or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites

Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg, P.O. Box A298, Kuching City Center, Kuching, Malaysia 93000 (Show on map)

Book now!

Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Lobby Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Guest Room Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Guest Room Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Exclusive Apartment Suite Room Only Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Apartment Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Executive Boardroom Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Meeting Room Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Ballroom Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Restaurant Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Seattle Coffee & Tea Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Restaurant Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Pub/Lounge Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Pub/Lounge Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Pub/Lounge Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Fitness Room Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Swimming Pool
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Surroundings - Sarawak Musuem
Area: Kuching City Center Number of Rooms: 213

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.3

based on
696 reviews

Value for Money
7.3
Location
7.9
Staff Performance
7.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.0
Room Comfort/Standard
7.5
Food/Dining
7.0
All reviews (696)
Sort by:
Eelin T. Business travelers Malaysia, May 10, 2012
good hotel

lovely food
8
i have been stay here so many time, for me just business travel use. quite and clean, hotel staff is good. room is big, lobby is beauttiful. five star hotel.restaurant have good food. breakfast also not bad.
Lee M. Solo travelers Malaysia, May 10, 2012
Big Hotel

Ideal for Sightseeing
7.3
Kind receptionist & hotel staffs during check in time & during my stay @ the Hotel. Big Room but the furniture is slightly old. I will recommend this Hotel to those we will spend vacation in Kuching.
Muhammad H. Families with older children Malaysia, May 5, 2012
Lovely hotel

next to museum, waterfront
8.3
i am very pleased with the hotel room and the facilities. The hotel is very comfortable. Only walking distance to local attractive places such as Indian Road, Waterfront, museums, state mosque and bus stand. The hotel staff very friendly and helpful.
Eelin T. Business travelers Malaysia, May 2, 2012
Lovely hotel . The living room is big

Service is good
8
Is a good hotel, all the staff very flexible to guest.
Restaurant Tip: Food is nice
Tommy H. Families with young children Indonesia, May 2, 2012
Not as I expected. The hotel is old.

Nothing, just ordinary
5.3
I paid extra to upgrade to better room, the hotel equipment such as toilet flush was not working properly and card to use as a security entrance in lift is dissaster ( not working properly ).
Malcolm C. Couples Australia, May 1, 2012
Great Location with Great Rate

Ideal Location
8.3
We stayed at the Merdeka Palace on most of our trips to Kuching. The apartments are the newer addition and is great as they are still new, the rate is good when booked through the internet like Agoda. When we don't come with our children we would stay in their hotel rooms, some are rather small and the bathrooms definitely need some work to upkeep. The main reason we always pick this hotel is for its location, within walking distance to the city centre for food as well as to the churches and club, also the best price as compared with other 4* hotels in town. The museum is only next door. The receptionists are helpful.
Hotel Feature Tip: Good sized swimming pool and clean sheets. Breakfast is average.
Ming C. Couples Malaysia, May 1, 2012
Nice hotel, great service as always

Spacious shower, comfortable bed
6.3
second stay at this hotel in about 5 weeks. came back because i had a great stay the last time, really will return as soon as possible. again, bed was not as comfortable as it should be and there is a slight issue with the towels provided - strange odor and slightly stained. and once again, room service - very efficient, very helpful, even at 5 in the morning.
Restaurant Tip: As with most hotels, the food wasn't great but the service made up for it.
Yuk Y. Solo travelers Hong Kong, April 29, 2012
old style hotel

with tour agent desk
7.3
The hotel looks grand but very old-style. Got upgraded to a 2-room service apartment at the top floor with a spectacular view of Kuching (if the window and balcony door can be opened that will even be better). But discovered there's no wi-fi in their apartment so moved back to normal hotel room at low floor. Good that the hotel has a tour agent desk so you can arrange any half or full day tour under one roof. Buffet breakfast needs much improvement.
Mardiana M. Families with young children Malaysia, April 29, 2012
Great views

Great views from apartment! Good area for morning jog.
7.3
i particularly enjoyed the(almost)360 bird's eye view from our apartment. my children also enjoyed the nearby gardens in addition to the museums.the waterfront is within walking distance for all of us; giving us the the luxury to view sunrise and sunset from our apartment as well as from the waterfront itself. apart from the view, the apartment is quite basic.
Lye K. Business travelers Malaysia, April 26, 2012
5 stars? no way

decent food
3.7
Bad location. Gotta cross a football field to get to any decent food or shops after a long day. End up paying 5 stars prices for things. Buffet lunch was a joke 4 dish buffet line and that just it... worst then 3 stars hotel breakfast. Inefficient reception... lobby was crowded during peak. Unfriendly doormen looks like bodyguard. Will i return? Never.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites KuchingMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - LobbyMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Guest RoomMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Guest RoomMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Exclusive Apartment Suite Room OnlyMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - ApartmentMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Executive BoardroomMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Meeting RoomMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - BallroomMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - RestaurantMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Seattle Coffee & TeaMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - RestaurantMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Pub/LoungeMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Pub/LoungeMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Pub/LoungeMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Fitness RoomMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Swimming PoolMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Surroundings - Sarawak Musuem

Customer Reviews - Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, Kuching

AS-AGWEB-3C08