arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Exceptional 9.2
Based on 738 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Exceptional



based on 738 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.3
  • Staff Performance 9.4
  • Value for Money 9.3
  • Food/Dining 8.5

8 Casey S.
United States
November 28, 2012
Great location and excellent price!
Location
Perfect spot with a great pricing point. Definitely recommended!

9.3 Jessica B.
Australia
November 26, 2012
Friendly hotel in handy location
Staff, central location
I spent 5 nights at the Meracus Hotel on a recent trip to Vietnam and really enjoyed it. I was in a Superior room which was small, but well equipped with comfy bed, decent air conditioning and cable TV. My only niggle would be that the hot water in the shower takes a while to get going on the lower floors. The staff are super-friendly and go out of their way to help you. When I arrived at 5am one morning after the night train from Sapa, they let me use a room (which someone had just checked out of) until my room was ready. They also helped me to book a tour and arrange taxis. The breakfast features a small, but varied selection of hot and cold foods. Best to stick to the dishes the chef cooks to order - eggs or Vietnamese pho or noodles, depending on the day.

9.7 Eamonn K.
Canada
November 25, 2012
Superior service in a small comfortable hotel
Very helpful staff
The staff at the hotel were very attentive and helpful in making our stay a happy one. They spoke good English and were happy to sell us vacation packages - in a friendly/low pressure manner. The hotel is located near the water puppet theatre and lots of touristy stores/restaurants. I would recommend this hotel to others.

10 ABILENE R.
Philippines
November 22, 2012
Lovely hotel, great staff, perfect location!
Staff are very helpful!
This is probably one of the best budget hotels Ive been to. Everything about it is great - the staff were very nice and helpful, location is at the heart of the Old Quarter, breakfast is delicious. We got a family room and a superior room. Both are spacious. They've got welcoming drinks and lovely touches (like petals on the bed) as their welcome greeting:) This hotel has exceeded our expectations. All the positive reviews made by others are just so true.

10 ABILENE R.
Philippines
November 22, 2012
Great staff, perfect location, clean hotel
Clean hotel, great staff
This hotel has exceeded our expectations. Their more than just a budget hotel. It's a hotel with a passion for excellence and great service. The room was always clean. The beds are perfect - not hard nor saggy. Theyve got welcoming drinks, nice set of buffet breakfast. The staff were very helpful in terms of telling us how much should we pay for a taxi if we're going somewhere so that the taxi wont take advantage of us. They even help us bargain with them It's also great thatvthy know where we can shop for a certain item. Amazing!

9.7 Keith A.
United Kingdom
November 19, 2012
Fantastic service, location and rooms.
The staff will bend over backwards and go that extra mile. Good job.
We stayed at the Meracus on two different occasions over one week. On both occasions the staff although different each time were fantastic. They give you very good info on the area and a list of great restaurants and tourist attractions of varying prices. Great location. I would recommend the Meracus 100%

9.7 Keith A.
United Kingdom
November 19, 2012
Great service again. Thank you.
The staff and service.
This second stay exceeded the first. The staff and facilities were second to none again. We were upgraded to there best suite.... Wow! Thanks Meracus. Good job again.

8.7 Seah J.
Malaysia
November 19, 2012
Nice clean room but no window at quiet back spot
Centrally located in the Old Dstrict of Hoan Kiem-Lake area
It was an eye opening experience with thousands of people, cars and motorbikes on the small streets. Walking through this area is a challenge and you have to move carefully watching your steps and the heavy traffic. The hotel staff are extremely friendly and we enjoyed our stay. Searching for proper restaurants can be a big challenge but we strongly recommend the restaurant Little Hanoi located behind the AIA/KFC building.

9 Charles Y.
Philippines
November 16, 2012
Fantastic Service
Very Helpful Staff and great location
We went to this hotel on our trip to Hanoi. The service was top notch from the beginning to end. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and had everything that we needed. The location was excellent for the walking around the old quarter. The hotel provided us with a very detailed map of the sights and shops around the Old Quarter. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Hanoi.

10 James B.
Australia
November 14, 2012
A wonderful comfortable experience
Staff attention to detail, room preparation, breakfast!
We were greeted with a lovely fruit juice and a personal welcome from the customer service manager, who gave us a detailed map with an attachment with advice for tourists new to Vietnam. The room was immaculate, with a balcony overlooking the street, roses on the bed and a personalised welcome letter from the manager (with a genuine signature). The fruit platter was lovely, and there was a laptop in the room for our personal use. The shower was huge and the most complex we've ever seen! The instructions are definitely necessary. The breakfast was one of the best we've had during our travels, and the service constantly attentive (especially for practicing your Vietnamese).