or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

May Shan Hotel

115-Sule Pagoda Road, Downtown Yangon, Yangon, Myanmar (Show on map)

Book now!

May Shan Hotel Yangon - Reception May Shan Hotel Yangon - Guest Room May Shan Hotel Yangon - Guest Room May Shan Hotel Yangon - View May Shan Hotel Yangon - Guest Room May Shan Hotel Yangon - Lift May Shan Hotel Yangon - Facilities May Shan Hotel Yangon - Over look from the window May Shan Hotel Yangon - Restaurant May Shan Hotel Yangon - Lobby Area May Shan Hotel Yangon - Entrance May Shan Hotel Yangon - Lobby May Shan Hotel Yangon - Interior May Shan Hotel Yangon - View May Shan Hotel Yangon - Lobby May Shan Hotel Yangon - Interior
May Shan Hotel Yangon - Reception May Shan Hotel Yangon - Facilities May Shan Hotel Yangon - Lobby May Shan Hotel Yangon - Interior May Shan Hotel Yangon - Bathroom May Shan Hotel Yangon - Interior May Shan Hotel Yangon - Bathroom May Shan Hotel Yangon - Facilities May Shan Hotel Yangon - Facilities May Shan Hotel Yangon - Facilities
Area: Downtown Yangon Number of Rooms: 24
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.7

based on
19 reviews

Value for Money
6.6
Location
8.7
Staff Performance
6.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.4
Room Comfort/Standard
6.6
Food/Dining
5.2
Business travelers (19)
Sort by:
Stephen T. Business travelers United Kingdom, December 1, 2013
Unpleasant

Centrally located
3.7
This hotel I would not want to stay there ever again, I booked the room with a small window which I never opened as there was nothing to see plus you got the smell from all the rubbish the locals throw out of there windows in the opposite building. Giant Rats run around down there so I did not eat any of the food at breakfast which was just 1 egg and 2 slices of toast. I could not open the wardrobe completely as it hits the bottom of the bed. Shower was useless. The only thing good about this hotel is the location. it is a 2 min walk to Sule Pagoda. I would ask no-one to stay there then they might renovate to a better standard for the price they want.
Lua E. Business travelers Malaysia, September 27, 2013
Clean rooms and Convenient location.

Clean rooms, convenient locations and friendly staff.
7.3
Quite a comfortable stay, thanks for the clean rooms and friendly service.
Akom P. Business travelers Thailand, July 27, 2013
Good location and easy to get any where by taxi

location, sightseeing, best
6
Good location to take any interested place, the hotel is very nice and friendly staff
Kirsten E. Business travelers Denmark, May 30, 2013
Centrally located family hotel

Central location, pleasant family staff, internet access
7
I stayed in May Shan several times because of its central location, easy to find restaurants nearby and easy to get a taxi. Rooms are very small, some without windows, but clean and if a bed is the only thing you need, it will be fine.
Bent J. Business travelers Denmark, May 7, 2013
Friendly staff in a smoky hotel

Central, friendly
5
I booked a non-smoking room. I got a room on the 6th floor which is supposed to be non-smoking. However, the design of the hotel is such that the ventilation will circulate the air between the rooms. Sleeping on a cloud gets new meaning in this hotel if you understand my point. Otherwise the hotel is a backpacker hotel with an interesting mix of people and friendly staff.
Darrel E. Business travelers United States of America, January 27, 2013
Friendly staff runs a small, clean hotel

location, cleanliness, friendly staff, good value--among the lower-priced hotels
8.7
I was quite pleased with the May Shan Hotel overall, and would stay there again without hesitation. The location was ideal for my purposes. The hotel was clean, and the staff very friendly and helpful. My room was quite small, though adequate; but I'd prefer a separate shower stall so the whole bathroom would not get wet when taking a shower. The only meal offered is breakfast (which is free of charge). I was offered a choice of tea or coffee, but not a choice of foods. I am Caucasian (obviously not Asian), and thus was brought a "European/Western" breakfast--a fried egg, toast (on white bread), and bananas. I noticed that Asian guests were brought an Asian breakfast that included noodles. (Presumably I could have requested an Asian breakfast instead of a Western one.) I utilized the hotel's laundry service and was pleased with the result. Wi-fi is available (free of charge) in the hotel lobby, but not in the rooms. The speed of the Internet connection varied, but was generally adequate for email and light web-surfing. Two computers with wired Internet connections are available in the lobby as well; a fee is charged for their use.
Khaifiruddin A. Business travelers Singapore, October 27, 2012
Good location, room with no windows

