or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Mercure Sydney Hotel

818-820 George Street , Central, Sydney, Australia (Show on map)

Book now!

Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - 1 Queen Bed Privilege Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - 1 Queen Bed Privilege Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Superior Queen Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Meeting Room Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Swimming Pool Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Swimming Pool Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - View Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Guest Room Bathroom Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Surroundings - Chinatown Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Restaurant Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Exterior Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Surroundings Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Guest Room Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Restaurant Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Guest Room Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Guest Room
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Restaurant Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Exterior Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Guest Room Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Surroundings Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Restaurant Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Restaurant Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Restaurant
Area: Central Number of Rooms: 517

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.9

based on
714 reviews

Value for Money
7.6
Location
8.8
Staff Performance
7.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.1
Food/Dining
7.0
All reviews (714)
Sort by:
Dave P. Couples New Zealand, September 9, 2012
great location great staff good gym

location
7.7
the staff were very helpfull but we had to leave our room as the cigarette smoke on a non smoking floor was very stong
Travel tip: use free bus 555
Wah L. Couples Singapore, September 9, 2012
Wonderful location for independent travellers

Linked to Central Railway station by underpass and with buses (and transport info kiosk) just at the rear entrance, Mercure Sydney offers superb connectivity to the all the major sights in Sydney.
8.7
Clean rooms, although some may consider it a bit small. Everything in good working order (TV, showers, fridge, lights) and check-in and out was fast and no fuss. It would be good if there was free wifi in the room, but there wasn't and the only way to connect in the room was using a cable which costs AUD$5 for 30 min (which did not work for us anyway as we were using a tablet and mobile phones for web surfing).
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Get the MyMulti pass (for a week if intending to stay for 3 or more days which costs AUD60) and all your travel needs of travelling by rail, tram, bus and ferry will be well taken care of (exception is for the monorail, which it seems will be dismantled in 2013, which requires separate payment).
Pek E. Couples Singapore, September 5, 2012
Great location!

Very near to Chinatown. Food entries just opposite hotel. 3 mins walk to Central Station.
7.7
Room is clean and comfortable. TV remote control not too good though. Concierge very helpful. Chambermaid came to makeup the room when we were still in the room, kind of weird. My first such encounter.
Joanne C. Couples New Zealand, September 5, 2012
Great service, great location

Close to Central Station
9.7
Very clean & tidy, comfortable beds and really close to public transport. Has a nice pool,sauna & gym with city views. Have stayed here a few times, always happy to go back - though the only small problem we had this time was the swipe card for the door didn't always work and we had to keep going back to reception for them to re-swipe it. The staff are really friendly & helpful. A+
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Purchase a multi pass from the central station (it is just across the road) We got a Multi 3 for a week which cost $60 per adult, you can go south down to Wollongong,Port Kembla area, West to the Blue Mountains, Lithgow,Katoomba, North to New Castle. You may use all the city buses, trains & ferries - so don't forget to hop on the Manly ferry, or cruise up the river to Paramatta. It is the best value pass we have ever used!
Marissca L. Families with older children Indonesia, September 3, 2012
Great location

Great location with easy access to public transport and CBD area
6.3
The hotel located in the CBD area and next to the main bus and train station. Around the hotel there are lots of restaurants and fast food chain to eat. There 's also a car rental outlet in the hotel so it's convenience if your want to hire a car. However there's no free parking in the hotel, even if you are staying in the hotel.
Njo R. Solo travelers Singapore, September 1, 2012
Great location, great staffs, pity old rooms

Location, staffs, cleanliness
8.7
location: located just 5 minutes walk from central station, it is pretty convenient to get around sydney from the hotel. cleanliness: clean rooms and lobby as expected. room: decent size, relatively spacious however furnishing are showing its age.
Hotel Feature Tip: Entry into the hotel lobby require you to swipe your room card after certain hours.
Cassandra W. Business travelers Australia, August 30, 2012
Clean central hotel

Location across from central station, clean and safe
8.3
Kston H. Couples Singapore, August 29, 2012
Extremely great location

Near the Train Station
7.7
The staff were very eager to help and kind to introduce us the places of interest. We would definitely go back Mercure Sydney again!
Shopping Tip: Take the tram to Stratfield for their direct factory outlet (DFO) to buy G-Star RAW at really low prices.
James H. Solo travelers Australia, August 27, 2012
Make sure you request a non-smoking room!

Easy access to airport and city nightlife.
6.7
Travelling overseas as two friends we just needed somewhere with good airport access (which this does have from the next-door Central Station) but where we could go out and enjoy dinner and a few drinks the night before. Sadly in contemporary Australia I didn't specifically ask for a non-smoking room and so got put in a extremely smelly room. My friend and I both slept badly and woke up with sore throats and coughs. Disappointing these days that you should have to ask to be in a smoke free room rather than the other way around. Aside from this, good location. and no other complaints.
Foo P. Families with young children Malaysia, August 25, 2012
Good Hotel with Nice Location

Great location, affordable, professional staff
7.3
the hotel is located within the cbd with close proximity to chinatown, central station, darling harbour and other tourist attractions. the standard room that we had was rather small and lack of space to put luggage. the pro side was that the two double bed in the room was spacious and comfortable. overall, i can say that the hotel was worth its price based on its strategic location.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Mercure Sydney Hotel SydneyMercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - 1 Queen Bed PrivilegeMercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - 1 Queen Bed PrivilegeMercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Superior QueenMercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Meeting RoomMercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Swimming PoolMercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Swimming PoolMercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - ViewMercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Guest Room BathroomMercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Surroundings - ChinatownMercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - RestaurantMercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - ExteriorMercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - SurroundingsMercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomMercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - RestaurantMercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomMercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomMercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - RestaurantMercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - ExteriorMercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomMercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - SurroundingsMercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - RestaurantMercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - RestaurantMercure Sydney Hotel Sydney - Restaurant

Customer Reviews - Mercure Sydney Hotel, Sydney

AS-AGWEB-3B06