My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

May Shan Hotel

115-Sule Pagoda Road, Downtown Yangon, Yangon, Myanmar (Show on map)

Book now!

May Shan Hotel Yangon - Reception May Shan Hotel Yangon - Guest Room May Shan Hotel Yangon - Guest Room May Shan Hotel Yangon - View May Shan Hotel Yangon - Guest Room May Shan Hotel Yangon - Lift May Shan Hotel Yangon - Facilities May Shan Hotel Yangon - Over look from the window May Shan Hotel Yangon - Restaurant May Shan Hotel Yangon - Lobby Area May Shan Hotel Yangon - Entrance
Hotel Area: Downtown Yangon Number of Rooms: 24

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.9

based on
424 reviews

Value for Money
6.1
Location
8.9
Staff Performance
6.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.8
Room Comfort/Standard
7.2
Food/Dining
5.4
All reviews (424)
Sort by:
Blesilda C. Groups Philippines, February 23, 2014
Location, location, location

Location, friendly staff, free wifi
8.3
Went with a couple of friends on a weekend trip. This is small hotel but in downtown area. Literally, a stone throw away from Sule Pagoda. We got the windowless room since the 3 pax room were all taken. The upside for this is you don't here the chanting that other reviewers have posted. It was good enough for a 2 night stay. The top floors looks newer. The people were nice enough to call us a cab when we need one since you need to negotiate the price before you ride a cab. Better to have a local to negotiate for you so you don't get ripped off. We walked a lot from checking out the colonial buildings, to going to Chinatown (20 mins away), and to head to Bogyoke Aung San Market (15 mins away). For breakfast, we were served coffee/tea, toast with jam and butter, an egg and bananas. Don't forget to go to the rooftop. You can get a nice view of Sule Pagoda from there. We had a bit of fun posing for pics there. It would be even better if they placed some lounge chairs on the rooftop to let guest hangout there at night.
Ms.Saowarat S. Groups Thailand, February 15, 2014
Down town, Near the important spot

Down town, Near Sule Paya, Has lift
8.3
It's very close to Sule Paya Pagoda. Clean room but it still has smoking smell.
Rachel R. Solo travelers United States of America, February 5, 2014
Good Basic Hotel, Location was very convenient

Location, Reasonable Price, Friendly Staff
8.7
Basic but comfortable hotel. Everything was clean and the shower was great. There is a basic breakfast in the morning and it is easy to get around central Yangon from this hotel. It is right next to Sule Pagoda which makes using Taxis very easy as all drivers know this landmark.
Tiew S. Groups Malaysia, February 5, 2014
Centrally located, friendly staff but over priced

Located next to Sule Pagoda and Bogyoke market. Friendly and attentive staff, Allow 11 of us to take breakfast on the morning that we arrive since we will leave early next day.
6
Satisfactory because of its location, friendly and accommodating staff, but over priced. It is better to stay at somewhere further away at half of the price but still within walking distance. It is safe to walk on the street and taxi is very affordable.
Lee M. Solo travelers Malaysia, February 1, 2014
not in money value.

location.
3.3
it's actually a normal guest house, so I found that it's not in money value.
Egbert S. Couples Netherlands, January 14, 2014
Locationwise a good choice

location, location, location
7
Proved to be a decent hotel. Didn't stand out, but has one great feature: great location.
Lukito H. Families with older children Indonesia, January 11, 2014
ok

ok ok ok
6.7
Matej K. Couples Czech Republic, January 9, 2014
Decent hotel in the very city center

Location, cleaness, friendly staff
8.3
Small, but perfectly clean rooms which are modestly equipped. Breakfast also modest. On Myanmar quite fast internet. Overall, I would stay there again with no doubt. If the hotel was anywhere else their pricing would not be competitive at all. But since it is in Myanmar, where hotels are extremely overpriced, May Shan hotel is a great choice, especially in this location.
Jaraslak S. Groups Thailand, January 8, 2014
The location is awesome .

location & clean
9.7
The location is awesome within walking distance from sule pagoda and Scotts Market. The staff was helpful.
Gloria P. Couples United States of America, January 7, 2014
Awesome experience!

We were in the heart of a busy city yet putt was quiet. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Bathroom at May Shan worked better than higher costing hotel we stayed at.
8
We enjoyed our stay there, especially the location. I was scared about not having a window, but the way the room was layed out and mural tile on the wall, it was no problem. We didn't want to hang out in our room very much anyway. We will go there again!

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

May Shan Hotel Yangon - Reception AreaMay Shan Hotel Yangon - ReceptionMay Shan Hotel Yangon - Guest RoomMay Shan Hotel Yangon - Guest RoomMay Shan Hotel Yangon - ViewMay Shan Hotel Yangon - Guest RoomMay Shan Hotel Yangon - LiftMay Shan Hotel Yangon - FacilitiesMay Shan Hotel Yangon - Over look from the windowMay Shan Hotel Yangon - RestaurantMay Shan Hotel Yangon - Lobby AreaMay Shan Hotel Yangon - Entrance

Customer Reviews - May Shan Hotel, Yangon

AS-AGWEB-3C04