Good location, value for money
6.7
For business/casual traveler who just need a place to sleep, this is value for money.
Lou S. Business travelers Malaysia, September 30, 2012
Ideal location is the only compliments to describe

Location is the selling point - in front of Sule Pagoda
4.7
i checked in on 9/26/2012 and was given a room that i did not complain as what was spelt out no window i paid for 5 days 4 nights through membership booking thinking to enjoy cheaper rate after all on single person preliminary business familiarisation trip thus expected to check out on september 30, 2012. after breakfast on 9/27/2012 i decided to take a trip to mandalay from yangon that i booked from hotel reception vvip sleeping bus and departed in the evening 8:30pm, which i need to key drop the room key. before departure, the reception asked me "are you coming back again"; i replied "definitely, as my departure flight is on 9/30/2012 and i am leaving just a night or 2 and still need to come back and rest before leaving for airport, and you can sell my room for 2 nights and provided me 1 room when i return for my trip to the north" the reception replied "in that case we cannot give you any refund. i agreed but reconfirm to have a room for my return on 9/29/2012 prior checking out on 9/30/2012. during the moment of talking, some walk-in tourists came in and asking for room and room rate which the room rate quoted is for double bed with breakfast which i did not bother. i enjoyed myself in mandalay and proceeded to bagan on 9/28/2012. on 9/29/2012, i rang may shan hotel informing the reception that i am returning to the hotel from bagan by vvip sleeping bus and expected to be in yangon at 2am on 9/30/2012 thus please kindly ready a room for me to sleep. over the telephone conversation, the reception told me the hotel is fully booked and they allow me to rest in the lobby only as no more room available. i reached may shan hotel at 220am on 9/30/2012 with sleepy and tiredness and was not given a room to sleep which i had paid in advanced that supposed entitle me to check out on 9/30/2012 12 noon, and i changed and dress up myself before leaving the hotel @ 11am on 9/30/2012
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Many attactions in Yangon and base on the tourist information leaflet from the airport you can easily move around, money changers are roaming in the street BUT advisable exchange through BANKs. If have enough time, travel to Bagan to visit the UNESCO Archaeology Site and visit this famous CITY OF PAGODA with friendly people all around.
Lim A. Business travelers Singapore, September 28, 2012
Hotel Simple but friendly staff

lobby internet, friendly staff able to speak Mandarin and English
6
arrival from airport to hotel takes about 35 min and the staff are very friendly and able to speak fluece english and mandarin,helping me to slove communcation problem, hotel room are simple and clean, but the breakfast is very normail, from our hotel turn right and make another right turn abot 15 min you will be able to find chinatown, on streets 17th, 18th and 19th. as for hotel wifi is only at the lobby, due to lobby is small you may go to the dinning hall to use the wifi.
Khaifiruddin A. Business travelers Singapore, August 28, 2012
Good location, room with no windows

Good location and value for money
6.7
For business/casual traveler who needs a place to sleep, this is value for money

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

May Shan Hotel Yangon - Reception AreaMay Shan Hotel Yangon - ReceptionMay Shan Hotel Yangon - Guest RoomMay Shan Hotel Yangon - Guest RoomMay Shan Hotel Yangon - ViewMay Shan Hotel Yangon - Guest RoomMay Shan Hotel Yangon - LiftMay Shan Hotel Yangon - FacilitiesMay Shan Hotel Yangon - Over look from the windowMay Shan Hotel Yangon - RestaurantMay Shan Hotel Yangon - Lobby AreaMay Shan Hotel Yangon - EntranceMay Shan Hotel Yangon - LobbyMay Shan Hotel Yangon - InteriorMay Shan Hotel Yangon - ViewMay Shan Hotel Yangon - LobbyMay Shan Hotel Yangon - InteriorMay Shan Hotel Yangon - ReceptionMay Shan Hotel Yangon - FacilitiesMay Shan Hotel Yangon - LobbyMay Shan Hotel Yangon - InteriorMay Shan Hotel Yangon - BathroomMay Shan Hotel Yangon - InteriorMay Shan Hotel Yangon - BathroomMay Shan Hotel Yangon - FacilitiesMay Shan Hotel Yangon - FacilitiesMay Shan Hotel Yangon - Facilities

Customer Reviews - May Shan Hotel, Yangon

AS-AGWEB-3C07