or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites

Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg, P.O. Box A298, Kuching City Center, Kuching, Malaysia 93000 (Show on map)

Book now!

Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Lobby Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Guest Room Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Guest Room Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Exclusive Apartment Suite Room Only Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Apartment Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Executive Boardroom Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Meeting Room Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Ballroom Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Restaurant Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Seattle Coffee & Tea Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Restaurant Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Pub/Lounge Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Pub/Lounge Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Pub/Lounge Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Fitness Room Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Swimming Pool
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Surroundings - Sarawak Musuem
Area: Kuching City Center Number of Rooms: 213

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.3

based on
675 reviews

Value for Money
7.3
Location
7.9
Staff Performance
7.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.1
Room Comfort/Standard
7.5
Food/Dining
7.0
All reviews (675)
Sort by:
Ngiam S. Families with young children Malaysia, February 11, 2013
Good Location

Close to the shopping center.
6
very nice room with large room size. Suitable for family user
Mohamad G. Solo travelers Malaysia, February 8, 2013
comfortable room, friendly staff

basic facilities are excellent
9
i actually like this hotel. i have nothing bad to say against it
Mohamad G. Solo travelers Malaysia, February 7, 2013
great location right smack in city centre

very near Merdeka Plaza for shopping, as well as places of interest e.g. Sarawak Museum, Waterfront, post office
8.3
The room is decent. Service is commendable. Food is excellent albeit very pricey. I had a very pleasant stay.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Ask for Kuching map from the hotel. As a foreign tourist to Kuching, you'd be surprised by how accessible it is to go places of interest within the old Kuching by foot. Saves you money on taxi fares.
Kamis N. Business travelers Malaysia, February 6, 2013
Lovely hotel

best features
8.7
We have stayed twice at the hotel while my husband has been working in Kuching, the first time 2 weeks and the next 4 weeks. The hotel is great, in a superb location in the middle of the city centre, you can walk everywhere. If you get a room on the high floors it has magnificent views of the city and the river and surrounding mountains!!!! We stayed in a two bedroom apartment which was very spacious, spotlessly clean and had a great view.The apartments have a small kitchen with a microwave and you can also get a hotplate and some kitchen utensils if you ask - nice to be able to make some of your own food on long time stays.
Lim B. Solo travelers Malaysia, February 3, 2013
Hotel with a history and character.

Proximity to city centre.
9
overall my stay at the hotel was pleasant and comfortable.quiet atmosphere and sense of tranquility pervades the hotel. proximity to historic and iconic padang merdeka tops it all.food outlets is within walking distance.
Andline S. Families with young children Malaysia, February 3, 2013
Great location but unappealing room.

If you don't mind the condition of the room than this would be a great hotel for you as it is situated within city attractions.
6
We had a great stay especially our young kids as they are having a blast at the pool. And the breakfast buffet is great too. Though I must say the condition of the room is very bad, it is poorly maintained and the for the rate it is not worth it. The musty smell from the carpet and sofa fumed the whole room, bedside lamp were loosed, the bathroom ceiling were too low and there are more flaws that can be improved. I just feel disappointed that they hotel is on a high end rate only for it's location.
Abg M. Couples Malaysia, February 2, 2013
Great service but room condition is poor

Nice deco and location
6.7
The price is cheap for a 5 star hotel. However, the room condition is quite poor with few lamps dead, problematic on/off switches for room appliances. Hotel overall service was good and responded fast to request.
Hoan J. Business travelers Malaysia, January 31, 2013
Would never recommend

Fancy Lobby
4.7
I looked up and found this famous hotel in Kuching which was awarded with 5 star, as they are having an anniversary promotion, I decided to book this hotel without any doubt given it`s popularity among the locals. When i arrived at the hotel I was fascinated by the lobby of the hotel, live piano performance, water fountain, etc. When I was checking in, the lady over the counter asked me if i want an upgrade with additional payment. I denied, well, i booked this hotel because of it`s promotional price, I wasn`t planning to pay heaps amount of money on hotel anyway. With rather high expectation, I went in the lift, so far so good. When the lift arrived at my level,it had a mouldy smell, I can feel that it`s really humid, and rather dark, it feels like entering a cave but a decorated one. When i enter the room, I was shocked, the size is as small as a garage that fits a mazda 3, when i looked out the window, it is actually facing a multi-level car park, and the mouldy smell remains in the room. So, I went on and checked the toilet seeing that there is a crack on the toilet bowl, which, I think not only it is not looking good, it could cause harm for the oldies and the youngs. When I had to shower later, the shower head is broken too! Up till now, I`m really disappointed, not being picky, but the smell and the size of the room is making me feel that I`m paying to live in a storage room. Which i`m not happy about. So I went on to the main counter and asked them for showing me the upgraded room, they lead me to the same level right opposite to the room i checked in. That room is much bigger, like a normal hotel room, at least, and the window is not facing a multi level car park. BUT, the mouldy smell is worst in this room. That really stopped me from upgrading the room. Overall, I`m quite disappointed at this hotel, given it`s popularity among the locals, internet pictures, simply disappointing when I see the real thing. Hopefully they can at least work on the smel
Shopping Tip: Great that there`s a brand new shopping mall within walking distance to it, pretty convenient for shopping spree.
Tuukka T. Solo travelers Finland, January 28, 2013
Big hotel, many cafes and retaurants

Location
5.3
Unfortunately, the room did not meet expecttations. The bathroom sink was clogged with instant noodles and was smelly, maintenence could not help. The room was always very cold and the safebox was not working (had to use the one downstairs which was very slow doe to complicated security system). Laundry was expensive and they were not willing to help me with my trekking shoes which just needed chlorine soaking to get rid of the odour. The receptionist (trainee perhaps) did not know what he was doing and everything took very long time there. Every day, you had to go to the reception to ask for a new wifi password (why?).
Nurul F. Couples Malaysia, January 26, 2013
nice hotel but unpleasant smell

acceptable price, good services
6.3
i loved beautiful view from the swimming pool because we could see kuching city view from there. i also found services provided at the health centre quite interesting. but i felt slightly unhappy of the room smell or perhaps the carpet i'm not sure. the toilet also leaking.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites KuchingMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - LobbyMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Guest RoomMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Guest RoomMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Exclusive Apartment Suite Room OnlyMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - ApartmentMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Executive BoardroomMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Meeting RoomMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - BallroomMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - RestaurantMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Seattle Coffee & TeaMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - RestaurantMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Pub/LoungeMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Pub/LoungeMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Pub/LoungeMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Fitness RoomMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Swimming PoolMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Surroundings - Sarawak Musuem

Customer Reviews - Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, Kuching

AS-AGWEB-3A04