My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites

Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg, P.O. Box A298, Kuching City Center, Kuching, Malaysia 93000 (Show on map)

Book now!

Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Standard Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Standard Queen Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Superior Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Deluxe Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - 3 Bedroom Apartment Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Lobby Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - La Habana Cigar Divan Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Reception Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Swimming Pool Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Gymnasium Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Aurora Court All Day Dining Restaurant Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Ristorante Beccari Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Seattle Coffee & Tea Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Wine Cellar Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Victoria Arms Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Hotel Exterior
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Executive Boardroom Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Meeting Room
Hotel Area: Kuching City Center Number of Rooms: 213

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.4

based on
650 reviews

Value for Money
7.4
Location
8.0
Staff Performance
7.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.1
Room Comfort/Standard
7.6
Food/Dining
7.1
All reviews (650)
Sort by:
Chean B. Solo travelers Malaysia, June 12, 2012
small room

service is good
6.3
The room is fine. But the gym is sub-standard. The steam room is not functioning and the sauna is sharing between male and female, and it is not convenient.
Wan M. Business travelers Malaysia, June 12, 2012
Merdeka Palace Hotel

Helpful staff
5.7
I have stayed here twice now, Both times the staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to help a single female traveller,the bed was large and comfortable ,bathrooms adequate. room service Fabulous and housekeeping staff were excellent, rooms are serviced daily,sadly the pool area was under reconstrucion on my last visit . On my first visit there had been a mixup with my room so I was given an upgrade to the most beautiful room at no extra cost, I was warmly welcomed back on my second trip and made to feel a valued guest/friend, I lingered long over my breakfast and my coffee was refilled almost as soon as I finished,Overall I would have no hesitation reccomending this hotel to any of my friends
Ming H. Couples Singapore, June 11, 2012
Antic and historical hotel with a smile

strategic location, nice bakery
9.3
We checked in late as we took an evening flight. The concierge staff was friendly and assisted us throughout. The room was reasonably big and it's clean. Even though we were given lower floor room which the windows faced the carpark, we were okay with that as it's only a night stay. If possible, we would ilke to stay there again in our next trip visit to Kuching.
Nigar Q. Business travelers Pakistan, June 10, 2012
stratigically located hotel

very courteous staff, neat clean and comfortable rooms, free 24hrs internet and wifi, good food
8.7
i enjoyed my stay at mardeka. on arrival i was greeted by very friendly staff and promptly checked in. the room though small had all the facilities: iron and ironing board, kettle and tea, tv n freeinternet and wifi. best thing was the hotel is within walking distance of most places of interest. they also serve a wide variety of delicious food. i enjoed my stay and would highly recommend mardeka palace to friends
Cheng T. Families with older children Malaysia, June 9, 2012
Nice hotel but definitely not worth 5 stars

wifi internet access, brilliant in house pub
6.7
the lobby is grand. however, it is very disappointing upon entering the guest room. the wall paper is peeling off and so is the carpet. the maintenance needs to do better! toiletries supply is also less than satisfactory as there is no tooth brush, no shaver and no moisturiser supplied. other than that it is quite a comfortable stay.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The museum is right next to this hotel. If you are too tired to travel far, the aquarium next to this hotel is worth a visit.
Cheng T. Families with older children Malaysia, June 9, 2012
not worth 5 stars rating

brilliant in house pubs
6.7
it is a comfortable hotel however it definitely not worth the 5 stars rating. the steam room is not working, the massage provided is not carried out in a spa but rather in a small gym. there is minimal toiletries provided (no shaver, no tooth brush, no moisturiser). the staff however, is friendly and keen to serve. it is a shame that the maintenance did not do their job well.
Nightlife Tip: Traveller must visit the pub "the cottage" pub, which is right next to Pullman and Hilton.
Muna K. Couples Iraq, June 8, 2012
unexpected behavior

generally good
6.7
we have booked online for standard room. when we reach the hotel and receive our room we had a shock. the room was very small with poor lighting and the window is facing the car park (layered parking). so we went to the reception asking for changing the room, the manager ask to pay extra per night to upgrade the room. the new room was completely different from the 1st room. i wonder if this is an accepted behavior .
Mimin T. Families with young children Malaysia, June 8, 2012
Convenient stay

breakfast, spacious
7.7
the appartment is spacious for 5 of us, enough space for my children to run around. but it would be nicer if more sofa is provided at the living hall. the rooms are also spacious with 2 attached bathrooms and 1 extra toilet near the kitchen. but the carpet is a bit old and stained, and when we check in the rooms are a bit dusty. breakfast if good, tasty and the staff at the restaurant are friendly
Lam W. Business travelers Malaysia, June 8, 2012
lovely and excellent service

quiet and comfortable
8
good location. walking distance to waterfront kuching. staffs are helpful and friendly
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: must join the river cruise
Mimin T. Solo travelers Malaysia, June 7, 2012
Convenient stay

strategic location
7.3
the room is a bit small but it is ok since i am travelling alone the breakfast is very nice, variety of choices and the taste is good, the staff at the restaurant also very nice wish the gymnasium operates longer , it closed at 8 pm at that time i just come back from dinner...... overall the staff are friendly and helpfull
Restaurant Tip: should try rioung kuring at jln dago... ( a bit far though)

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites KuchingMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - StandardMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Standard QueenMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Superior Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - DeluxeMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - 3 Bedroom ApartmentMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - LobbyMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - La Habana Cigar DivanMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - ReceptionMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Swimming PoolMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - GymnasiumMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Aurora Court All Day Dining RestaurantMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Ristorante BeccariMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Seattle Coffee & TeaMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Wine CellarMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Victoria ArmsMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Hotel ExteriorMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Executive BoardroomMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Meeting Room

Customer Reviews - Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, Kuching

AS-AGWEB-3B07