or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites

Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg, P.O. Box A298, Kuching City Center, Kuching, Malaysia 93000 (Show on map)

Book now!

Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Lobby Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Guest Room Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Guest Room Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Exclusive Apartment Suite Room Only Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Apartment Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Executive Boardroom Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Meeting Room Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Ballroom Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Restaurant Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Seattle Coffee & Tea Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Restaurant Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Pub/Lounge Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Pub/Lounge Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Pub/Lounge Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Fitness Room Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Swimming Pool
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Surroundings - Sarawak Musuem
Area: Kuching City Center Number of Rooms: 213

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.3

based on
689 reviews

Value for Money
7.3
Location
7.9
Staff Performance
7.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.0
Room Comfort/Standard
7.5
Food/Dining
7.0
All reviews (689)
Sort by:
Ming C. Couples Malaysia, May 1, 2012
Nice hotel, great service as always

Spacious shower, comfortable bed
6.3
second stay at this hotel in about 5 weeks. came back because i had a great stay the last time, really will return as soon as possible. again, bed was not as comfortable as it should be and there is a slight issue with the towels provided - strange odor and slightly stained. and once again, room service - very efficient, very helpful, even at 5 in the morning.
Restaurant Tip: As with most hotels, the food wasn't great but the service made up for it.
Mardiana M. Families with young children Malaysia, April 29, 2012
Great views

Great views from apartment! Good area for morning jog.
7.3
i particularly enjoyed the(almost)360 bird's eye view from our apartment. my children also enjoyed the nearby gardens in addition to the museums.the waterfront is within walking distance for all of us; giving us the the luxury to view sunrise and sunset from our apartment as well as from the waterfront itself. apart from the view, the apartment is quite basic.
Yuk Y. Solo travelers Hong Kong, April 29, 2012
old style hotel

with tour agent desk
7.3
The hotel looks grand but very old-style. Got upgraded to a 2-room service apartment at the top floor with a spectacular view of Kuching (if the window and balcony door can be opened that will even be better). But discovered there's no wi-fi in their apartment so moved back to normal hotel room at low floor. Good that the hotel has a tour agent desk so you can arrange any half or full day tour under one roof. Buffet breakfast needs much improvement.
Lye K. Business travelers Malaysia, April 26, 2012
5 stars? no way

decent food
3.7
Bad location. Gotta cross a football field to get to any decent food or shops after a long day. End up paying 5 stars prices for things. Buffet lunch was a joke 4 dish buffet line and that just it... worst then 3 stars hotel breakfast. Inefficient reception... lobby was crowded during peak. Unfriendly doormen looks like bodyguard. Will i return? Never.
Abd A. Business travelers Malaysia, April 25, 2012
Small room, no sunshine.

Nice lobby.
5.3
it's better to stay in a most expensive room at a 3-star hotel than this cheapest room of a 5-star hotel. the room too small with very less sunshine allowed into it makes you wake up at 11 am. the window is facing multi-storey car park! facilities are good but business travellers normally don't have time for swimming or workout.
Sze L. Solo travelers Malaysia, April 25, 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smile

Cleanliness
6
The room is clean and the location is good. The bed is comfortable. Check-in/out is fast and efficient. Staff are friendly and service with a smile. I enjoy the stay very much.
Tan C. Families with older children Malaysia, April 21, 2012
great location but old hotel

near muzeum
3.3
I would recomend this hotel to my friends because too old and also smelly in the room.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: the hotel is in walking distance to muzuem and indian street
Phil M. Couples Australia, April 21, 2012
Old hotel in City

Nice 5 star foyer
4
We had friends staying with us at this "5 star" hotel so we got the 3 bedder. Well the rooms might just make 3 star. The first room we were offered was a disgrace, mouldy, smelly carpet with very old fittings. Plasma in the sitting room and an older type TV in the bedroom. No privacy in one of the bedrooms and the beds were very hard. Breakfast was reasonable by asian standards.
Shopping Tip: Close to India and China streets
Allan L. Business travelers Malaysia, April 20, 2012
good value for money

ideal location and cheap room
7
i booked the cheapest room on offer and i was given a room on the 2nd floor facing the side of the unoccupied building next to the hotel. room was small but comfortable. pillows were a bit sad and can be improved. the receptionists were well trained and helpful. hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to the waterfront and the old part of town such as carpenter and india streets.
Restaurant Tip: Top spot - good place for seafood.
Yueying Z. Solo travelers China, April 15, 2012
Gorgeous lobby but shabby room

Well known local 5star hotel
6.7
A bit far from waterfront compared to other 4*+ hotels (Hilton , grand majesty , etc...) Bar with good music seems deserted at night... Hopefully it can be more lively in the peak tourism season. Anyway who can blame the bash of five star with fifty bucks...lol Btw, the spa service is an awsome must-try!

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites KuchingMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - LobbyMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Guest RoomMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Guest RoomMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Exclusive Apartment Suite Room OnlyMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - ApartmentMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Executive BoardroomMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Meeting RoomMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - BallroomMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - RestaurantMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Seattle Coffee & TeaMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - RestaurantMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Pub/LoungeMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Pub/LoungeMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Pub/LoungeMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Fitness RoomMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Swimming PoolMerdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching - Surroundings - Sarawak Musuem

Customer Reviews - Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, Kuching

AS-AGWEB-3B04