Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1929 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.4
  • Service 7.6
  • Value for Money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 6.7

Kevin F. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
3 day stop over
Location, Friendly Staff and Service
Arrived very early in the morning and got an early check in. Couple points connected with our room but after contacting reception dealt immediately.
Reviewed January 12, 2015

Gary M. from Austria
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in January 2015
Mixed review
Location, Location and Location!
Initial impressions of this place made my heart sink, the entrance is down a side alley amongst the dumpsters and the room allocation was very disapointing, we booked 2 rooms and were allocated both on 11th floor, one right opposite the lifts and the other not too far down the narrow dark corridor. They were tiny, basically a cupboard with beds, bathrooms were old and dated as was the furniture and decor. I asked to be moved to the adjoining Grand Mecure which has the entrance on Swanston Street and bigger rooms, I was prepared to pay extra for this because I could not have forced my family to stay where we were, it was very depressing! Fortunately the staff were very understanding and offered me an alternative. For no extra cost we could have 2 rooms on the recently refurbished floor 10, here the rooms were much bigger and the bathrooms, although still very pokey, were nice and modern, a huge improvement on the current situation!
Reviewed January 12, 2015

Thida S. from Thailand
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012
Good Location. Near china town
Good clean
Reviewed January 10, 2015

Swee T. from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Stayed 6 nights in October 2014
Nice location in Melbourne CBD
Good location, affordable price, clean
Great, clean, good location, however the bed is a bit uncomfortable & small. Walking distance to most of the attaction
Reviewed January 10, 2015

tadli T. from Indonesia
Families with young children
Stayed 5 nights in January 2015
best location in melbourne, close to shopping area
location, location, location
Good
Reviewed January 08, 2015

Selly S. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
room too small
close to city
room too small, noisy...
Reviewed January 08, 2015

Amy K. from Australia
Groups
Stayed 6 nights in December 2014
Location is awesome
Location, restaurant, staff
great location and friendly staff. Small rooms and you need to pay to access the pool in the Grand Mercure in the same building. Suitable for a short stay.
Reviewed January 07, 2015

Angeline L. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
City Break
Location, Affordable, Friendly Staff
Second time staying at the Mercure Welcome. the location is perfect! Located 2 minutes from Chinatown, The Emporium is across the street and Bourke Street Mall is 2 minutes away. This is a very affordable hotel for singles or couples who are looking to save money on accmodation costs.
Reviewed January 07, 2015

Choon C. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
MODERATE HOTEL
Just the location is great. However others are of moderate standard.
No major issues.
Reviewed January 06, 2015

Stephen A. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in December 2014
Great 4 Star Hotel Centrally Located To Shops, CBD
Location & Price
Great Stay!
Reviewed January 06, 2015