night, it offers a pleasant stay at the happening area in Hanoi
Report this review
Viktoria J. Groups Hungary, December 14, 2015
you find better in hanoi

Good location
7.3
The room was in bad condition, loud neighbours, paper walls, poor internet connection
Report this review
Nguyen T. Families with young children Vietnam, November 29, 2015
Good location, friendly staff

Good location, nice staff, awesome ambiente
9.7
It's great place for those who want to discover ha Noi and especially in old square town
Report this review
Herve B. Solo travelers France, November 28, 2015
A very good place with a very friendly staff

Confort. Staff. Location.
9
Very nice
Report this review
Abigail G. Couples United Kingdom, November 3, 2015
Not awful, but I wouldn't stay again

OK location, cheap room, grand entrance
5.3
We booked a room with a window but were given a room with a bricked-up window. The room had curtains and we arrived after dark so assumed the window was not blocked, and only realised next morning. We asked reception about a refund of the price difference but were "upgraded" to a room exactly the same but with a real window for the next night. Not great but we couldn't be bothered complaining again. The aircon in both rooms was very smelly and points directly at the bed. Both rooms were dirty. I think the hotel must be subsiding as none of the doors fit in the frames properly, including the bathroom doors, so all need to be slammed to close - very noisy at night. Breakfast was a buffet but not very good - some rice, noodles, salad & a toaster that takes 15 minutes. Shower worked well, bed was comfortable and their travel desk booked us a bus for our next journey. Ok facilities and well decorated for a budget hotel, but the smelly aircon, dirt and noise make me not want to go back next time I'm in Hanoi.
Report this review
Vynnie C. Couples Philippines, November 1, 2015
Sweet spot within Old Quarter

location, value for money, clean
9.3
Best $20 hotel that I've stayed with.
Report this review
Daniele C. Couples United States of America, October 14, 2015
Review

Location, bed size
6.7
Ok. Wifi didn't work for over a day which was a problem and we had to change rooms. It was also very loud because of construction and people yelling in the hallway
Report this review
Man Y. Families with older children Malaysia, July 23, 2015
Very disappointing!

Only the location is good...
4.7
This hotel is rather hard to find, even for airport taxi drivers. Upon check-in, the thin, female receptionist was rather impolite, not helpful and doesn't look friendly at all. The worst experience we had at the hotel was the fact that it is currently under heavy renovation (restaurant at the 10th floor). The receptionists did not bother to inform us about the construction upon check-in. We were left to discover ourselves the horrible noise and dirty surroundings (they gave us the 8th floor). Our room was quite dusty and we could not rest with all the construction going on. I requested the male reception to change our room to a lower floor, but the receptionist said the hotel was fully booked and there is nothing he can do. He assured us though that the construction will only be done during the day time 8am-6pm. Since I had already paid for 3 nights at this hotel, we just had to endure. Unfortunately our nightmare was the worst during the 2nd night. At around 12 midnight the construction workers were instructed to do the night shift. It was impossible for us to sleep! I phoned the receptionist twice to voice my deep displeasure, but the noise kept going throughout the night until dawn! The next morning after breakfast I went to the reception counter to show my great dissatisfaction and they finally moved us to the 5th floor which is much quieter this time. Not forgetting to mention, since the restaurant is under renovation, hotel guests have to eat inside make-shift tables inside hotel rooms at the 9th floor. The food is not good either. All I can say is the hotel management is needs much, much improvement. Do stay away from this hotel for the next few months until the renovation is complete. Or just find another hotel to stay, I'm sure there are plenty other hotels with better service.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 119 reviews Next page
May De Ville Legend Hotel Hanoi - InteriorMay De Ville Legend Hotel Hanoi - Superior Double RoomMay De Ville Legend Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomMay De Ville Legend Hotel Hanoi - Safe Deposit May De Ville Legend Hotel Hanoi - ReceptionMay De Ville Legend Hotel Hanoi - Superior Double RoomMay De Ville Legend Hotel Hanoi - Superior Twin roomMay De Ville Legend Hotel Hanoi - Deluxe Twin RoomMay De Ville Legend Hotel Hanoi - Superior Twin RoomMay De Ville Legend Hotel Hanoi - Triple RoomMay De Ville Legend Hotel Hanoi - Family City ViewMay De Ville Legend Hotel Hanoi - Family RoomMay De Ville Legend Hotel Hanoi - Superior Double RoomMay De Ville Legend Hotel Hanoi - Deluxe Double RoomMay De Ville Legend Hotel Hanoi - Deluxe City ViewMay De Ville Legend Hotel Hanoi - Deluxe City ViewMay De Ville Legend Hotel Hanoi - Family RoomMay De Ville Legend Hotel Hanoi - Private Family RoomMay De Ville Legend Hotel Hanoi - BilliardsMay De Ville Legend Hotel Hanoi - RestaurantMay De Ville Legend Hotel Hanoi - BuffetMay De Ville Legend Hotel Hanoi - Deluxe City ViewMay De Ville Legend Hotel Hanoi - Superior Double Room


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B02