arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.2
Based on 828 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 828 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 5.7
  • Location 8.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.4
  • Service 7.1
  • Value for Money 7.2
  • Food/Dining 6.9

Chong S.
Malaysia
October 26, 2013
great location, lovely staff, nice room
clean and big room, lovely staff, great location

Bakari A.
Nigeria
October 23, 2013
Excellent, wonderful and memorable
Neatness, comfortable rooms and good food at the restautant
My stay was very wonderful and memorable and I have made it a point that anytime I have the opportunity to travel to Malaysia again, I would visit Kuching purposely to re-visit Merdeka Palace Hotel.

Saharudin S.
Malaysia
October 17, 2013
Superb, awesome and very interesting
Superb, awesome and very interesting
Friendly staff, clean and near shopping mall. Dont forget to try the 'kek lapis' and 'terubok ikan masin'

Mei W.
Malaysia
October 16, 2013
moderate
Location, convenient, Food

Ted H.
Malaysia
October 07, 2013
Business trip
Cleanliness and comfortable room, Friendly staff
Basically this hotel is ideal for the business travelers. The environment was good.

MD A.
Malaysia
October 02, 2013
excellent
excellent,satisfied,good service
i have stay here many times already, when i go back kuching , i will stay here with my family.the staff helpful, friendly , see u again when i back to kuching again

Eng C.
Malaysia
October 01, 2013
A disappointment
If I must say, it's probably 1. friendly staff,2.responsive staff and 3. dim romantic lighting everywhere
We were rather disappointed as the room was too far from our expectations. The lighting was dim in the room. The TV was ancient, the aircon outlet was mouldy and the wall paper was peeling. At the corridor leading to the room, the carpet were tapped down using duct tape. The water heater doesn't work but the staff was helpful. He told us that"It's normal. You just need to turn on the tap & let the water run for 1/2 hour. Then it'll be hot." Well, I suppose that's what you get for anniversary promotion price. Don't expect standard nice room. Very dissappointed.

Tina F.
Malaysia
September 26, 2013
Dinghy rooms and poor service
I have nothing good to say of this hotel
I booked a room in this hotel to be close to friends. Service was poor from the start with me having to wait more than 3 hours for a room. The room itself was clean but tiny and soulless. The bathroom was sparse. The view from the room was that of the parking lot so i had to keep the curtains drawn. The hotel had just imposed a 'No outside food' allowed policy even to the rooms and i was ticked off for bringing in a slice of cake from a nearby bakery. Their room service was lousy. In short - never again

Deanne M.
Australia
September 26, 2013
Delightful accommodation with excellent facilities
Decor, atmosphere and comfort
We had a wonderful stay at the Merdeka Palace. 10/10 on every level. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent room. Great Italian cuisine!

David F.
Australia
September 24, 2013
Comfortable, good central location
good location, friendly staff, comfortable rooms
The hotel is located very near Jalan India, and the old Chinese area of Kuching, interesting areas to walk around. It is also very close to the museums, and opposite Merdeka Plaza, where the Malaysia day celebrations took place, celebrating Sarawak joining Malaysia 50 years ago.